We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 4:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Wonderful overnight boat trip to Komodo and surround islands

A little late on the review, but can't say enough great things about Top Komodo Tours. Our guide... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
PhishinUA
,
Boulder, Colorado
Incredible experience

We stopped here with a cruise ship. I booked the tour separate from the cruise ship. We were met... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Heidi1616
,
Metro Minneapolis-Saint Paul, Minnesota
Read all 157 reviews
  
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveller rating
125
27
3
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
27
3
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cruise ship pink beach cruise critic paper work private tour manta rays manta point watering hole komodo tour deposit via paypal excellent photographer basic english questions were answered promptly organised tour email communication memorable trip huge turtles
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 157 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2016

I tried several tour companies off the web and chose Top Komodo Tours partly because of the reviews but mainly for the immediate WhatsApp reply and the continuing excellent communication from Richard Bon, my contact in the office. By the way, I heard nothing from the two other tour operators.

Our guide Andi and driver Saffe were brilliant in their roles and I and my partner, both in our 60's, are hugely grateful to them for safely showing us around their country.

There were so many highlights on the week-long trip, but if I was forced to choose, I would put the Komodo dragons and snorkelling with giant manta rays at their cleaning station right at the top of the list - truly two David Attenborough moments - followed closely by sunrise on the summit of Kelimutu Volcano with it's three coloured crater lakes and the educational visit to the traditional Bena village with it's ancient customs.

I have worked and lived in remote parts of Indonesia during part of my working life and knew not to expect 5 star hotels in Flores. However, all our lodgings were clean and air conditioned (no a/c on the Komodo boat), the included breakfasts sometimes basic but edible and happily our health remained intact throughout the trip.

I recommend trainers, long trousers and a jacket or fleece for the sunrise on Kelimutu. It's cold up there. And if you are prone to burning in the sun - like my delicate Scottish skin - sunblock, a hat and a rash vest or t-shirt for snorkelling. I regret not having a GoPro for the manta rays.

2  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, Manager at Top Komodo Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2016

Dearest Michael.

Thank you very much for your great review about our given service. We are also very happy to hear from you that you had a wonderful time during your trip to Flores and Komodo island for seven days and you were satisfied with our service.

Thank You and Kind Regards.

Richard Bon
Top Komodo Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016

We actually went in April and got a private boat from Flores. The boat was a good size and the food prepared later was amazing! I was even given veggie food- yeah! The tour was short around the island and we were lucky because we saw a few dragons. The guides are really good at getting photos up close:) we had extra time so after the pinkish beach, we swam ( well kind of) with beautiful manta rays! It was an experience I will never forget!!! Thank you!!

1  Thank waterfalls_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, Manager at Top Komodo Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2016

Thank you so much for your nice review about our given service. Hopefully, this will become a main reference for other travelers who want to use our service in the future. We are also happier as you were very happy and satisfied with our given service.

Thanks and Kind Regards.

Richard Bon
Top Komodo Tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

After searching the web I chose Top Komodo Tours to visit Komodo Island and see the Dragons.
The 3 day tour should however be sold as at most 2 1/2 days.

Day 1: Pick up in Labuan Bajo was flawless with guide waiting and car ready to go. Off to the harbor to get in the "Liveaboard" boat, more on the boat later. We headed straight for Rinca Island to see our first Dragons. After arrival we went straight to the Ranger Station and along the way we saw two Dragons close by the station.
We took off on the medium length tour and saw a few more dragons near the kitchens. Apparently they come for the smell of food. Anyhow along the way we saw two more smaller Dragons in the bush.
Following Rinca Island we went to
"Pink" beach which someone forgot to paint that day. Was ok snorkeling was good and lots of small fish and coral in ok condition.
Day 2: Komodo Island was definitely the Highlight where we spotted a large Dragon whilst warming up in the sun moving around actively. Along the tour in Komodo we also saw Deer, Wild Boar, Cockatoo and few other kinds of birds.
This was followed by Manta point and spotted aManta Ray as well as othe fish whilst snorkeling.
So Mission achieved, saw the Dragons of Komodo.

With regards to the boat. The crew was great and did the best they can with hardware. My "room" was close to the wheelhouse kind of below smelling of diesel and in the end I decided to sleeping on open deck, which was fine for me.

If you are expecting facilities of comfort I
Suggest you ask for photos of the boat used for your trip as otherwise you will be disappointed.

The last day is as long as the time of your flight from Labuan Bajo, I went to the cave and local market before flying out.

Was it a great tour? Yes I saw the Dragons and had a great Tour guide, Afri.

Was it value for money? Depends on what value you put on seeing the dragons.

1  Thank Onefortruffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, Manager at Top Komodo Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2016

Thank you very much for your review about our given service. Hope to see you again one day on Flores and Komodo island

Thanks and Kind Regards.

Richard Bon
Top Komodo Tours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2016

Our organizer had good communication with Richard and he sent all the necessary paperwork to be allowed off the cruise ship. After we tendered to the dock, tour guides were there to meet us and we were quickly made ready to begin our trek searching for the elusive Komodo dragon. There was someone who would keep an eye on our bags so we did not have to carry it with us. The pathway is flat and the trek was not strenuous. Our guide anwered questions about flora and fauna and we spent a nice amount of time viewing many dragons, both male and female. We were not disappointed. A visit to a local fishing village gave us the opportunity to see how the people live their daily lives and they were most welcoming. We then boarded a comfortable boat equipped with bathrooms and cabins that could be used as changing rooms. I am glad we decided to wear our suits under our clothes. It was so hot that it just made things easier. We arrived at a beautiful pink sand beach. You needed to be able to get into a smaller speed boat and some members with mobility issues chose to stay onboard relaxing and enjoying the surroundings. We were supplied with snorkel equipment in good condition and were able to enjoy a good hour of snorkel time. It was not the Great Barrier Reef , but certainly were many beautiful fish to enjoy. We then transferred back to the boat and there was a lovely hot lunch waiting for us- seafood, chicken, noodle dishes, cold bottled water and sweet bananas. It was a lovely boat ride back to the tender dock. Top Komodo provided us with a lovely day in port, the equivalent of 2 separate shore excursions offered by the ship.

2  Thank DiscoMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, Manager at Top Komodo Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2016

Dearest Sir/Madam,

This is Richard Bon from Top Komodo Tours. We would also like to say thank you very much for sharing your trip experience with us, We are also very glad to hear from you that you had an amazing moment with the tour service that we had given to you last time on Komodo Island Excursion when you visited Komodo National Park by cruise ship. Hopefully, by this review will become major guideline for others before they use our tour service in the future.

Thanks and Kind Regards!
Richard Bon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

We booked a visit to the Komodo national park on line with this company. It was very straight forward exercise any queries or questions were answered by return.
We wanted a visit without too much walking which they arranged. You need a guide and ranger when you get onto the island,you could probably visit on speck,but as we were on a cruise with limited time we booked a tour.
We saw several dragons after about 20 minutes walking. Our guide was great very helpful with plenty of information about the island and wild life. It was very hot even at 8oclock in the morning, the afternoon would be backing!

Thank butterfly304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard B, Manager at Top Komodo Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

Dearest Sir/Madam,

I'm Richard Bon from Top Komodo Tours would like to say Thanks a lot to share your experience during your visiting on Komodo island by a cruise ship. We are also very happy to hear from you that, you were very satisfied with our given service. Hopefully your excellent review in trip advisor will become a major guideline for other travelers before they use our service in the future.
Thank you again and happy to see You again in our next service.

With Kind Regards,

Richard Bon
Top Komodo Tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews