We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home haven”
other travellers have booked this property
Milkwood
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Milkwood
Deck Hot Tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
Milkwood
Deck
Hot Tub
Front Room
Front Room
Master bedroom
Second Bedroom
Dinning Room
Fully Fitted Kitchen
Hall
Sauna Room
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brithdir, Dolgellau, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
L R
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Home from home haven”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed for a week during the Easter break with our children (8&10) and had a wonderful time, despite sampling some of the Great British weather!!
MilkWood was a heavenly home from home from the moment we arrived (to Easter eggs!) to the morning we left. The rooms are spacious and the kitchen is well stocked, there is everything you could need from a cheese grated to DVD player, not to mention the sauna and hot tub!
We did the Torrent Walk which is a circular walk that starts just along the main road towards Dollgellau, we also cycled at Coed y Brenin and along the old railway lines to Barmouth. We ate out at Cross Foxes and The Lemon tree in Dollgellau both of which were lovely, and had fish and chips at the Mermaid in Barmouth! We also visited Harlech castle, Aberystwyth and the Centre for Alternative Technology and would recommend them ALL!

The only 'faults' we could find were the lack of cushions on the sofa which meant lazing around on the wettest afternoons/evenings when we didn't want to go out was a bit less comfy than we like and an incident with the lady next door who complained about us playing music in the hot tub - she wasn't rude it just made us wary of making ANY outside noise from then on :/

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decking area outside
Liked least: Nothing - it was all great!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lkew35
Wirral, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Arrived at milkwood and was surprised by how beautiful the area is, gorgeous surroundings the perfect break away it was so peaceful, hot tub AMAZING ! And the cabin was so welcoming it's the perfect retreat after we were out walking all day, 5 star

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Socialbut...
Barnsley
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Perfection.....”
Reviewed 18 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Got back today from the most perfect break. This log cabin is amazing, far more than expected! Fantastic mornings on long walks and lazy afternoons in the cabin. The hot tub and sauna are a bonus!
The cabin is well equipped with essentials such as loo/kitchen roll, logs and sticks and kitchen essentials (salt/pepper, sauces, etc) We took our own this time but will remember next time. Great local walks but a car is needed for further exploring of such a gorgeous area.
You really feel totally secluded but with the safety of being in a cabin 'village'. Free wi-fi is there, but I personally loved being away from everything (no mobile signal-however there is a landline with honesty box)
Pubs/shops are a short drive away. The sat nav went crazy trying to find the cabin and, as we had spent the day exploring snowdon came in a different way to the directions on the booking confirmation but a phone call to the owners soon rectified this, an we were sent in the right direction! - many thanks! :-)
One of the comfiest beds i have ever slept in, such a cosy, warm lodge, got through about 10 films in 4 days! Could have stayed forever! Our dog, poppy loved it too. It is so rare to find such beautiful dog friendly accommodation. Thanks again! I am already recommending milk wood to EVERYONE!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CLHorrock...
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a wonderful "wood" anniversary weekend away!”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Looking for a quirky wood cabin for our wood anniversary - found a deluxe, secluded cottage in Milk Wood. Every attention to detail, including delicious bed linen and towels. The hot tub was a treat. Our little boy is 15 months old, so toddling up and down the long hall way was a treat for him, but I could see how this cabin may not suit people with older toddlers. However, for couples looking for a romantic getaway you couldn't do better than contact Phil and book in to Milk Wood.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub and the quiet
Liked least: Need a new frying pan for eggs!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing