We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 353
USD 328
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Roebuck Hotel(Forest Row)(Great Value!)
USD 82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 94/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Brambletye Hotel(Forest Row)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
USD 92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn East Grinstead Hotel(East Grinstead)(Great Value!)
USD 73
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
USD 236
USD 202
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 63
USD 55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 99
USD 97
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 27/07
USD 180
USD 164
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (776)
Filter reviews
776 results
Traveller rating
648
84
21
19
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
648
84
21
19
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstasting menumichelin starkitchen gardennespresso machinebirthday lunchstunning gardenscountry housepre lunch drinkslovely lunchcoffee and petit fourspublic roomssussex countrysidebeautiful roomhead gardenerfour poster beddeluxe roomamuse bouche
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 776 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2018

We stayed at Gravetye in 2017 after trying many other lovely places including Amberley Castle, Cliveden, Lords of the Manor, Chewton Glen and the Four Seasons in Hampshire.

We tried here after seeing it on Masterchef and it was quite close to Hildenborough where we reside.

We stayed for two nights. It was fantastic and at one of the best we have stayed in the food was fantastic and the public rooms were lovely all paneled and log fires and a superb room.

There are lovely walks in the extensive grounds.

We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pasarell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

We had about 24 hours between our transatlantic flight and our flight to Nairobi and decided a quiet country inn in the middle of a fantastic English garden was the perfect way to deal with our jet lag.

Often times these English country inns can try too hard to be special and they end up looking twee and rather ugly. Not so at Gravetye. Our room was bright and airy. The bed and bath were comfortable. The public rooms were exactly the kind of rooms you want to find in a house like this wood paneled, stylishly decorated, and full of fresh flowers from the manor's gardens.

During our stay we had lunch twice out on the garden terrace, dinner in the dining room, and afternoon tea in our room. All of the food was fantastic, garden to table, expertly served. It was truly a delight in every case. Although you can have your afternoon tea just about anywhere you like, the jet lag was catching up with us and we decided to have it in our room. A perfect way to relax over tea and then have a little nap. I could have eaten my weight in scones.

Dinner in dining room was lovely but a bit quiet. Plenty of people but all rather quiet and well-heeled. If you are traveling with a spouse you might want to have a list of conversation topics at hand as there isn't much in the way of distraction.

And then the gardens. I don't know why I saved this part until the end, they were the reason my husband wanted to stay here in the first place. They did not disappoint. We had absolutely perfect August weather when we were there and spent much time wandering the grounds. You can even stroll through the kitchen garden and see where you lunch came from. There was also a croquet lawn and plenty of places to sit and read.

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank MyPorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Only spent one night between Xmas and NYE, but had a wonderful day. We shared the two-room Robinson Suite with our teenage daughter, and we all had live Christmas tress decorated and lit in our bedrooms....almost magical.

Staff was very friendly and accommodating, and while at times the service appeared slow, a reminder that "we'll make a fresh batch of hot cider" would have put that question quckly to bed.

Beds were equisite, baths were nice but could use a little updating. While i know this is an old retrofitted property, there should have been more pressure in the shower heads, esp at the (holiday) price we paid. I'm not tall and I had to stand close to the wall to get the water to cover my body.

Grounds were impressive on a drizzly day, would love to return on a brighter day.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank davidandrose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

I have now stayed Gravetye for Christmas for about 4 years. This is a hotel which is friendly and cosy, with an understated luxury and elegance. It's not a place with spas and swimming pools. It is a traditional English country house hotel that has been upgraded to the highest levels of comfort and service - it's all comfortable sofas, roaring fireplaces, beautiful countryside and stunning gardens. And the rooms are the same, comfortable, quiet, peaceful.
Meanwhile the restaurant is now a one-star Michelin level and you can feel that the kitchen and the staff are working towards that extra star. The food is sublime and the star of the are the ingredients from the large Victorian kitchen garden. This is very top-end and very expensive, but at the end of your stay you feel like it has been worth every single penny.

Room Tip: The rooms have ambient temperate guages so they are set at aroound 21C and you won't need to fiddle with the heating.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeremy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

My wife and I booked in for a big birthday treat. Staff everywhere all getting on with their jobs in the most efficient yet unobtrusive way - as it should be. Menu choice fantastic - we had a light lunch after an early arrival then walked the grounds admiring Robinsons gardens. Back for a relaxed soak then a truly memorable meal with the Premier matching wine selection - the sommelier knows her job and chef excels! Both service, food and wine simply - the best. Can't fault it. Final bill caused a slight heart flutter but hey - it was worth every penny.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the house if you can afford it.......
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnrjewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews