We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Another wonderful experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guana Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Guana Island
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Guana Island
Certificate of Excellence
Holland, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Another wonderful experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

This was probably our 10th trip to Guana. We keep going back as we are almost always have a great trip. The reason for 4 stars vs. is twofold. 1) dinners are really just mediocre. Not sure why. Breakfasts are very good, and lunch, with its wide variety of multiple choices daily, is just short of awesome. But dinners....ho hum, and, frankly, a bit skimpy. In prior years, the staff even brought out a plate of seconds, but not this time. 2) One of the very unique Guana experiences is dinner at tables of 8, where you get to enjoy the meal with other guests. The table mixes were changed nightly. Honestly, this actually delayed our trying Guana...not being sure we enjoyed eating with others on an annual chance to get away. It turned out that this part of the Guana experience was terrific. Every year, we meet some great folks as a result of this, and some have become good friends since our original Guana encounter. I must mention that guesrs always had the option of dining alone in one of several nice spots. This visit, we found ourselves seated alone about half the nights. When we inquired of management, they indicated most couples had requested this. However, other couples we asked who were dining alone had no idea why. I feel this may be a move by management. Not sure why, but, personally, I think it's a sad departure from what helped Guana stand apart.

All this being said, we love it there. The staff is nothing short of awesome, the accomodations are very well comfortable, and the location and ambience for anyone seeking a quiet Carribean vacation cannot be beat. We will definitely be going back!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bigcreekdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    13
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
29
145
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

We went here for our honeymoon, and overall we have a really great time. We are a younger couple (23 and 25) but we wanted a really quite, relaxing honeymoon after our big crazy wedding. Guana Island was exactly the place for that! We stayed in the North Beach Villa. PERFECT for a honeymoon. Extremely secluded...basically a whole stretch (as far as the eye can see) of beach to yourselves, private sun deck overlooking the beach and ocean, private outdoor pool, and your own golf cart to drive around because you are so secluded! Staff even have set up a bell system to "warn" honeymooners and guests when they are approaching the villa to deliver food or to clean LOL. LOVED our villa! It came stocked with snacks and drinks, and if you ever ran out they would immediately deliver more. It even came with a blender and ingredients to make pina coladas and rum punch if you didnt feel like hanging out at the public beach bar or club house! Cheese and crackers, fresh fruit, and cereal were just a few things they stocked the kitchen with. We spent lots of afternoons relaxing at our own villa, munching on cheese and crackers and drinking beer and pina coladas! We also opted in for the honeymoon package or whatever they call it, which included a cast away picnic (SUPER FUN - highly recommend) and sunset cruise. Also did 2 spa treatments (one at the spa, one at our villa) and they were AMAZING!

PROS:
-Staff was above and beyond.
-Perfect setting for optimal relaxing
-lots of interesting things to do if your the more active type (snorkeling, fishing, kayaking, beautiful hiking trails, day trip to Tortolla, tennis, tour of their organic fruit orchard (very cool, a must-do),...
-nice and quiet - not a ton of people, and most people there were honeymooners, anniversary, or couples vacationing

CONS
-no AC. In August, there were times when sleeping was a bit uncomfortable, even with a nice breeze.
-no TVs - this was nice looking back at it, but it also took some getting used to.
-not much variety/choice for food. every day theres a menu with 2 options for dinner entrees. and if you dont like either, your out of luck. The quality of the food was only so-so...I expected much better food from a 5 star, expensive resort.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Caitlin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

My wife and I have been to Guana 5 times. 10 days each winter. Service is imeccable, food excellent. Beach magnificent. Met new, interesting people - other guests - from all over the world. This is not the spot if you are looking for a resort. It is quiet, companionable and a wonderful way to spend a quiet time in the sun in February. Bring your Kindle and read or hike or visit Dr. Lao's award winning garden.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruddy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

We spent an amazing 7 nights on Guana. I had high expectations since this was our honeymoon trip and all of my expectations were exceeded. From the moment our boat pulled up to the beautiful white sand beach with turquoise water we were in paradise. The staff was so accomodating to our needs and requests: Lunch was ready for us upon arrival, Andrea set up 2 days of scuba for us with a private diving company-just my husband and I diving with the dive master, a castaway picnic lunch on a private beach and champagne set up at a swing in the Garden of Eden to watch the sunset for my birthday.
We got to be active (scuba, snorkel, tennis, hiking) when we wanted and yet could purely relax and enjoy the quiet beach and evenings together.

Room Tip: We stayed in Eluthera cottage-had fabulous views of the sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elk1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

We just returned from our second trip to Guana Island and still wish we were there. Wonderful island, great beach, excellent snorkling (when the water was clear- the first week rain storms and tides kept thew water cloudy). We stayed again at the North Beach Cottage tucked on the other side of the island (on the Atlantic) which truly makes it a private island experience. We would recommend this island to anyone who asks.
**
So you might be asking why only four stars this time? Two reasons: first off was the dinner entrees. Breakfast was always good, lunch was always excellent as were the soups, salads and desserts at dinner but for some reason we found almost every dinner entree to be average/good at best (and it seemed most guests were in agreement on this). Hard to put a finger on the issue other than the entrees were just... OK.
The second reason is that the decking around the pool and shore platform at our cottage is in serious need for replacement- the boards are old, splintered and worn.
**
The above are very minor (and easily fixed) issues when taken in whole as we LOVE this island and plan on returning again and again! The friendly service and great beach are really what Guana Island is all about!

Room Tip: Want a great view and a pool: Harbor House Villa Want privacy and remoteness: North Beach Cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guana Island
16.1 km away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
14.3 km away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
5.5 km away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
15.0 km away
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
Rosewood Little Dix Bay
#1 of 7 in Virgin Gorda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
23.2 km away
Bitter End Yacht Club
Bitter End Yacht Club
#1 of 1 in North Sound
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guana Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guana Island

Property: Guana Island
Address: P.O. Box 32, Guana Island
Region: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Guana Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Guana Island
Price range (per night): $1,741 - $2,758
Hotel Class:4 star — Guana Island 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Guana Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guana Island Hotel Guana Island
Guana Island Hotel Tortola
Guana Island Tortola
Guana Island British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing