We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hospitaity”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation
Ranked #2 of 5 Richmond B&B and Inns
Randers
1 review
“Fantastic hospitaity”
Reviewed 9 January 2017

We stayed at Kershaw House in november 2016 during the earthquake.
They were a fantastic help when we needed to find new places to sleep because of the disaster in Kaikoura.
In general very helpful and nice people.
- They took the time to contact our agent in New Zealand
- Great breakfast and dinner
- Fantastic home-baked cookies.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirstenwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
98
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2016

I am left wondering how to score this place - as ever, start with the positives:-
Room was clean, a decent size and adequately presented. The breakfast was cooked to order and more than ample (lunch not required!).
So what next?
The property is in a residential part of Richmond (not Nelson) alongside a reasonably busy road, especially in commuter times. The property is slightly dated in its presentation - but that maybe a personal thing. I don't believe that it is 'boutique' - whatever that means these days! For an evening meal, we used the guidance in the room notes only to find our chosen place had closed at 7pm so we were left trying to find somewhere else - fortunately we did so.
So, I am left between a 3 and a 4 rating - on balance and for the quality and price paid (against many other places we stayed in NZ) it has to be a 3.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOMS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2016

We were sent to Kershaw's as we couldn't go on to Kaikoura because of the earthquake. It's an older heritage type property.
Our room was fine and the bed was very comfy.
A bit more shelving in the bathroom would make storage a bit better.
The breakfast was good. There was a fair selection of fruit and cereals. The best part was the cooked breakfast that Jordan did for us.
There is a comfortable lounge to sit in in the evening.
It was very quiet while we were there and we practically had the place to ourselves.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moxxy-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

Beautiful home , with two great 4 legged friends and the hosts were extremely helpful. They went the extra mile to make sure we got our ballots for the US election which missed us at their home. We had a great visit and we're grateful for their help.

Stayed October 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Betsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2016

This was our second 5 nights stay, and we are pencilled in for next year, which speaks for itself. The lovely Kershaw House could not be better. Breakfasts, hot, cold or both, are excellent and according to your requirements. Dinner is by arrangement and Phill buys to your preferences. Many ingredients are grown on the premises. We dined in 3 times, having prior canapes in the comfortable lounge.
Easy to find from the airport. Good parking and free wifi.

Room Tip: We saw all the rooms and they are consistently very comfortable, four doubles and a twin, all en sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRSPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
11.9 km away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
670 reviews
0.9 km away
Parkside Motel
Parkside Motel
#3 of 4 in Richmond
61 reviews
3.3 km away
Saxton Lodge
Saxton Lodge
#10 of 41 in Nelson
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Boutique Motel Nelson
Boutique Motel Nelson
#23 of 41 in Nelson
111 reviews
0.6 km away
Gladstone Motel
Gladstone Motel
#2 of 4 in Richmond
45 reviews
0.5 km away
Arthur Wakefield Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation

Property: Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation
Address: 10 Wensley Road, Richmond 7020, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Richmond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price range (per night): $189 - $310
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation Richmond, Nelson-Tasman, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing