We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent Conference Facilities” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prested Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Prested Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Feering
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Conference Facilities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We have just come back from an awat day at Prested Hall and we can't thank them enough. The staff were very helpful and attentive.

The room we booked was bright, airy and overlooked the grounds to the rear of the property. The food was excellent and plentiful.

We would definately use Prested Hall again. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    91
    17
    7
    8
See reviews for
148
180
11
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Wivenhoe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

We had booked a business meeting at Prested Hall after reading good reviews about the food and location. We were all very disappointed to say the least. Our meeting room was freezing cold, we were told the heating was on and because it was an old house it would be cold, in fairness the member of staff did bring in 2 portable radiators which helped. Lunch was nice. There is no real bar area in the hotel resulting in you having to sit in what can be described as a 'lounge'. The whole hotel was cold at all times. The food in the restaurant in the evening was poor, with 3 out of 6 of our party leaving both their starters and main courses. We were told that drinks orders could not be taken when you are in the restaurant and if you want drinks you have to go to the bar! Not great service! One of the guests requested cheese instead of dessert, the response although polite was we have no cheddar, when asked if other cheeses were available she came back and send no they had run out of all cheese. Water was dripping from the ceiling in the main area, a bucket was simply placed under it. The rooms were all cold with all guests complaining they were cold in the night. 2 out of 6 of the guests also had no hot water in their rooms, when they complained they were simply told they would let their Manager know, no apology! The breakfast was also disappointing, the food appeared 'microwaved' and the eggs were crispy fried! All in all a bad experience and would not recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Merri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perestedaEssex, Owner at Prested Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
To have two heating problems in one day is an owner’s nightmare (as well as a guest’s) and, of course, we are extremely sorry that this happened. Unfortunately, it became clear the next day that our main gas boiler (less than 5 months old) had failed, and our Duty Manager should have realised this much sooner. Furthermore, we have a huge wood-burner as a back-up for really cold weather, which would have been lit had he done so. (We have, of course, taken up these issues with the staff concerned in no uncertain terms). The second problem was that the reviewer was staying in a room which is served by an independent water heater, and this chose, that self-same day, to spring a leak (so it had to be turned off, causing cold shower water!) As for the quality of the food and service, these areas are greatly important to us at Prested, and we are sad that someone should have been disappointed. We absolutely do not ask diners to fetch their drinks from the bar, any more than we think that as it’s an old house it’s OK to be cold – we don’t think that! It is only fair to add that other departing guests were complimentary to our receptionist on their departure and this overall satisfaction was re-iterated by the conference team leader (twice).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

I just wanted to give testament to the wonderful treatment we had here over the weekend. We had an abrupt ending to our Valentine's Day weekend when my boyfriend's mother telephoned at 6.45am to say his father was seriously ill in hospital. Thus we had to wake up the staff, arrange an early breakfast (it was a 3 hour drive and my boyfriend was not capable of driving without first eating something) and check out. They responded with the utmost good grace, with the porter having to make us breakfast because the chef wasn't in yet, and even turning on the radio in the empty dining room so that we could listen to the traffic reports. I didn't see much of the hotel because we arrived after dark and left before light, but it seemed very comfortable and we had a good supper. We were staying in the charming Dingle room, which was very cosy despite being in the middle of a snowy wood! The dining room would probably benefit from a bit more atmosphere, but the hotel generally struck me as charming and the staff were extremely kind and friendly. I don't know what it cost because my boyfriend had surprised me with a Valentine's weekend away but it seemed to be good value as he was surprised that the expensive bottle of wine he had chosen was included in the bill. Thank you Prested Hall!

Room Tip: The Dingle rocks is really cool, although why does it have fuschia velvet curtains and battleship gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank florencereally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

My wife and I arrived at 1930ish on a Wednesday evening to be informed no food available. On our first morning my wife received a snotty call at 1130 asking what time we were leaving as checkout is at 1100, my wife's answer was were here for 2 nights! In the afternoon we decided to order a nice cream tea and sandwich selection from the bars menu to which we were told sorry you need to give us 2 days notice! On arrival we were told breakfast was 0700 to 1000 and as we arrived at breakfast at 0925 on the sevond morning a snotty waiter informed my that breakfast finishes at 0930! All in all just let down a bit by the poor customers service provided.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Artimus22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perestedaEssex, Owner at Prested Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
This is very odd as virtually all reviews comment specifically about how excellent and helpful are the staff here. OK, so someone made a sliiy slip about the room booking, but surely not enough to warrant a complaint? And two witnesses heard the Duty Manager apologise (they say almost too profusely_ for the mistake. The guests were told when they arrived that because nobody had booked dinner our dining room was closed, but our health club 100 yards away was open for food. They were not told afternoon tea needed 2 days notice (and it doesn't); they were told it could be organised but not instantaneously.
We are a small operation and nearly everything is done to order else we would be serving things stale or throrwing away mountains of food.
And we do not have any snotty waiters; I simply would not employ anyone capable of being one.
Mike Carter, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Myself and my partner had a spa weekend at prested hall. We were put in the dingle room, which is like a mini cottage on its own about 100 yards from the main hotel, the room was lovely and bed very comfortable. The food was fantastic and we were even able to request certain meals as my partner is a vegetarian. The spa is nice, they have a large pool and sauna. We both had massages and found them so relaxing. Overall a great stay and the snow made it even prettier.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markyc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Feering
34.9 km away
Roslin Beach Hotel
Roslin Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Thorpe Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
21.5 km away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
27.9 km away
Greenwoods Estate Spa and Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 km away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
15.6 km away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
12.5 km away
The North Hill Hotel
The North Hill Hotel
#7 of 24 in Colchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prested Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prested Hall Hotel

Property: Prested Hall Hotel
Address: Prested Chase, Feering, Colchester C05 9EE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Colchester > Feering
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Feering
Price range (per night): $147 - $299
Hotel Class:3 star — Prested Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With contemporary style and comfort within an historic listed country house, this privately owned hotel sits discreetly amid 75 acres of Essex parkland, within 30 minutes of Stansted Airport. Partly surrounded by a moat, Prested Hall offers 15th and 18th century interiors, stunning Art Nouveau decor and elegant 1930s extensions. With 15 attractive en suite rooms and an adjacent health club,with additional serviced (Peresteda) apartments, the owners of Prested Hall have attempted to create a place of quality, where comfort, style and relaxation exist without cold formality. Hotel guests will find helpful staff, and attention to detail, with fresh flowers throughout the house, along with books to browse through, DVDs to borrow, real coffee in the rooms and, always, the pleasure of being away from city stress amid beautiful surroundings. Situated just off the A12, a 5 minute drive from Kelvedon station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Prested Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prested Hall Colchester
Prested Hall Hotel Colchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing