We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great location”
Review of Anchor Bay Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anchor Bay Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greenwell Point
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2015

Very nice clean room. Close to the ocean, river and beaches, great photography opportunities. Microwave and toaster make it easy to make a snack or a meal. Wi-fi excellent. Staff very helpful and courteous. Would recommend to couples or families. Only downside is it is about 15 mins drive from downtown Nowra, but we found the supermarket, Bowling Club and small shopping centre sufficient for our needs.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 188 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2015

The Clovelly Women's Bowling Club booked 9 rooms for 4 nights and we could not have been more pleased with proprietors Rob and Helen. Their interest in our group and attention to our needs was fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. All rooms were very well equipped, toiletries were equal to a 4+ star hotel including make up remover pads which I personally found wonderful and useful. This is a motel, not a hotel and no beach to swim however walking tracks, fishing, courtesy bus to club and the best pizza I have eaten at a short walk to the local pub. Will be back.

Room Tip: Corner suit are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carmel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert G, Owner at Anchor Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2015

Thanks Carmel,

It was great to host the Closely Women's Bowling Club here at the Anchor Bay Motel, and we are so happy that you enjoyed yourselves and had a good week. Thanks for your kind words, and we'll look forward to seeing you again soon.

Rob & Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2015

Room was adequate for the price .A shame that parking was on a lower level ,stairs to negotiate that weren't too bad, did have a ramp access as well but when you have a lot of stuff .up and down .
We were travelling with our granddaughter aged 7.
the only drawback was
the queen bed well at least I think it was ,was too soft and dipped .This let it down
The owner was more than helpful and informative.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank miriray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert G, Owner at Anchor Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2015

Hi Mirray,

Thanks for your review of the Anchor Bay Motel. Yes there are a few stairs to the rooms from the carpark - but we like to look at the positives where the rooms all have lovely garden views, and the noise associated with vehicles is not next to the rooms. Also, we are always happy to give our guests a hand with bags.

We will take a look at the beds - they can be a personal thing and we have had a number of favourable reviews about them.

Thanks again for your feedback, and we'll look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2015

We picked this place at random to break our long drive.
It was a great room, quite a good size with a small outdoor seating area.
amenities were great, everything was there from coffee plunger and ground coffee to really soft towels. Wifi was really slow, but free.
Owner was very friendly and helpful. Gave us great advice on where to go to eat or visit.
Water was just across the road with a playground for the little ones and some nice walks.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert G, Owner at Anchor Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2015

Hi QCV,

And thank you for your great review. We are very happy that you decided to stop here - it's about 10 min off the highway from Nowra, but we find it so quiet and relaxing. We source our coffee from a local roaster (it's available in the deluxe and suites), and I'm surprised about the slow wi-fi - it is usually quite fast and reliable.

Thanks again for your favourable review, and we hope you think of us again next time your are on the Sydney to Melbourne road.

Kind regards,

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015

Rooms as described. No hassles at all. Opposite the harbour and fishing boats. Nice walks along the harbour front.

Rooms are hotel style but each with a little balcony and outside furniture. It's a bit out of the way, but we went to see a band playing at Greenwell Point.

Room Tip: Room facing east to the harbour, top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kimball2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert G, Owner at Anchor Bay Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2015

Hi Kimball2015,

You have described the area well. We are a bit out of the way, and that's the way we like it! It's only a short 10 minute drive off the highway, but we find it so much more relaxing. No highway noise (not much noise at all!), and by the river makes it very peaceful.

We're glad you enjoyed it, and we'll look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thanks again,

Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenwell Point
19.0 km away
Dolphin Shores
Dolphin Shores
#1 of 1 in Vincentia
299 reviews
12.5 km away
Quest Nowra
Quest Nowra
#1 of 8 in Nowra
483 reviews
28.8 km away
The Sebel Harbourside Kiama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 km away
Mercure Gerringong Resort
Mercure Gerringong Resort
#2 of 2 in Gerringong
732 reviews
12.3 km away
Marriott Park Motel
Marriott Park Motel
#3 of 8 in Nowra
116 reviews
15.8 km away
Huskisson Beach Motel
Huskisson Beach Motel
#1 of 4 in Huskisson
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Bay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Bay Motel

Address: 113 Greenwell Point Rd | Entry via Wilkins Street, Greenwell Point, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2540, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Shoalhaven > Greenwell Point
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Greenwell Point
Price Range: $105 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchor Bay Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anchor Bay Motel is an award winning 12 room motel overlooking the river 10 minutes east of Nowra on the NSW South Coast in Australia. It provides quality and affordable accommodation in the scenic fishing viallage of Greenwell Point. The motel is centrally located in the Shoalhaven area so you can explore all the great areas on offer. 10 minutes to beaches, 15 minutes to the northern side of Jervis Bay, 30 minutes to Huskisson or Berry, 40 minutes to Hyams Beach and Kangaroo Valley. In Greenwell Point, enjoy the fresh seafood at the cafe / restaurants some of the best oysters available - direct from the farmer. We have Standard, Deluxe and Suites available - something to suit every budget, and for those rooms that don't enjoy water views, the river is only a short walk away. All rooms have an ensuite, kitchenettes, and queen size beds. So come and enjoy a quiet and relaxing stay at the Anchor Bay Motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Anchor Bay Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Bay Motel Greenwell Point, New South Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing