We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay in a fabulous cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Half Moon Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sooky65
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in a fabulous cottage”
Reviewed 17 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

What a superb stay at Half Moon Cottage! My boyfriend, dog & I stayed here for 5 days and we really didn't want to go home!
The house was a tastefully, well equipped home from home with 3 bedrooms, a separate bathroom, an ensuite shower room, a lovely living room and an excellent kitchen that opened out onto a wonderful, secure, pebbled back garden.
All our creature comforts were cattered for throughout the house to a very high standard... fluffy towels, comfy beds, nespresso machine, big fridge/freezer, plenty of useful crockery & pots & pans should you wish to cook, a hair drier & straighteners, an excellent book collection and even a big BBQ with a charcoal supply.
We had superb weather and the garden which was a sun trap had a large table, hammock, gas BBQ & fire pit. The fencing was also extremely secure so we didn't worry that our dog would get out. However if the weather wasn't good there is a large TV with DVD player and there is wifi internet access.
The house is perfectly located being 5 minutes walk to the beach and a mere 10 minute drive to Rye where there are loads of fun shops and great places to eat - many of which welcome dogs too.
I highly recommend Half Moon Cottage and can't wait for another visit!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Tasteful well equipped property & extremely convenient location
Liked least: V minor but the double bed was a bit small but thats only because we have an enormous bed at home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2016
Thank you very much for the amazing review! We are really pleased you had a wonderful holiday and made the most of the the garden.
See you back again soon!
Richard & Sophie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimbantin...
Albourne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic place close to a fantastic beach”
Reviewed 17 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

A lovely property and just a few minutes walk from the beach. It is in a quiet drive and has a secluded garden with BBQ. The kitchen is well stocked and bedrooms a nice size. It has a great feel throughout and our dog (like us) did not want to come home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2016
Thank you for the review of your stay, hopefully we will see you back again soon.

Richard & Sophie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthea P
1 review
“Excellent place to stay! ”
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Absolutely loved this house, well equipped, well presented and nice and cosy. We had a fabulous week although weather let us down a bit but didn't stop us enjoying our time here.
Lovely welcome pack when we arrived, we had to go to the farm shop to buy more of the apple juice, it's the best we've ever tasted!
The beach at Camber Sands is outstanding, so beautiful. The surrounding areas are quite interesting with the strange eeriness of Dungeoness, The Pilot Inn at Dungeoness does the most amazing fish and chips!
Would definitely recommend a stay and will be returning in the near future.
Thank you for having us

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2016
Thank you very much for the fab review! We are really pleased you loved the house and the area - will stock up on apple juice for your next return!
Richard & Sophie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
138susie
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Half Moon Cottage - the Perfect Holiday Escape!”
Reviewed 14 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Half Moon Cottage is a stunning little home superbly located for lazy days on the vast sandy beach nearby. We have had the most amazing time staying there!
The cottage and garden is so pretty and abundant in comforts but also really practical! Every detail has been thought of to make your stay easy and relaxed. From a pit fire to roast marshmallows to a low swinging hammock to daydream on, sumptuous duvets and throws, a full book case of holiday reads, and a well-equipped BBQ and kitchen!!
The beautiful Camber Sands are a 5 minute walk away, whilst the local town, Rye, has the most amazing food offerings - we followed nearly all of Richard's and Sophie's recommendations and they were spot on every time! We had a delicious scallop lunch at The Standard, the cleanest & tastiest fish and chips at Marino's, crisp English wine at Chapel Down Winery and very sweet hot chocolates at Knoops! Another great place is Rye Bay Fish, who have the freshest and tastiest fish on sale every day - and are really friendly and helpful!
On arrival there was a lovely welcome pack, and Richard and Sophie were on hand whenever we had questions or queries. We came away feeling really refreshed - and are looking forward to when we can visit again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
Thank you very much for this amazing review of your stay with us at Half Moon. We are really pleased you loved the cottage and the surrounding area. Rye really is a fantastic foodie town and we are also very lucky to have some of the countries top vineyards nearby. Hope to see you back again soon.
Richard & Sophie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage - so handy for the beach”
Reviewed 14 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fabulous time at Half Moon Cottage. What a lovely place, comfy, welcoming and beautifully appointed. The cottage is a only a few minutes walk from the fantastic camber beaches. And it's a short trip into Rye where we sampled some delicious local scallops & found some very welcoming hostelries. We certainly hope to return as soon as possible!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Mar 2016
Thank you for the lovely review of your stay at Half Moon. We look forward to your return soon.
Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing