We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation
Nearby Hotels
Gladstone Motel(Richmond)(Great Value!)
USD 111
USD 108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oxford Court Motel(Richmond)(Great Value!)
USD 63
USD 54
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkside Motel(Richmond)(Great Value!)
USD 105
USD 99
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Richmond Motel & Holiday Park(Richmond)(Great Value!)
USD 66
USD 64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Saxton Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
USD 90
USD 88
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marama Vineyard(Richmond)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Treehouse(Richmond)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
127
12
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
12
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew zealandb and bcooked breakfastplaces to visitcomfortable roomsa lovely stayday tourbreakfast was excellentqueen streetmade us feel at homemake teaan overnight stayfantastic hometea bagsgreat hostsenjoyed our staylocal area
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2017

The room was beautiful and very clean. The host was very helpful with everything we needed to know. The breakfast was very nice with cereal,fresh fruit,yoghurt and a choice of cooked breakfast cooked freshly which I really appreciated after many horrible buffet style hotel breakfast. The breakfast tables were set out immaculately with nice quaint China,cutlery and glass.A real personal breakfast. The decor in the establishment is very nice with a lovely lounge for guests. We had a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Suites are lovely but a lot more expensive
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank carolclarke58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

A heritage property in a residential area one block from Richmond's Queen Street, the centre of the shopping and eating area. Great hospitality from Jordan, the owner's son, who manages the place almost single handed. A comfortable stay with a family feel. Fittings and decor a little tired but non the worse for it. The family ancestors came over (in various categories!) with the First Fleet and their traced history is shown in a well researched book on the premises. Tea, coffee and biscuits are available for all on the upstairs landing (not in room). A great place to explore west into the Able Tasman National park or East towards Picton and the Marlborough area. Do not miss the Queen Charlotte Scenic drive to Picton. If you need a canine fix then Charlie, the black Labrador, is always more than willing to oblige!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are away from the road
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017

The house is a restored antique belonging to descendents of the first European settlers in New Zealand. The house is furnished in period style with a pleasant lounge, sunny dining room and comfortable rooms. The proprietors, Jordan and his Partner, take great pride and do all the gardening, cleaning, cooking. They make their own yoghurt, jam from their fruit trees and they bake their own bread. Their informal style made us feel very much at home. At first we thought we had been stuck off in remote location far from downtown Nelson, but it turned out that many ineresting locations were quite nearby such as wineries, bicycle trails, potters and galleries. You would be best off visiting with your own car but you could use taxis if you wanted to.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the house probably get less traffic noise.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

We stayed at Kershaw House in november 2016 during the earthquake.
They were a fantastic help when we needed to find new places to sleep because of the disaster in Kaikoura.
In general very helpful and nice people.
- They took the time to contact our agent in New Zealand
- Great breakfast and dinner
- Fantastic home-baked cookies.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kirstenwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2016

I am left wondering how to score this place - as ever, start with the positives:-
Room was clean, a decent size and adequately presented. The breakfast was cooked to order and more than ample (lunch not required!).
So what next?
The property is in a residential part of Richmond (not Nelson) alongside a reasonably busy road, especially in commuter times. The property is slightly dated in its presentation - but that maybe a personal thing. I don't believe that it is 'boutique' - whatever that means these days! For an evening meal, we used the guidance in the room notes only to find our chosen place had closed at 7pm so we were left trying to find somewhere else - fortunately we did so.
So, I am left between a 3 and a 4 rating - on balance and for the quality and price paid (against many other places we stayed in NZ) it has to be a 3.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GOMS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews