We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very high quality accommodation off beaten track...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Water Meadows

Water Meadows Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Water Meadows Cottage
Private secure gardens (WM) Spacious lounge diner (WM)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
50 reviews
Water Meadows Cottage
Private secure gardens (WM)
Spacious lounge diner (WM)
Spacious lounge diner (WM)
LCD TV (WM)
Well equipped kitchen (WM)
Double bedroom  (WM)
Double bedroom  (WM)
Double or twin room (WM)
Double or twin room (WM)
En suite shower rooms (WM)
Ample off road parking
Dogs and bikers welcome
All dogs welcome little or large
Beautilful countryside
Picturesque villages
Durdle Door
West Bay (Broadchurch in the TV series)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Maiden Newton, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mark A
Beaconsfield
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very high quality accommodation off beaten track, yet 5 minutes from village centre”
Reviewed 13 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The hot tub in the garden was the first time either of us had been in one and it was a very relaxing experience. The cottage is an annex, but kitted out to the highest standard. My wife was particularly impressed with the quality of furniture and furnishings. Warm and cosy, yet spacious enough in the key areas. Great ensuites!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sheer quality of the accommodation (5 star)
Liked least: If being picky, simply the fact cottage was an annex and not detached
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robert_ha...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely break in Dorset”
Reviewed 28 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Stayed at water meadows for three nights with our two dogs and friends .The accommodation overall is very comfortable and well equipped especially for dog owners as towels ,poop bags and treats are provided.PLenty of country walks on the doorstep and had a lovely meal in the fox and hounds in neighbouring Cattistock.The hot tub is also a nice touch and very relaxing after a day walking on the downs.Mark and Karen are very friendly and helpful with information,would definately reccomend a visit to Maiden Newton and especially Water Meadows.Many thanks for your hospitality mark and Karen.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2014 for a stay in March 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of the above!
Liked least: nothing!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
South East England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AngHogg
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfick!!”
Reviewed 11 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We booked Water Meadows for 9 nights as my father in law was keen to visit the Great Dorset Steam Fair so we decided to make a holiday around the fair. We were a party of 3 adults and 3 dogs. 
We booked both rooms as self catering so did not have the breakfast.
We had no problems finding and accessing the cottage. The enclosed gardens were ideal for our dogs to laze about in. 

We found the cottage to be comfortable throughout, extremely clean and despite the fairly light decor (which was a worry with the dogs and after a very dusty couple of days at the fair!) we felt as though we could relax in the surroundings. 

We were within easy travelling distance of lots of things to see and do and was lovely to return to a home from home.

We had a little go of the hot tub and enjoyed the barbecue and gardens in the evenings. 

All ameneties you would need are available here. Mark and Karen are very approachable if you need any assistance and kindly posted an item I had left behind.

We would definitely recommend Water Meadows and if our travels bring us to Dorset we would stay here again. 

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of the property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing