We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
jasondayo
Hamburg, Germany

Great stay, great Pavillon

Review of Mona Pavilions
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Nov 2019
Stayed in Pavillon „Roy“ for five nights - and enjoyed it. The Pavillion is large - two grand bedrooms - one on the top floor, one on the lower floor, with a kitchen and living area in-between. Each bedroom has an adjacent large and comfortable bathroom. Middle and Top floor both have a spacious balcony. With the stay came a complimentary visit to the MONA (Museum).
Breakfast at „Source“ Restaurant had a limited choice - but everything made fresh and tasted delicious.
Staff: always friendly, always helpful.
At night, it´s really quiet - and to wake up next morning overlooking the river / estuary from your balcony is just perfect.
A perfect stay with only minor flaws:
1) the sofa in „Roy“ is a pain - it´s very low, and to get out of it takes a lot of effort.
2) the lighting is somewhat difficult to steer - the switch controls are not always easy to address the one light that you want to have on or off.
Everything else: expensive - but perfect.
Date of stay: November 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
    3.6 km from Mona Pavilions
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$104
    • Booking.com
    0.6 km from Mona Pavilions
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Meeting Room
    • Expedia.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$149
    • Hotels.com
    3.7 km from Mona Pavilions
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Algotels
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$261
    • eDreams
    4.9 km from Mona Pavilions
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Waterfront Motel Supeior Room
    AU$92
    • Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    5.6 km from Mona Pavilions
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    General
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$104
    • Priceline
    6.2 km from Mona Pavilions
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Standard twin
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$139
    • Hotels.com
    7.5 km from Mona Pavilions
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Exterior
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$138
    • Priceline
    7.6 km from Mona Pavilions
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
      AU$112
    • Hotels.com
    8.0 km from Mona Pavilions
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    AU$286
    Fully refundable
    No prepayment needed
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      AU$286
    • Agoda.com
    8.5 km from Mona Pavilions
    Free parking
    Breakfast included
    View more hotels in Berriedale
    Reviews (280)
    Filter reviews
    280 results
    Traveller rating
    213
    47
    14
    5
    1
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    213
    47
    14
    5
    1
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews visiting mona art robin soap 3pm pit
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    11 - 16 of 280 reviews
    Reviewed 26 October 2019 via mobile

    Highly recommend the splurge required to have a night at the Mona Pavillions. We stayed at the Sidney Nolan and couldn’t fault it. Everything was first class from the design, the amenities, the art, the view along The Derwent, the room service etc etc.
    Not a cheap night but well worth it (and Mona is best done over a couple of days).

    Date of stay: April 2019
    Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    4  Thank travelbyRosie
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 16 August 2019

    We have just spent a few nights staying in the Arthur pavilion at MONA. The view is spectacular and the room is large and comfortable. It has an original Arthur Boyd artwork on the wall as well as a cabinet with 2 old sculptures in it. The wine fridge is very well stocked with local wine and beer as well as very expensive French wine. We just chose some Moo brew beer.
    Breakfast and museum entry is included.
    It is a lovely romantic place to stay to celebrate a special occasion as well as take in MONA and its very interesting art collection. Highly recommended.

    Date of stay: August 2019
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    1  Thank Road185584
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 10 July 2019

    My husband and I stayed at the MONA Arthur Boyd Pavilion for 2 nights (Sat+Sun). Our experience from the moment we embarked the MONA ferry and were collected by MONA staff and a buggy was fantastic. I literally cannot say anything bad at all.
    Check in = 10/10 fantastic
    Our Pavillion = 10/10 very cool, amazing features + facilities, bath with exceptional views
    Pool + Sauna Gym = 10/10
    The Source = 10/10
    MONA museum = 10/10
    We spent most of Sunday wandering around the 3 underground levels of Art using the O phone, which tells you all you need to know about each art piece, installation - absolutely fascinating.
    The Wine Bar = 10/10
    Cellar Door = 10/10
    We then headed up to the Cellar Door to do a beer/ wine taste and relax and read David Walsh's book - Wow what an interesting person he is.
    Faro 20/10 - An absolute MUST

    Our whole entire experience was simply perfect and a huge shout out to Lauren at reception, She was brilliant, always smiling offering advice when asked and made our stay so very easy. She even drove the buggy for our check out - thanks so much for everything Lauren.

    We will most definitely be coming back with our son (11yrs) - it's a great place for kids, romantic getaway, group arty thing, solo time... I love you MONA

    Date of stay: July 2019
    1  Thank MamaTinkie72
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 29 April 2019

    The Mona pavilions are luxurious with beautiful views over the Derwent. We stayed in one named Charles. It was large and spacious and extremely well stocked with wine, cheese, chocolate, juice and fruit. There is also some original artwork on display. The bedrooms are airy and comfortable and we were particularly impressed by the sunken bath which overlooked the Derwent River. It was a short walk, up the river bank, to the breakfast room. My first breakfast there was a disaster. Undrinkable Earl Grey tea and something called a slow cooked egg, which proved inedible. How do you even cook an egg so that the white remains liquid and the yolk is solid? Armed with this experience, the following day, I ordered a pot of tea and an omelette, both of which were acceptable. All the staff were helpful, friendly and obliging.

    Date of stay: April 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    3  Thank linshimm
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 18 April 2019

    Just spent an evening in one of the pavilions to celebrate my 70th birthday. We ordered dinner from room service and alas the fish was cold. Breakfast bacon,sausage and mushroom were cold and the blunt knives made cutting the food difficult. We inadvertently used a tea towel and after checkout we were informed that we would be charged $20 as the item was actually for sale! Charging $750 per night we felt rather disappointed by the experience. However, all the staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help us. Decor and amenities in the apartment were excellent.

    Room tip: Dont use the wrong tea towel!
    Date of stay: April 2019
    • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      • Service
    2  Thank lizH5654SA
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews