We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5 Star Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Praa Sands beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Praa Sands beach
The beautiful Star Cottage - 250 year old Cornish granite holiday home The Family Room - Traditional furniture and wood burner with modern touches like Wi-Fi, Digital TV a
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
Praa Sands beach
The beautiful Star Cottage - 250 year old Cornish granite holiday home
The Family Room - Traditional furniture and wood burner with modern touches like Wi-Fi, Digital TV a
The Kitchen - New in 2011, it has a traditional wooden kitchen with granite surfaces.  Dishwasher, F
The Dining Room - Duck egg blue Aga (decommissioned) and traditional cottage dining table for family
The Snug - Double sofa bed and digital TV.  Perhaps a playroom for the kids?
The patio
The en suite - new in 2011
The family bathroom with bath and on demand shower - new in 2011
The single room with antique bed and chest of drawers
Twin Room 1 with antique beds, wardrobe, chest of drawers and chair
Twin Room 2 with antique beds, wardrobe and chair
Double room with en suite, wardrobe and chest of drawers
The en suite walk in shower - new in 2011
Praa Sands beach 1
Praa Sands beach 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Praa Sands, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Robert A
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5 Star Cottage”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Very well equipped, clean and well maintained cottage with lots of original features. Nice seating area outside and a short walk to the beach at Praa with a food shop/ post office nearby. Might be worth having a visitors book for suggestions of places to visit and eat out etc. Had a great week, thanks, would recommend

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilcockso...
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well equipped, spacious yet cosy cottage just over 5 minutes to beach.”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Cottage is very spacious and full of character with everything you need. Praa Sands is an ideal base for visiting all of Wesr Cornwall and we found ourselves visiting The Sandbar most nights. Good off-road parking for two cars but three can be a bit of challenge. Lots of good eating places and attractions in the area with fabulous coastal walks.

Mobile reception in West Cornwall is, at best, patchy.

We have been to Cornwall many times and this is definitely one of the best.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bobgwe
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, well equipped cottage close to beach”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Just returned from a wonderful stay at this cottage. Was everything we had hoped for and just a short walk from the beach. A great mix of oldy worldy charm with modern bathrooms and well equipped kitchen/wi fi etc. Would definitely recommend to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good mix of old charm with modern bathrooms and well equipped kitchen
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G M
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed here for the May half term. The cottage is enchanting with old stone walls, and creaky floorboards, window seats log burner etc. It has endless charm and character and you would happily live there if you could. The furniture provided to sit on in the main living area is my only gripe as it is not very comfortable, but that aside it is adoreable. You would not be disapointed with a stay here.

Just a side note on the state of Praa Sands beach:

Praa sands beach is a little on the "rocky" side and I think Cornwall county council could be well advised to give it some attention as I heard many dis-satisfied beach goers when I was down on the beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The nostalgic charm of the cottage
Liked least: The furniture to sit on in the main living area
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
williamma...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My wife and I stayed at Star Cottage for three nights for our first wedding anniversary. I booked the trip and it's safe to say that I earned serious brownie points as the beautiful cottage met our expectations and then some.
The cottage is a very short walk to the stunning Praa Sands beach and also Sandbar, which I would also recommend for either drinks or a bite to eat. Porthleven is walkable and we had trips to St Ives, Lands End and Marazion which were all short drives away.
The cottage itself was spacious, spotlessly clean and peaceful. Parking was no problem and I particularly appreciated the mod cons e.g. TV & DVD player and high speed wireless broadband.
Star Cottage comes highly recommended from both myself and my wife, and it would be equally suitable for larger families as there was plenty of space. I would happily return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space, cleanliness and location
Liked least: We could not fault our stay
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2014
Hi there, thank you for your kind review. We hope to welcome you back to Star Cottage soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing