We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice staff but shame about the hotel rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Congresbury
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice staff but shame about the hotel rooms”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We attended a 60th birthday party that was being held within their Valentine's Ball function in the Great Room. My wife and I booked a room room for the night so that we could make a weekend of the event.
We booked a deluxe king size bed room which was inclusive of breakfast direct with the hotel.
After checking-in we made our way to our room which was a bit of a feat as the room numbering system and signs are pretty confusing. On arriving at our room we were unhappy to find we had been given a room close to what sounded like a class of school children. As we could still hear them making a racket from inside our room I phoned down to the reception to see if we could be given a room in a quieter part of the hotel. This was agreed to without a fuss and we were taken to another room.
Unfortunately this room was not really ready for use. The TV did not work, there was only one robe, there were no face flannels and the real killer was that the bathroom had zero privacy. There was a full size window, with no curtain or blind, that aforded a clear and un-interrupted view of what you were doing in the bathroom. We are not prudes and have been married for 27 years but its nice to have a bit of privacy when one is taking care of ones essential functions.
As a consequence we asked to be given a different room.
Unfortunately as the hotel was quite full they said they would have to let us have the best room in the hotel. It was a suite that would normally cost over £350 per night. This should have been a bonus for us but in fact it was far from it.
The room was a very weired concept in that it was quite large and had what looked a bit like a movie viewing section with loungers and footstalls and a table football machine like the ones you get in pubs etc. Apart from the fact it had just a double king size bed the room would have been ideal for a group of lads on a stag night. Certainly of no use for a male/female couple.
The double basin in the bathroom had an 18 inch crack in it that cut my wife's finger.
The worse problem was that it was absolutely freezing cold. The aircon system would only throw out cold air no matter what you did with the controls. I called for a member of staff to come and show us how to get it to give warmth and he turned up with a tiny heater as he obviously already knew this was going to be an unresolvable issue.
By the time we realised there was nothing we could do about the cold we had to quickly get changed to attend the function we had come for.
The function went well although the standard of food was pretty utilitarian for a Valentine's Ball especially the main course.
Lastly when we got into bed we froze all night because the standard and quality of the duvet was really poor and the room was still like a fridge.
On a positive note the breakfast in the morning was in fact very good. We also had no complaints with any of the staff who were polite and helpful. We were just unhappy with the standard to which the rooms had been prepared and we would have been incredibly disastified had we paid £350 for a night in their best room.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilCopelandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    911
    731
    427
    211
    124
See reviews for
479
993
72
443
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We booked this hotel on the day of travel on the way to our holiday to avoid the snow so did no research before booking. However, it was probably the best hotel in the UK I have stayed in.
It was further away from Bristol than I was expecting (our fault for not researching!), but I am so glad we chose this than a budget city centre hotel.
We were greeted at reception with warm, gooey melted chocolate chip cookies for each person - they were divine! The room was spotlessly clean, well decorated, the bed extremely comfortable, good sized sofa bed for our son, plasma TV on the wall. Unfortunately although we wanted to visit the Marco Pierre White Restaurant as the set menu was very appealing and a good price, it was unfair to take a 3 year old in at the time we arrived, so I can't comment on the service.
My husband used the gym and said it was the best equipment he has ever used.
My only gripe was the cost of the wifi. In an age where you can get free wifi in McDonalds I would expect it to be included within the room price, or certainly cheaper than £10. It says its free in public areas but I couldn't connect.
Overall though a very pleasant stay - I only wish we could have stayed longer but would definitely return if we are back in that neck of the woods.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clubfiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed here for one night on 10th february in a standard double on the 4th floor, the room was spotless warm and stylish with lovely fittings and fixtures, the bed was very comfortable obviously had a good quality mattress. The bathroom was modern clean with a super shower lovely toiletries, plenty towels gowns but no slippers.
We ate in the living room the food was delicious and all the staff were superb, the bar staff in particular were friendly and professional and nothing was too much trouble.
My sister was put in a ground floor room which she felt unsafe in as she was on her own she was immediately offered a room change to the 6th floor which she took.
There is plenty of parking spaces around the hotel site.Reception staff were friendly and helpful but there was a large queue on arrival with only one member of staff, it soon cleared once another receptionist arrived.

Room Tip: If solo dont stay on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I have stayed at this hotel twice in recent months, it is a bit "out in the sticks" but if you want a reasonably priced hotel with extensive grounds, then this could be the place for you. There is nothing particularly wrong with this hotel, pleasant staff, nice location, clean and well maintained, but it could still do with some improvements:
1. Decorations, well if you like dark brown, and I am talking 70% pure Green and Blacks here! Then you will love this place... the floors are brown, the walls are brown, even some of the ceilings are brown! I mean a more depressing colour scheme you could not imagine. Even the public areas, the reception, the dining room, the bar everything is brown! The interior designer must have got a job lot of the brown stuff.
2. Bathrooms, these are a little strange, they have tried to build in some glass to bring light into the bathroom, but that wierd clear glass panel looking into the bath from the hallway... What's all that about? Generally the bathrooms, like many other Hilton's are not really up to scratch and by that I don't mean dirty its just that they seem to be behind the times in design terms. At least the sanitary ware is white, but the wall tiles are brown - of course!
3. Bedroom, the thin "flotex" type (brown) carpet does not give the luxury feel you would expect and the heating and a/c system is a bit noisy, but otherwise the room has all the usual features you come to expect in a 4 star property.
4. Exterior; attractive old building with a rather nasty and ill-conceived extension, how on earth it ever got planning permission I don't understand, perhaps a brown envelope changed hands?
So now I've had bash about design and architecture you don't just stay at a hotel for its design so leaving that aside I can in fact recommend this hotel, the staff are great, food is fine, you even get a chocolate brownie cookie when you first arrive and rest assured if you do accidentally drop it on the carpet, don't worry at least it won't stain ;-)

Room Tip: Ask for the brown room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radio_Vampire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We stayed here for 1 night before flying from Bristol Airport. Receiving welcome cookies at check-in was a nice touch, as were the flapjacks with coffee / tea making in the room.
We used The Club, the gym and pool on site, which is a local members club so is bigger than the usual hotel fitness area - also busier. Having to go outside for the facility is not so nice on a cold day but it's not far.
Breakfast had a good selection of hot and cold dishes and the staff were extremely helpful.
We left quite early in the morning, so didn't get the full impact of the views but it looked as if there are lovely views from the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ineketom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Congresbury
8.2 km away
Best Western Walton Park Hotel
11.0 km away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
14.3 km away
Rookery Manor
Rookery Manor
#1 of 1 in Edingworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Winford Manor
Winford Manor
#1 of 1 in Winford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
5.3 km away
Holiday Inn Bristol Airport
16.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
Address: Cadbury House Frost Hill, Congresbury BS49 5AD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Congresbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Congresbury
Price range (per night): $130 - $324
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to DoubleTree by Hilton – Cadbury House, the South West’s newest four Star 132 Bedroom contemporary boutique Hotel & Spa. Cadbury House is a stunning venue set within rolling English countryside, making it the ideal backdrop for your Wedding, Private Party, Business Event, Spa Break or Dining Experience. Cadbury House is in a convenient location and is only minutes away, from the M5 motorway, Bristol airport and Bristol City Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Priceline, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House Hotel Congresbury
Cadbury Hotel Health

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing