We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxation at Kissing Gate”
other traveller has booked this property
Bubbles. Bath. Stars above. Serenading frogs from the pond.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bubbles. Bath. Stars above. Serenading frogs from the pond.
Pearl - winner retro caravan national competition.  Ruby - luxury boudoir. Arty, wow-factor. Super-comfortable queen in Ruby. Large luxury caravan. Surrounded by fields, frogs and birdsong.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Bubbles. Bath. Stars above. Serenading frogs from the pond.
Pearl - winner retro caravan national competition.  Ruby - luxury boudoir. Arty, wow-factor.
Super-comfortable queen in Ruby. Large luxury caravan. Surrounded by fields, frogs and birdsong.
View over pond and bath on deck to fields beyond. Lovingly restored Ruby.
Minutes from Nelson Tasman's Great Taste Trail - NZ's premier cycle route Nelson to Abel Tasman.
Cape Cod chairs overlook pond.
Romance-themed Kissing Gate. You WILL gasp with delight when you see this site - all guests have!
Luxury 2-person shower. Heated bathroom for winter.
Pantry. Free range eggs and organic fruit available from the 7 acres.
We love the nostalgia of 1960s caravanning! Just add luxury and you've got Kissing Gate.
Yesteryear theme.
Looking over fields to Kissing Gate
Past the kissing gate and entering the magic world.
Pearl - 1967 Jackson. Winner at 2013 Beach Hop (retro caravan festival).
Summer flowers.
Set on 7 acres of organic citrus and pipfruit orchards and farm with handfeedable sheep.
Pearl celebrates Kiwiana.
Cottage views at Kissing Gate.
7 acres of organic orchards and fields; close to Mapua seaside village and Abel Tasman National Park
Dine at Nelson's best cafes on the Mapua wharf, 4 minutes away. Nelson 25 mins; Abel Tasman 35 mins.
Also check out Copper Gate on the 7 acres - 4 bdrm luxury eco-savvy holiday home
The Paris Suite at Copper Gate can be rented separately, but you retain sole occupancy of building.
Check out Corru Gate. 3 bdrm rural chic cottage also on the same 7 acres.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Caravan/mobile home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ruby Bay, Mapua, Nelson-Tasman Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JadeB1611
2 reviews
“Relaxation at Kissing Gate”
Reviewed 25 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Thank you Roger & Adele for sharing your little piece of paradise!
We really enjoyed our "camping/glamping" time here, from cooking breakfast with the sounds of Tui and local birds to falling asleep to the sounds of frogs and possums!!
After day trips exploring the Abel Tasman or Takaka, the hot bath and fire under the stars were welcome features. We both felt very welcomed, relaxed and 'at home' staying here.
Your attention to detail (such as fresh eggs on arrival and heart-shaped chocolates!) made this place feel very loved.
It was a pleasure meeting you and your gorgeous sheepies!!
Wishing all who stay at Kissing Gate a relaxing, loving and happy, memorable time here, just as we've had.
Will be back for our next R&R!!

PS Loved the bath by starlight!! XX

Jade and Joe. Christchurch NZ.
18-21 April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2017
Thanks for your amazing review. We feel humbled by your comments. Kind regards - Roger and Adele.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelSMa...
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Glamping at its finest”
Reviewed 1 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We have had a fantastic 3 night stay & one that has been very memorable - perfect for our honeymoon. We love the set-up across the Kissing Gate (including some of the hidden surprises) & have really enjoyed our evenings lounging by the fire or soaking in the bath. We will definitely be recommending you to our friends as this is one of the most quirky & fun places we will ever stay! This is topped off by the 'Sheepy Sheepy' & the chickens where we have made daily visits to feed.
Thanks for your hospitality.
Edward and Zara

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2017
Thanks Edward and Zara. It was great to see you so happy and relaxed on your honeymoon. Nice too, to 'chat over the chickens'. All the best. Roger.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarrietS3...
1 review
“AMAZING”
Reviewed 8 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Wow - what an amazing experience we have had at your property. It will definitely be a memory we will never forget.
The Tasman area has provided us with some fun-filled adventure. Rabbit Island on our bikes - having fish & chips on the beach to ourselves! Yesterday we had a private winery tour- we were very spoilt for choice!
Thank you for having us - it has been a lovely break away and I will certainly be recommending 'The Gates' to my clients and friends/family."
Harriet & Lawrence Babe, ChCh. Feb 4+5

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Feb 2017
Thanks for your glowing comments Harriet. It was lovely to chat with you and hear that you enjoyed relaxing on the deck beside the pond and toasting marshmallows on the outside fire.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
499owenk
1 review
“Retro kiwiana amazingness in an idyllic setting”
Reviewed 8 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We had the most amazing four night stay at Kissing Gate. It is a total gem, and such a quirky find. The bedroom caravan was super comfortable, the cooking facilities were great and the shower/toilet facilities were clean and the shower pressure was incredible!
Roger was a lovely host, very helpful, gave us plenty of advice for things to do locally and set us up with the onsite bikes so we could go for a wee adventure.
I would recommend in a heartbeat if you want a relaxing, quirky, romantic and beautiful setting for your getaway.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2017
Thanks for your fantastic review. It was great to hear you relaxed and enjoyed the quirkiness and luxury of Kissing Gate.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonetaire
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Fantastic stay in a magical place!”
Reviewed 14 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Kissing Gate proved a fantastic choice to spent our 1 night away celebrating our wedding anniversary. Two beautifully restored caravans fitted with great eye for (vintage) detail and all luxuries one could possibly want in a very private, secluded bit of farmland among rolling hills and trees.
Great quality in everything; from the bed to the kitchen and equipment, the fresh eggs waiting for us, warm water in the outside bath on a deck over the pond (frog chorus provided at night)... perfect in every possible way.

Contact with Roger was excellent; starting with a very informative and welcoming email.

Highly recommended for everyone enjoying a private, secluded space in a beautiful natural environment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All was better than anticipated!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2016
Wow! We are humbled by your comments. It is great to see the love, artistic design and quirkiness that we have poured in to Kissing Gate is appreciated. And you are such lovely people to meet too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing