We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellant”
View of the Barn from the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the Barn from the garden
Views of the animals from the Barn Archway leading to the Barn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
View of the Barn from the garden
Views of the animals from the Barn
Archway leading to the Barn
The south-facing patio
The old pigsty, now a double or twin bedroom with en-suite
The first-floor double bedroom with en-suite
The dining area
The woodburner
The kitchen clock
The Old Forge as it was many years ago
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Knockin, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dwm55
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Excellant”
Reviewed 5 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Lovely cottage , ideally situated for the many places around the area.
The cottage is well equipped and to a high standard . Very relaxing atmosphere .
The tray of goodies was a great added extra and surprise.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOM-Manx
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Delightful holiday stay”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Had a lovely stay in The Old Forge Holiday Barn and would definitely recommend to others. The place was well equipped, homely, quiet and cosy. Colin and Wendy were very welcoming hosts and the 'welcome basket' was a lovely gesture and was very much appreciated. Beds were large, lovely and comfy and the wi-fi worked great. Our teenage son loved his double bed and sitting in the big armchair on the mezzanine level. We enjoyed visiting Knockin and the areas around it. Went on some great walks, played golf and did some shopping. Lovely pub next door, with a nice atmosphere and great food. Our mobile phone struggled to get a signal in the holiday barn, at times, but this did not effect our stay. Would visit again, if ever in the same area again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petebesti...
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good indeed”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This place ticked all the boxes. Its only minor drawback was that it was next to a road which meant you got occasional traffic in the morning. Place was very well kept and spotlessly clean. Lovely little suntrap outside for a BBQ or just a sit down at the end of a long day. Well placed for Shrewsbury or Welsh Borders visits. Owners were always friendly and helped immediately when the toaster malfunctioned! ;)

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: View over the fields
Liked least: Occasional road noise
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke R
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay with very accomodating and efficient owners.”
Reviewed 8 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My booking of The Old Forge Holiday Barn was very last minute, but Colin's response was quick, efficient and welcoming,making the process stress free. The barn itself is beautifully appointed and the friends I went with both remarked on how attractive and homely it was. The setting, facilities and welcome were first rate and I will happily join the ranks of former visitors who would love to stay there again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout of the property and how spacious it felt
Liked least: The router code isn't on the router - but it is written on the washing machine instruction manual :-)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2014
Thanks Luke for your kind comments. Although it was a last minute booking for you, we were glad you could make it and we look forward to hopefully meeting up with you and your friends again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annabella...
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“The Old Forge is fantastic.”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed at The Old Forge for a much needed 3 night break. My dad died in January and we have been caring for my elderly mum so while she stayed with my sister we were able to get away. We wanted clean, comfortable accommodation with a well equipped kitchen, some outside space and an attractive setting. The Old Forge was perfect in every respect. It is tastefully and beautifully furnished and the private patio overlooks fields with sheep grazing. After being out and about all day exploring the lovely surrounding countryside we were able to return in the late afternoons and completely relax, cooking and enjoying a few glasses of wine whilst listening to music. We found a good farm shop nearby selling a range of local produce, but if you didn`t want to cook there is a pub next door to the property which gets good comments in the visitors book. If we wanted to visit Shropshire again we`d certainly try and book the Old Forge again, and from reading the visitors book that`s exactly what a lot of people do. They also have a small B & B and before we left we were shown around by the owner`s daughter. That too looks clean and comfortable and is decorated in the same attractive style. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everthing!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are sorry but we were on holiday when you stayed and we would have loved to have met you. Thank you for your kind comments and we are glad that you were well looked after in our absence. Perhaps we may have the opportunity of meeting you in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing