We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cranfield Cottage Frosterley”
other travellers have booked this property
Cranford Cottage, Frosterley near Wolsingham
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cranford Cottage, Frosterley near Wolsingham
Wood panelled passage. Wood panelled passage.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Cranford Cottage, Frosterley near Wolsingham
Wood panelled passage.
Wood panelled passage.
Wood panelled passage.
Living room.
A Christmas welcome to Cranford, Merry Christmas
Dining room with bed settee.
Dining area
Kitchen with view of church and grounds.
Bathroom with electric shower.
Double bedroom with fitted wardrobes.
2nd view of double bedroom with bedside cabinets and bedside lights.
Single bedroom with bedside light.
Small bedroom again.
Secluded garden with view of church and grounds.
2nd view of garden, no exit, 4'6' stone wall surrounding whole garden, very child/dog friendly.
3rd view of garden with patio, south facing and very private.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Frosterley, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Scenic679...
1 review
“Cranfield Cottage Frosterley”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We stayed for 2 nites and it was immaculate luvly clean and tidy and left bottle of wine for us .We will b back in summer

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2017
Lovely comments, thank very much and really pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Gillian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jepto1
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect for R+R, Nothing was to much trouble.”
Reviewed 31 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Myself and my wife took a weekend break to Cranford for some long overdue rest and relaxation we also took our dog.
On arrival we were met by our fabulous hosts, who handed us the key and asked if we had any questions? We were informed the heating was on for our arrival which was a very nice welcome.
After our Hosts had left we were surprised to find gifts for ourselves and our dog which was a tin of various dog treats.
Cranford has a small contained garden to the rear which is great for the dog, found the Kitchen a great size and very adequate, also tea, coffee and milk provided.
Also the use of 3 butchers blocks nothing worse than going away to a nice place and using plastic chopping boards. Mugs towels etc all provided at Cranford, decoration to a high standard,cleaned to a very high standard, a use of washing machine as well.
No complaints, looking in the diary for our next stay.
Over the road you have a local shop, which is great for the morning paper and emergency supplies.
The Fish and Chip shop is next door to the shop, two pubs both were visiting.
Lovely walks etc.
Already missing Cranford and Frosterley.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig N
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“3 Men and a dog......great base, thoughtful landlady”
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We catch up once or twice a year on a long weekend, usually walking and there has to be a good pub somewhere close by. This time a last minute invite was a dog, to join 3 of us for a Thurs-Sun break. We checked literally the same week if we could include him, and got a prompt yes, no problem. When we arrived the collected the key, and on the table was a nice welcome pack from the owners, and some dog friendly touches. The two bedrooms and the 3/4 sofa bed were ideal for 3 guys, and the back room was big enough to sit around, eat dinner and have a beer so much so the front room didn't get used. Small enclosed back garden was ideal to let the dog out for a comfort break, with a big park 50m away to run some excess energy off him if needed. We did 20 miles and 12 miles on our 2 full days, and had loads of room for kit and boots in the understairs cupboard. Kitchen was just big enough to do everything we needed - fry up, packed lunch making and keeping the beers cold. Great area, would recommend the Black Bull Inn for food and beer choice, and the Frosterley Arms for general good fun, both dog friendly. One of the guys 50th next year and he may well come back to the North East so would use this place again, brilliant value.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Room size, Wifi, price
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne H
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 24 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Cranford is a lovely little cottage which comfortably sleeps 4. The location is perfect and is 5 minute walk from two pubs and even closer to the chip shop. The cottage is clean and has all the facilities you need. Gillian the owner was extremely good with us and the dog particularly enjoyed the treats! Frosterley is a great location for walking with many walks straight from the door. All the guests enjoyed themselves and would not hesitate to stay again.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman R
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Welcoming,clean,well equipped, dog friendly and well situated.”
Reviewed 15 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Prior to arrival Gillian phoned to say she had put the heating on as the weather had changed, and advised us how to alter the times to suit ourselves. On arrival there was a great welcome pack for us including a tin of treat for our dog, and fresh water eating for her when she went into the cottage. The property had everything you could wish for, for a comfortable self catering break. the small garden at the rear provided a perfect place for our dog to rest away from the heat of the day. As well as us to sit and have a cup of coffee/glass of wine! There were plenty of leaflets about local walk and attractions which we found very useful. We also visited Lindisfarne, the city of Durham and the Beamish Museum. A great base for a great holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen /Diner
Liked least: Some of the kitchen utensils were a little flimsy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2016
"Hi Norman Thanks very much, we really appreciate your feedback and pleased you enjoyed your stay. Gillian"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing