We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great stay for all the family”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The beach is just a few minutes walk from The Salty Dog.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
The beach is just a few minutes walk from The Salty Dog.
We welcome all our guests with a welcome tray including fresh scones and homemade jam
The Romney Hythe and Dymchurch Railway is one of many possibilities for a lovely family day out.
Church Square in Rye, 3 miles away, is an interesting place to explore.
Mermaid Street in Rye, one of the prettiest streets in the UK.
Bodiam Castle owned by the National Trust is just 30 minutes drive away.
Rye, just 3 miles away, has many ancient buildings and is a joy to explore.
Derek Jarman's garden at Dungeness, a fascinating place.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jox66
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great stay for all the family”
Reviewed 18 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012

We immediately felt at home in this clean, comfortable and well-equipped house. Although it is dog-friendly, there was no trace of previous doggy guests - no doggy odour or dog hair, the place was spotlessly clean throughout and well maintained to a high standard. The beds were very comfortable (I would say the main bed had a medium to firm mattress) with fresh clean white bed linen. The house is nicely designed to give a feeling of light and space, It is a short walk to both the friendly Green Owl pub and also The Gallivant Hotel if you wish to eat out, and it is about 8 mins walk to the nearest shop. Cups, glasses, plates etc were all modern and in good condition and there was a thoughtful welcome tray waiting upon our arrival. It really does feel like a home away from home and we will definitely return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of cleanliness and the homemade jam on arrival
Liked least: The washing machine was rather loud
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2012
We are pleased you enjoyed your short break at The Salty Dog. We pride ourselves on being dog-friendly but not "doggy"! We do charge a £20 supplement per stay to guests who bring dogs, which we use to pay for extra cleaning time, ensuring the cottage is bright and fresh for our next guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg/Germany
Reviewed 11 February 2012 for a stay in January 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Feb 2012
We are pleased you and your family enjoy staying in our holiday home at Camber Sands. We are looking forward to welcoming you and your dogs back again later in the year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Canterbury
Reviewed 26 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Jan 2012
So pleased you enjoyed your stay. Camber Sands is just fantastic for dog walks, our own dog loves it!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
England
Reviewed 6 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Oct 2011
I'm so pleased that you and your four-legged friends enjoyed your stay at The Salty Dog, you certainly had excellent weather.

Dogs love the beach at Camber Sands, in fact we think it’s the best beach in the world, but then we are probably biased. There are miles of open sandy beach and dunes at Camber Sands which dogs just love to explore.

Dogs are allowed on the beach all year round. Between 1st May and 30th September certain restrictions apply and dogs are not permitted on the central section of beach. However, the beach is so vast that even during this period there is still ample space to enjoy the freedom of being off the lead, in the sea, on the beach and in the dunes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
OXFORD
Reviewed 15 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing