We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect holiday house in great location.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The beach is just a few minutes walk from The Salty Dog.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
The beach is just a few minutes walk from The Salty Dog.
We welcome all our guests with a welcome tray including fresh scones and homemade jam
The Romney Hythe and Dymchurch Railway is one of many possibilities for a lovely family day out.
Church Square in Rye, 3 miles away, is an interesting place to explore.
Mermaid Street in Rye, one of the prettiest streets in the UK.
Bodiam Castle owned by the National Trust is just 30 minutes drive away.
Rye, just 3 miles away, has many ancient buildings and is a joy to explore.
Derek Jarman's garden at Dungeness, a fascinating place.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Graham D
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect holiday house in great location.”
Reviewed 6 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Very comfortable, well appointed house. Everything you need. Lovely location. Short walk to beautiful sandy beach with sand dunes. Great place for our dog who loved the beach, as we did. Lovely Rye nearby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having stayed here before, house so comfortable.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnglishGe...
2 reviews
“Mr”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The Salty Dog is a lovely cottage in a very quiet location in easy walking distance to the beach and amenities. In fact, we did the short walk with strong headwinds and windbreaker + blankets under the arms and pram to push - it is really close and saves paying for the car park.
The cottage is very well equipped, especially with regards to the kitchen and children's toys + equipment. There is even a baby phone, which was quite handy as we forgot our charger and the battery on our monitor ran out during the first night.
We felt very welcome before, during and after our stay. The owner and housekeeper were really friendly and helpful. There are many little touches from welcome emails to almost immediate response times on queries to lovely scones and croissants that make a difference vs your average rental.
I think the only downsides one could criticise are the relatively small footprint of the house downstairs (the bedrooms feel spacious and offer plenty of storage), that upstairs may heat up in direct sun (though there always seems to be a good breeze blowing in Camber), and that some of the kitchen tools show some wear and tear. It is not cheap, but definitely good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and found us all very friendly and helpful and the house so well equipped. I will pass your praise on to the team.

The light airy feel of the house, due to the large windows, does, of course, mean on a very hot, sunny day the upstairs can heat up. However, all the windows are fitted with blinds and closing these during the hottest part of the day does help a lot, and as you say, there is nearly always a slight breeze coming off the sea! The lounge and bedrooms, being on the first and second floor, particularly benefit from this, whereas the ground floor with the kitchen/ diner and playroom is more shaded anyway.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sck89
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

After spending an unforgettable weekend in Cambersands it only seems right to give the cottage that myself and my family stayed in a shout out! We spent 3 nights in the cottage which was both clean and comfortable and contributed to making our stay extra special.

Upon arrival the house was clean and nicely laid out and provided us with a homely setting for the weekend. The beds were very comfortable and the linen was really good quality. The outside seating area was a lovely suntrap which was a lovely social space.

Overall really worth renting!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased you found the cottage both comfortable and welcoming. The enclosed garden and deck area which opens out from the kitchen is a lovely social space and very sheltered. We enjoy spending time relaxing there too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparkiecl...
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend The Salty Dog”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We highly recommend The Salty Dog X firstly the arrangement re arrival was efficient X we loved our fresh homemade Scones on arrival X the house was spotlessly clean and we had everything we needed X location was great too X rooms were very relaxing and beds were really comfortable with lovely linen X
Children playroom was really well equipped X
We had a fabulous few days at Salty Dog and visited loads of wonderful places National Trust X English Heritage amongst many other places X it was incredibly memorable X

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beds
Liked least: The lack of time we had there
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. I will pass on your praise to the rest of the team involved in maintaining our high standards. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Carol
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lottie871
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“cleverly marketed, not for us.”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The house is very modern and well equipped. The meet and greet service was good, the scones on arrival and the text from Carol half way through the holiday was a nice touch. Being only a short walk from the beach was a definite plus.

The location for us was not great. This was probably our fault for not researching but being in the middle of an estate with Pontin's a stones throw away was not ideal. However it was quiet.

We found storage an issue on the whole house. The main bedroom was seriously lacking a chest of drawers or similar. The kitchen, while well equipped meant that every cupboard was full leaving no space to put away a week's worth of Sainsbury's shopping.

The zip link beds, while useful for offering either twins or doubles, was great for the children's room, however felt this was unnecessary in the master bedroom, The zip down the centre was uncomfortable, probably ok if you don't like your other half but it left us wishing for our bed at home!!

We have stayed in a lot of holiday cottages all over the country. For the price we felt this was not as luxurious or spacious as many others we have stayed in.

Not a bad holiday cottage but very cleverly marketed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: near the beach
Liked least: location
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2015
We are pleased you enjoyed your holiday in Camber and felt you received excellent service from us. I will pass your positive feedback onto Jamie who welcomed you on arrival. The quiet location of The Salty Dog, only a few minutes walk from such a wonderful beach, is appreciated by many of our guests. However, we appreciate this sort of development, surrounded as it is by SSSI land, does not suit everybody and that is why we encourage anyone booking a holiday to look at the photos on our website, read the information provided and look at the inset interactive Google map which shows clearly the location and has the option of being enlarged.

We are pleased you found the house to be well equipped. We have given a lot of thought about the sort of families and groups who use the house and listened to feedback from our guests and equipped the house accordingly. Of course, in doing so, it is inevitable that some of the equipment provided is a must have for some guests, but an unnecessary space filler for others. However, we do always leave two kitchen cupboards empty for guests’ use and there is, of course, the large fridge/ freezer for perishable goods.

All the bedrooms at The Salty Dog have hotel quality zip link beds. This gives us the flexibility to be able to provide comfortable sleeping arrangements for different groups; families, groups of friends, hen and stag groups, business trips etc. We have deliberately kept the furniture in the master bedroom to the fitted wardrobe with four drawer unit within and a butlers tray table to enable us to have the flexibility to accommodate a travel cot as well without the room feeling cramped. This has been very much appreciate by families with young children.

The high standards we have achieved in furnishing and equipping our cottages and in the service we provide to guests has enabled The Salty Dog and our other cottage in Camber to achieve and year on year retain a 4 Star Gold Award from Enjoy England. Incidentally ours are the only cottages in Camber to achieve such a 4 Star Gold standard.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing