We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Family Break”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Simonti20...
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent Family Break”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This is a great place for a family holiday. Very well located as a base to see many historical sites around the area eg. Bodium Castle, Rye, Walmer Castle, Dove Castle, Hastings, etc.
Kids loved the farm animals, especially the cats. We loved the beach being so close to the farm even though it was a little to cold in for a swim in April. Michelle made our stay very relaxed, always stopping for a chat. Gardens were beautiful with plenty of room to kick a ball. Small medieval town of Rye is a very interesting place to visit.
All in all great holiday just what our family needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gardens and animals
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2016
Hi Simon
It was lovely meeting you and your family, I hope you enjoyed the rest of your UK trip and had a good journey home. Thank you for your kind words. We now have 8 baby lambs as additions to our small flock! Bill and Tom the farm cats are certainly an attraction!!
All the best
Michelle, Paul and family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J G
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great host, loveley place”
Reviewed 8 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

After refusing to stay in our pre booked accommodation at 5 o clock in the afternoon we found the listing for Poundfield Cottages in the Rye information booklet. We would not normally look at anything that accepts dogs but at that time of day on a Bank Holiday we felt that we could not be choosy. On ringing the owner Michelle informed us that she had a vacancy but as she had not ha d a booking the cottage had not been cleaned but she would do that immediately to accommodate us. On arrival we were pleasantly surprised as the cottage was very clean with no trace that dogs are accepted. Throughout our stay Michelle was very pleasant and helpful and we are very grateful to her for cleaning the cottage at such short notice. The cottages are situated down a short lane and are very peaceful away from the bustle of Camber but still within easy walking distance of it. It is also only a few minutes’ walk to the lovely Camber Sands. Although it was stressful at the time in hindsight we are glad that we did not stay in our first accommodation because even if they had been clean Poundfield Cottages were far superior both in the accommodation and the surrounding area. We would not hesitate to return next time we should want accommodation in the area again.
Once again thank you Michelle.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quietness and the host
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2016
Ah
Thank you so much for a wonderful review. You are very welcome back any time, perfect guests, I'm glad the trip wasn't ruined but your first experience. It was lovely meeting you both! Enjoy the rest of your holidays planned for 2016! Don't forget to tell your friends and family about us, tell them to like us on face book for pictures of the beach, surrounding areas and animals and special offers. All the best Michelle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsJam37
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 7 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We have just returned from a week’s stay at this lovely little cottage. On arrival the owners, Michelle, Paul and their family made us feel very welcome.

The cottage is clean, tidy and very well equipped and offers everything you would need for a holiday. It also has a lovely garden area.

The highlight of this holiday for my family were the gorgeous little lambs, Todd and Charlie, that both my daughter and son helped to feed. We don’t have any pets of our own, so my son and daughter loved playing with the friendly cats and the dogs. There are also donkeys, guinea pigs, and chickens on the farm. We even bought fresh eggs to have with our breakfast.

Another bonus for us was having the lovely beach just a short 5 -10 minute walk away. We also cycled into Rye, which was along a nice off the road cycle path.

We don’t normal go back to the same places on holiday and if we do its definitely not in the same year, but we loved this place so much that we have booked to go back for another week in a few months time.

I would highly recommend this place. In the words of my daughter and son ‘I love I, I love, it I love it’

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We were made to feel very welcome
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2016
Ah, thanks so much. We loved having you here and can't wait to welcome you all back in the summer! I'm sure the animals will be pleased to see Lily and Ben! Thanks again Michelle and family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ninkynood...
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous dog friendly cottage within easy walking distance of Camber Sands beach”
Reviewed 28 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Just spent the Easter weekend at this lovely little cottage. It is clean, fresh and tastefully decorated with beach related touches throughout. The gardens are absolutely beautiful and a great place to do an Easter egg hunt! We had a warm welcome and a little tour of the farm on arrival and Michelle was on hand when we wanted to buy some fresh farm eggs and Paul was on hand when we couldn't work the shower! A really comfortable stay and I could have happily stayed for longer. The beach is only 5 -10 minutes away and it is great for dog walking and getting some sea air into your lungs. I hope to come back for some more weekends away in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pretty cottage on a farm but in walking distance of the beach
Liked least: The pizza from Rye Grill ;-)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2016
Thank you Nina and family, we are glad you had a lovely break and hurricane Katie didn't ruin it. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. You just missed our new arrival - a one day old lamb arrived today a mate for Todd, video on FB.
Many thanks
Michelle
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab find”
Reviewed 9 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Absolutely loved this place, clean with everything you could need to have a lovely stay.
Just a short walk to the beach with donkeys, sheep and chickens on the farm
Would highly recommend this place, looking forward to our next visit

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2016
Hi
Thank you for your kind words, we would love to welcome you back.
Best wishes
Michelle and family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 111
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing