We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous house for comfort, facilities & location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The beach is just a few minutes walk from The Salty Dog.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
The beach is just a few minutes walk from The Salty Dog.
We welcome all our guests with a welcome tray including fresh scones and homemade jam
The Romney Hythe and Dymchurch Railway is one of many possibilities for a lovely family day out.
Church Square in Rye, 3 miles away, is an interesting place to explore.
Mermaid Street in Rye, one of the prettiest streets in the UK.
Bodiam Castle owned by the National Trust is just 30 minutes drive away.
Rye, just 3 miles away, has many ancient buildings and is a joy to explore.
Derek Jarman's garden at Dungeness, a fascinating place.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Zinfandel...
Alvechurch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Fabulous house for comfort, facilities & location”
Reviewed 9 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

The house was well located on a quiet, very attractive modern estate, a ten minute walk from the beautiful beach. It's a lovely house, very well equipped for families with children or dogs or both, a fully enclosed garden and cots, high chairs, steps and a toy room. Indeed we visited with friends and our four dogs. Well functioning kitchen, comfortable sitting room on the first floor, an ensuite bathroom with the master bedroom on the third floor, a second family bathroom and a cloak room on the ground floor, all very tastefully decorated. On arrival we were met by the house keeper and shown how everything worked, the owner too was most friendly and helpful. A really excellent find. Highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimmaW
Alvechurch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 8 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Absolutely delightful house in a lovely private estate. Salty Dog is fabulously well equipped for children, dogs and for a top family holiday close to the renown Camber Sands beach. The term 'home from home' definitely applies here and we were genuinely sad to leave.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2017
Thank you, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham D
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect holiday house in great location.”
Reviewed 6 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Very comfortable, well appointed house. Everything you need. Lovely location. Short walk to beautiful sandy beach with sand dunes. Great place for our dog who loved the beach, as we did. Lovely Rye nearby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having stayed here before, house so comfortable.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishGe...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The Salty Dog is a lovely cottage in a very quiet location in easy walking distance to the beach and amenities. In fact, we did the short walk with strong headwinds and windbreaker + blankets under the arms and pram to push - it is really close and saves paying for the car park.
The cottage is very well equipped, especially with regards to the kitchen and children's toys + equipment. There is even a baby phone, which was quite handy as we forgot our charger and the battery on our monitor ran out during the first night.
We felt very welcome before, during and after our stay. The owner and housekeeper were really friendly and helpful. There are many little touches from welcome emails to almost immediate response times on queries to lovely scones and croissants that make a difference vs your average rental.
I think the only downsides one could criticise are the relatively small footprint of the house downstairs (the bedrooms feel spacious and offer plenty of storage), that upstairs may heat up in direct sun (though there always seems to be a good breeze blowing in Camber), and that some of the kitchen tools show some wear and tear. It is not cheap, but definitely good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and found us all very friendly and helpful and the house so well equipped. I will pass your praise on to the team.

The light airy feel of the house, due to the large windows, does, of course, mean on a very hot, sunny day the upstairs can heat up. However, all the windows are fitted with blinds and closing these during the hottest part of the day does help a lot, and as you say, there is nearly always a slight breeze coming off the sea! The lounge and bedrooms, being on the first and second floor, particularly benefit from this, whereas the ground floor with the kitchen/ diner and playroom is more shaded anyway.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sck89
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

After spending an unforgettable weekend in Cambersands it only seems right to give the cottage that myself and my family stayed in a shout out! We spent 3 nights in the cottage which was both clean and comfortable and contributed to making our stay extra special.

Upon arrival the house was clean and nicely laid out and provided us with a homely setting for the weekend. The beds were very comfortable and the linen was really good quality. The outside seating area was a lovely suntrap which was a lovely social space.

Overall really worth renting!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased you found the cottage both comfortable and welcoming. The enclosed garden and deck area which opens out from the kitchen is a lovely social space and very sheltered. We enjoy spending time relaxing there too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing