We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Frosterley, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gareth a
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

To be perfectly honest I booked this short notice and if I'd of researched it first I probably wouldn't of with it being so close to the owners accommodation but we would of missed out, you really don't feel like your intruding at all and Jules and John are both lovely, we really only seen them when they met us when we arrived and the lodge is high up out the back and isn't over looked at all. The lodge itself is fantastic and the pictures really don't do it justice, if I was being really picky the only things I could say that could possibly improve it for me are the beds abit noisy and the kitchen area could possibly do with some lights under the cupboards onto the worktops so you can see when cooking rather than having the main lights on which are abit bright but thats all personal preferences and it was a dark miserable weekend weather wise. The Garden looked lovely but unfortunately we didn't get chance to enjoy it thanks to the weather so we will be back at some point to give it a go.
Locally the food in the Black Bull is unbelievable we payed £43 for 2 mains, 2 Desserts and 2 drinks which for the standard of the food I thought was really good value but apparently its only open Thur - Sun so I'd check this and book if your planning to go. The local shop has just about everything you could want and the Frosterley Inn be it not as nice as The Black Bull is very welcoming and serves its purpose.
All in all definitely one of the betters ones, extremely good value, great people and hopefully we will be back.
Many thanks to Jules and John for letting us stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin B
Masham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic Peaceful ”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Easter Break Stayed for 3 Nights Welcomed by the Owners Jules and John Lovely Friendly People, The Lodge itself was well equipped with everything needed, Lovely Peaceful Setting, And The Indoor Hot Tub Just Awesome, Definitely Be Back and Have Recommended To Others This is A Hidden Gem!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gardens/outside areas.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rebeccasm...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Weekend Break”
Reviewed 21 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The lodge is in a perfect location in the small village of Frosterly where there are two fantastic pubs, chip shop, village shop and a great 1.5 hour walk (although we got right to the end and found that the bridge was damaged so check this out if you plan on going soon!).
The accommodation is effectively at the back of the owners garden however you get your own garden space (which includes BBQ and Fire pit) and don't feel like your next to a house.
The Lodge its self is modern with a very well equipped kitchen and open plan living area with Free-view TV. We didn't get the WiFi to work and phone signal is hit and miss but this wasn't a problem for us.
The bedroom was great with a very comfy bed. The only downside is that the only bathroom is en-suite and the door didn't close - meaning little privacy. (If the owners could address this then we wouldn't hesitate going back).
The Jacuzzi was attached to the owners house in a conservatory, although quite private we certainly didn't feel comfortable using it but that is not a problem for us.
My only criticism is that there were a lot of air fresheners and scented candles around the lodge which were a little strong for our tastes and many were put in the cupboard for the weekend.
Overall the lodge was clean, comfy and offered a break in a beautiful location. The owners were lovely and were not intrusive. We would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mezzo1720
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 11 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We booked this lodge to have a break away for my boyfriends birthday.It was an ideal location only 3 miles away from stanhope and not far away from Wolsingham. The lodge was fantastic always warm and decorated better then our own house.The jucuzzi was great yes it is attached to their house but it is private and you can go in with out asking.john and jules were really nice people who would do anything for you, John even gave us a lift to a restaurant and back.If you are looking for a peaceful break away in the countryside this is the place.would highly recommend kind regards
Amanda and Chris

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing