We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing day out!”

Dolphin Wild Island Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Join us for a day cruise on Moreton Bay to Moreton Island. Site dolphins, dugongs & turtles, ride our boom net behind the boat, snorkel & fish feed around the Tangalooma wrecks (additional activity), spend time on the beach at Moreton island and swim in the beautiful clear water and enjoy our Eco cruise with commentary siting our wonderful animals, and the history of Moreton Island including WW2 gun emplacements. Includes buffet lunch, morning & afternoon tea.
Reviewed 6 July 2017

We had an amazing day out with our teenage children and their cousins from Sydney. Lisa and her crew were very informative and made the day a lot of fun with lots of laughs. Beautiful weather and a smooth sail out to Morten Island. Views are spectacular and the kids and hubby loved boom netting with lots of laughs. Kids rolled down the sand dunes and the water was so clear you could see all the way to the bottom including the star fish, turtles, sting rays and a dugon. Snorkelling around the ship wrecks was a highlight and nothing was too much trouble for the crew. Great job and highly recommended. Thank you from the Smith's

Thank vvosssmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2017

This is the second time we have participated in a Dolphin Wild Island Cruise. This time we traveled with our father of senior years. The staff were so very inclusive and considerate of his needs and safety when snorkelling on the wrecks at Tangalooma. Food is always great...who doesn't love a barbecue! Small business, feels like your going out on the water with family for the day.

Thank sharonwH3835UR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

We booked a day trip to Moreton island with Dolphin Wild. However, we received an email the day before, informing us that the trip had been cancelled. As we were out the whole day sightseeing in Brisbane, we only saw the email at 10pm that night, even though the mail was sent in the morning. The agency attempted to call the apartment we stayed in, but did not try to contact us on our mobile phone, the number of which was available to them when we made the online booking. It should have been clear that we were not in the apartment and you should try to call our mobile number, and it would have given us more time to think of a Plan B.

On the other hand, a Gold Coast agency which we booked a snorkelling tour informed us 2 days in advance that the trip was cancelled due to predicted bad weather. That was responsible of them.

As such we were not able to visit Moreton Island the following day as planned, which was a lovely sunny day! So why was the trip cancelled? As that was the last day we were spending in Brisbane, there was no way of rescheduling the trip. A potentially great day was ruined because of the cancellation.

We eventually managed to find our way to Moreton Island 2 weeks later, using the Tangalooma resort ferry (not going to risk getting our trip cancelled again by Dolphin WIld). However, the weather that day was horrible, rainy and dark, and we had a suboptimal time on the island. Had the trip proceeded on the day it was supposed to, we would have had a great time. So thanks, Dolphin Wild, for ruining the Moreton Island experience.

If you want to explore the island, consider taking the Tangalooma ferry instead, at least the ferry will not cancel its journey last minute, like Dolphin Wild did.

Thank jinbin81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinwildqld, Manager at Dolphin Wild Island Cruise, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

We are sorry your trip did not go ahead due to a weather cancellation, but we do not go out if the weather is not suitable for cruising. We DO NOT make our decision to cruise on whether the sun is shining or not! The main concern is the wind direction & strength and if it will make the day rough & uncomfortable for the passengers. We use the weather agencies and they only give us FORECASTS on the weather which unfortunately, many times is incorrect. The majority of the time the day before is the only time we can really make the final decision. Our staff emailed you very early in the morning (the day before) and tried to contact you on your mobile and could not contact you!!. We then contacted your accommodation and when we could not speak to you we left a message. We recommend when you book months out, it may be prudent to touch base with us when you arrive into Brisbane to confirm everything. Of course the vehicle ferry does not cancel as they do not have to worry about the weather or what the customers do once they drop you on the island. They go in all conditions, because they are just transferring you to the island, where you have to get off and sit on the beach (with nothing!) Our cruise has you onboard the vessel all day – with some time on the beach. The other customers on the day were very thankful of our decision and transferred to other dates and had a great time!. You were offered this but told us you were leaving the next day…but we see you were still here 2 weeks later??

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

Had the best day trip today from scarborough to moreton island. Lisa and her crew were absolutely fabulous hosts. Plenty of food, drinks and fruit and genuine hospitality was amazing. We had 3 young kids who were also looked after by lisa. Thank you guys for a memorable experience! Highly recommended

Thank Chrissy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

I surprised my girlfriend with a day trip to Tangalooma. We had the time of our lives. The Dolphin wild staff were friendly and professional. We had such a great time abord the supercat! The snorkelling tour was our favourite part of the trip. It was amazing! My girlfriend and I would like to personally thank and congratulate the Dolphin Wild staff for their excellent service! Would recommend to anyone to give it a go!

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dolphinwildqld, Owner at Dolphin Wild Island Cruise, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2017

Thankyou! We really appreciate your review. The Dolphin Wild Team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dolphin Wild Island Cruise also viewed

Scarborough, Moreton Bay Region
Redcliffe, Moreton Bay Region
 
Scarborough, Moreton Bay Region
Bribie Island, Moreton Bay Region
 

Been to Dolphin Wild Island Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing