We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to much”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elviria
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Heritage Resorts Club Playa Real
Reviewed 13 April 2017

We went to the Marbesa Club Resort, which is the same as the Club Playa Real, on an RCI "freebie" but were given accommodation way up the hill at El Toro appartments. There is a pool there but nothing else and without a car we'd have been completely stuck. It's quite a climb from the small beach.
Having not attanded the meeting to welcome newly arrived guests, we were visited by a very charming lady who came to check we were settled in and who explained that her role was to promote Roberto's, the Itslian restaurant on site and would we like a voucher for a free breakfast there for the following morning? Yes, we would - or so we thought. Apart from the meal being dreadfull, we were too polite to walk off before we were given four hours of hard sell on the Heritage Holiday Package offer. Basically, once you've removed the so called benefits and discounts possibly available, it boils down to you giving them nearly five thousand pounds and over the next three to five years they give it to you back in tranches of eight hundred pounds which has to be spent on buying holidays from them - plus three free weeks!
Roberto's might be fine for dinner, but we didn,t try.
Their other restaurant, Papillon, however was quite good if not a bit pricey. Nice position down on the beach. See photo.
The accommodation at El Toro was adequate, clean, airy, spacious, with all amenities (having remembered to ask for a hair drier), but it faced the wrong way. We could not sit in the evening sun, only the mornings on our spacious balcony.

Room Tip: Ask where it actually is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Roger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2017

Reception Staff very helpful. Unfortunately our stay ruined by an awful Meal which we were made to pay full price for.
The management have no idea of customer relations other than to try and sell timeshare! Avoid this place if you can!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Dickietrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

I visited this resort as part of a resort/cruise deal with RCI. Whilst at the resort I attended a presentation on the benefits of membership of the Heritage premium Club. I was impressed and paid a deposit with the balance being payable when I returned to the UK. My wife was referred to hospital for scans and tests and as a result of this we requested our application be cancelled and our deposit returned. An employee contacted the Head Office and we were asked to forward evidence. This we did and were advised times that approval would be obtained the following day. This never happened and it transpired that Norman Anderson from Customer Services in the resort refused to sanction the refund. He even telephoned my wife and later advised me that my wife sounded fine! I regard his crass attitude totally unacceptable. He later advised me that he could not agree to a refund as the fourteen day cooling off period had expired. The manner in which Heritage has dealt with an honest request from an elderly couple is little short of scandalous. They are guilty of sharp practice and I would advise anyone against having any dealings with such a cowboy outfit.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

This resort is very spread out so only really works with a car or a lot of walking. The most troubling thing for me was that in the main building all the doors were locked and the elevator turned off between 11 pm and 9 am. There was not one single staff person in the building over night. Anyone with a sudden illness could be in serious trouble .

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
4  Thank canadianquilter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

We arrived on New Years Eve having booked the gala dinner at the Papillon beach restaurant. Having finally departed a fog bound uk, the reception staff were helpful and very polite.
Our apartment is excellent very clean with a beach facing view and well equipped and maintained. We had reservations having read some of the other reviews, but then We realised there are different buildings on the complex and can only praise our accommodation. So far we cannot fault our stay, our toaster broke and was immediately replaced, regards time share we politely but firmly advised we are not interested.
Therefore we would highly recommend a stay here in club playa real and would not hesitate to book this again for a relaxing break.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank acornfalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elviria
0.5 km away
Marriott's Marbella Beach Resort
4.1 km away
Crown Resorts Club Marbella / Club Regency Palms
0.7 km away
Don Carlos Leisure Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 km away
Matchroom Country Club
Matchroom Country Club
#13 of 27 in Mijas
211 reviews
1.2 km away
Ona Alanda Club Marbella
3.3 km away
Macdonald Leila Playa Club
Macdonald Leila Playa Club
#1 of 3 in Sitio de Calahonda
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Resorts Club Playa Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Resorts Club Playa Real

Address: urbanizacion Alicate Playa S/N 29600, 29604 Elviria, Marbella, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Marbella > Elviria
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Elviria
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage Resorts Club Playa Real 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the beach, close to Marbella town centre with famous Puerto Banus nearby. Built around beautifully manicured gardens which house a magnificent outdoor pool and poolside bar, Club Playa Real will fill your days with whatever you wish: lazy hours around the pool, sunbathing, strolling for miles along the beach or dining in one of the numerous "chiringuito", beach bars along the fabulous Marbella golden sands. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heritage Resorts Club Playa Real Hotel Marbella

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing