We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kershaw House Boutique Accommodation
Nearby Hotels
Oxford Court Motel(Richmond)(Great Value!)
USD 62
USD 53
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marama Vineyard(Richmond)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parkside Motel(Richmond)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gladstone Motel(Richmond)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Treehouse(Richmond)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
127
12
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
12
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew zealandb and bcooked breakfastplaces to visitcomfortable roomsa lovely stayday tourbreakfast was excellentqueen streetmade us feel at homemake teaan overnight stayfantastic hometea bagsgreat hostsenjoyed our staylocal area
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 1 December 2016

I am left wondering how to score this place - as ever, start with the positives:-
Room was clean, a decent size and adequately presented. The breakfast was cooked to order and more than ample (lunch not required!).
So what next?
The property is in a residential part of Richmond (not Nelson) alongside a reasonably busy road, especially in commuter times. The property is slightly dated in its presentation - but that maybe a personal thing. I don't believe that it is 'boutique' - whatever that means these days! For an evening meal, we used the guidance in the room notes only to find our chosen place had closed at 7pm so we were left trying to find somewhere else - fortunately we did so.
So, I am left between a 3 and a 4 rating - on balance and for the quality and price paid (against many other places we stayed in NZ) it has to be a 3.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GOMS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016

We were sent to Kershaw's as we couldn't go on to Kaikoura because of the earthquake. It's an older heritage type property.
Our room was fine and the bed was very comfy.
A bit more shelving in the bathroom would make storage a bit better.
The breakfast was good. There was a fair selection of fruit and cereals. The best part was the cooked breakfast that Jordan did for us.
There is a comfortable lounge to sit in in the evening.
It was very quiet while we were there and we practically had the place to ourselves.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank moxxy-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016 via mobile

Beautiful home , with two great 4 legged friends and the hosts were extremely helpful. They went the extra mile to make sure we got our ballots for the US election which missed us at their home. We had a great visit and we're grateful for their help.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Betsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

This was our second 5 nights stay, and we are pencilled in for next year, which speaks for itself. The lovely Kershaw House could not be better. Breakfasts, hot, cold or both, are excellent and according to your requirements. Dinner is by arrangement and Phill buys to your preferences. Many ingredients are grown on the premises. We dined in 3 times, having prior canapes in the comfortable lounge.
Easy to find from the airport. Good parking and free wifi.

Room Tip: We saw all the rooms and they are consistently very comfortable, four doubles and a twin, all en suite.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DRSPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016

We overnighter in Richmond before heading to the West Coast of New Zealand. Phil, the owner/manager of this lovely B&B made everything perfect. Jake the dog sat in the yard with us as we enjoyed our afternoon wine. The rooms are superb and the brekkie outstanding. Phil's attention to detail is excellent and conversations with him regarding genealogy was exciting. We would recommend an overnight or two at Kershaw House.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Harvestdrmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews