We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“spectacular and gorgeous beach”

Bahia de las Aguilas
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 28 May 2018

Bahia de las Aguilas is a great and nice spot. however it is about 5 hours driving from Santo Domingo.... but the view and beach all deserved it... with beautiful crystal clear water. will strongly suggest to take the organized tour that includes food, city tour or barahona..

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Travelgenius77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"boat ride"
in 14 reviews
"dominican republic"
in 10 reviews
"santo domingo"
in 9 reviews
"white sand"
in 9 reviews
"beautiful beach"
in 8 reviews
"national park"
in 7 reviews
"worth the trip"
in 4 reviews
"bucket list"
in 3 reviews
"an adventure"
in 3 reviews
"stay overnight"
in 3 reviews
"local fishermen"
in 3 reviews
"casa bonita"
in 2 reviews
"road trip"
in 2 reviews
"trees for shade"
in 2 reviews
"lobster"
in 2 reviews
"salad"
in 2 reviews
"natural reserve"
in 2 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2018

Bahia de las Aguilas is a great spot, and really not your average beach. First of all, it’s very secluded and sparsely visited, so that’s great. Second, the natural environment is striking: shrubby, beautiful rock formations frame the crystal clear waters perfectly. Depending on the light and clouds, the water changes color spanning all different hues and shades of green and blue. On the route in, if driving down from Barahona, you’ll see lots of iguanas peering at our you from the road, as you circle inland from the coast out of Barahona province. Once you make your way into the park area off the main road in, avoid the guys who chase you down to get you to come in to their tourism operations (more expensive) and park near the park entrance to explore your options. All the restaurants we visited were great and cheap, with fresh fish and langosteen available along with standard fare of fried plantains and yucca. We always asked to see the fish/lobster before ordering, to make sure it was fresh. Our favorite place, and coincidentally the cheapest, was Restaurante De Bahia Dona Charo. Near the park entrance, there are lots of boats and guides available on demand - they all sort of hang out and charged less than the tourist complexes. We were taken out for $50, all day, not including tip for your guide. Not sure if that’s a good price, but our guy was great. It can get hot and sunny, so pack some cover and sunscreen. Obviously bring water and snacks. Snorkeling is unbelievable! We brought our own equipment and were happy we did. Giant starfish, octopi, all sorts of fish, lobster, urchins, giant seashells...all sorts of interesting stuff a short dive from shore. The place is really beautiful and was definitely the nicest beach we encountered in the Dominican. So, stay overnight in the area if you can, enjoy the local seafood fare, make sure to snorkel and enjoy your stay!

Date of experience: September 2017
5  Thank robertdU694HF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

A beach without hotels or restaurants with amazing white sand. It was a lovely daytrip and i think all should visit this place.
We rented a car and stayed 2 nights in a camping nearby i rancho tipico, from there you can take a boat to this beach, 10 min and the price was 2300 dop there and back.

Date of experience: February 2018
6  Thank 562evek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

no words to describe it, must go. Long white sandy beach, clear sea, no people around you. It's inside a natural park and you have to buy the ticket. Ask local fishermen for boat transfer to the beach. Fantastic day! We went back the day after, at the VIP beach. Really recommended

Date of experience: February 2018
3  Thank maria grazia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

White sand and clear blue water in a natural park that you can only access during the day by boat or walking. Cannot camp there. Worth a visit. My favourite beach in República Dominicana.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Oriol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bahia de las Aguilas also viewed

Puerto Plata, Puerto Plata Province
 
Parque Nacional del Este, La Altagracia Province
Monte Cristi, Monte Cristi Province
 

Been to Bahia de las Aguilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing