We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic trip”
Review of Le Pirate Explorer

Le Pirate Explorer
Ranked #20 of 194 Tours in Labuan Bajo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Together “Le Pirate Bajo”, Le Pirate is launching a fleet of island Hopping Explorer boats. This tour comes as the ideal way to explore the Komodo Archipelago and get the best experience from The World Heritage Komodo National Park. Snorkelling, sightseeing, island trekking, or ….do nothing . The Explorer has it all to keep you busy during the day. Overnight as well as day trips available, visit our website for more information
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We had a wonderful time, made memorable by the spectacular scenery, gorgeous weather, the 270 degree view from our front cabin, compatible other passengers (non smokers, thankfully), and the enthusiastic commitment of our guide (“Pharrel Williams”) to meet or exceed our expectations. The highlight was snorkelling with the huge manta rays he found (over a dozen), an unforgettable experience. The food was fine with snacks always available.
Yes, the deck was slippery; even a crew member fell on his back. The boat did get a bit grungy after a day or so. And communication was a problem. Thankfully, one passenger was Indonesian and she became our translator. I found the music annoying when I would have rather listened to the waves. But all in all it was great—a beautiful boat and a reasonable price.

Thank Marlene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheresiaDevia, Guest Relations Manager at Le Pirate Explorer, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Ahoy Camina!

On behalf of the team and "Pharrel Williams" we say thank you! for sharing your experience with future Pirates!

We have forwarded all comments to our team on site to follow up.

We hope you enjoyed your time with us and will be back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"island hopping"
in 7 reviews
"movie night"
in 4 reviews
"bathroom door"
in 3 reviews
"boat trip"
in 8 reviews
"lawar"
in 2 reviews
"the bean"
in 4 reviews
"komodo dragons"
in 13 reviews
"rinca island"
in 7 reviews
"lunch and dinner"
in 4 reviews
"manta rays"
in 11 reviews
"an unforgettable experience"
in 4 reviews
"terima kasih"
in 2 reviews
"snorkeling spots"
in 3 reviews
"night tour"
in 3 reviews
"pink beach"
in 6 reviews
"recommend this trip"
in 3 reviews
"private charter"
in 2 reviews
Filter

21 - 25 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

We chartered the Explorer 4 for four days to tour the Komodo islands. While the islands are beautiful, I wish we had taken another boat to do the tour. The boat has only one small toilet for the guests and with 7 of us that eventually became congested and not hygienic. In addition the shower is effectively unusable due to a very cumbersome system to pump the water. The floor of the boat is slippery especially as it is often wet - four out of seven of us fell at least once during the trip. The food is a hit and miss and if you do not eat meat, good luck with that. Finally the management has been quite rude in dealing with us - the only thing the organizer seemed to be interested in was to get back the money she had anticipated for the national park ticket. Frankly there are much better options in Bajo for boat trips. Next time we'll not make the same mistake.

1  Thank maxillo76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheresiaDevia, Guest Relations Manager at Le Pirate Explorer, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Maxillo,

We are aware that you are the same person who wrote the review below, again we are sorry that you did not have the experience that you were after, considering prior to booking you saw all images of our boat and its layout. We acknowledge that possibly this experience of "clamping" is not for you or your group, adventure is not for everyone.

We have followed up with our crew regarding all non-meat options for food cooked during your trip and the dishes prepared were the same as all other standard non meat options, which in the past all guests have been satisfied. Again possibly booking a more luxurious Phenisi at 2 x the cost would have been more suitable.

We hope that regardless of these minor discomforts you managed to enjoy your trip to some extent and you will be back to Flores soon.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

I recently traveled with Le Pirate Explorer (March 2018), with 6 friends and without kids. The Komodo Islands are paradise and, with clement weather, not much can't go wrong, really. Le Pirate looks like a great option (including because it is very convenient compared to the tariffs available). However, all goes well until... something goes wrong. Not sure why but when we took the boat (4 days, 3 nights) the floor was veeery slippery and three of us, at different points, fell off. My husband fell so badly (also because one of the crew had thrown a bucket of floor and not mopped it) that had a hole in his elbow and required urgent medical attention and (as we learnt later) stitches. As this happened on day 2 of the trip, we sought Le Pirate's Management help. It soon came down to money. We were remembered that the boat had NO INSURANCE and by signing the contract we had waived any liability of Le Pirate. [While we were quite agitated for what had happened and not knowing what would happen next, the management sent us the contract's terms and conditions and kept on underscoring, almost exclusively, the costs for picking us up). We urged them to send a speed boat, and we indicated that we were prepared to "cover the costs". By then we had understood that Le Pirate had to find a speed boat to rescue us. In the span of four hours we were picked up (to go to the hospital where we received great assistance by a local doctor) and brought back to the main boat. Only at the end, and by mere coincidence, we realized that the speed boat was Le Pirate's property and the cost it had incurred was not more than the gasoline. Nonetheless, for 4 hour of boat use, Le Pirate charged us the cost of a full day speedy boat rental (2.2 juta, roughly equivalent to 170 USD). Instead of being accommodating and trying to help us, Le Pirate had no problem in profiting from our misfortune. When we sought clarification, we were treated rudely, saying that we had committed to pay (surely, under duress!) and so we had to pay, that they had our credit card (we allowed them to take a picture as we could not pay the debt immediately) and were ready to "cut the balance we owned them' themselves directly from the card. Impeccable. What can I say? Le Pirate has no idea of what safety is. They kept on repeating us that nobody had ever slipped before us. Does it really matter? It felt horrible. However, we were glad we had decided to go on this trip without kids, cos it would have been very stressful otherwise. It was such a sad sad note to end the trip. In conclusion, I very much regret to have signaled this boat to so many people before using it ourselves. The only reason why I don't give zero to it is the crew, which was really amazing.

5  Thank nerosuede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheresiaDevia, Guest Relations Manager at Le Pirate Explorer, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Dear Massimiliano,

On behalf of Le Pirate management we would like to clarify some points so that any future guests are not influenced negatively before booking with us.

When we received the distress call regarding your accident our team onsite were very quick to act, the fastest solution being to bring your chartered boat Explorer 4 directly back to the harbour which would have resulted in 1.5 hrs trip all together. However you insisted that taking a speed boat was essential, due to availability and mobilisation this option resulted in a 4hrs trip at your request. We were very clear regarding the costs before your confirmation so it is not fair to now say that we tried to make high profits on this extra service. The rate has carefully been calculated and is a fair price, we can assure you this is not where we try to make money but simply cover our own costs.

The entire issue regarding the additional charge was clearly explained, you approved and we executed as best and fast as we possibly could. We are extremely disappointed to later find that you had avoided the payment and departed straight to the airport and knowingly avoiding our staff who co-ordinated your evacuation.

We only believe it is fair to process this payment as the first option provided was denied by you and all was clear at the time.

Le Pirate takes safety as it’s number one priority when at sea and can assure you that this is the first case. We also confirm that all of our boats are within standard safety regulations.

The accident resulted in 2 x stitch’s in your elbow and we are relieved to know that you are safe.

Kind Regards,

Le Pirate Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

Three friends and I enjoyed four days/three nights on the Explorer 2. Our guide, Teddy, was absolutely fantastic. He did a great job showing us the sights and was a joy to have on board. The other crew members were equally fantastic. The crew was attentive, kind, and very helpful.

Le Pirate took us to the most fantastic sights -- Rinca, Padar, manta ray snorkeling, turtles, bats, dolphins, Kanawa Island, phosphorescent invertebrates and more. The food onboard was delicious. My only wish is that the trip was longer. I'll definitely be returning!

Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2018

We sat on the Explorer 2 for this trip. Our guide was Teddy. First of all, don't expect a 5 star cruise. This is a cruise which is made for instagrams and photos. We really need to bare with some inconveniences during this trip but in the end though, it was all worth it.

Staying in a boat for 4d 3nights was amazing. The boat and room is small but i somehow feel it is very adequate for 8 persons. It doesn't yet make you feel like your personal space has been invaded.The wings of the boat accomodate two lounge chairs which are always wet. So be prepared to bring tons of wet clothes back. The toilet also uses pump system where you have to pedal pump the water down.

The main highlight of this trip was definitely the experience. The crew were nice and the places we visited was definitely out of this world. The must visits have to be Padar Island, Pink Beach, Manta Point, Turtle Point, Flying foxes, Taka Makassar and Sebayur Island.

Overall, very beautiful and very nice if you can withstand some of the inconveniences involved.

1  Thank Zeemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheresiaDevia, Guest Relations Manager at Le Pirate Explorer, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hi Zeemi,

On Behalf of the Captain Crew & Teddy we say thanks! We hope you managed to see all the attractions you wanted to and more!

Safe travels and come back soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Pirate Explorer also viewed

Labuan Bajo, Flores
Labuan Bajo, Flores
 

Been to Le Pirate Explorer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing