We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Memories made”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Castaway

Enjoy Your Stay...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoy Your Stay...
Dunes... Decked sitting area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
Enjoy Your Stay...
Dunes...
Decked sitting area
Lounge
Everyone will Welcome you!
Modern kitchen
Time to cook!
Dinner time...
Sofa corner
Double bed
Chest
Twin bedroom with view over pond
Teddy!
Family bathroom
Back to Nature
Castaway
Outside the Cottage
The Dunes
Child Friendly Beach
To the Beach
Beautiful Dunes
Relax in Camber
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
keith j
2 reviews
“Clean and well presented but no WOW factor”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The property was clean and comfortable and decorated to a high standard. The beach is a 7-10min walk away. 3mins in the car but you are charged for using the car park. The one thing that the property desperately needs is a serving hatch between the kitchen and lounge to prevent being isolated in the kitchen when cooking etc. The rear garden is functional for sitting out but is an enclosed, easy maintenance, practical space with no frills or view to speak of. However the properties limitations and location were reflected in the price we paid.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele R
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disapointing”
Reviewed 26 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Nice little cottage, fantastic location, clean. However, instructions explained that the shower screen was complicated to use. So we didn't use it. We also noticed there was a stain on the kitchen ceiling when we arrived which we noticed while putting things away in the fridge - and after departure, we were accused of creating the stain by flooding the bathroom. We were then charged £75 by the agent despite explaining it was there on arrival and the fact that we never even used the shower, only the bath. It would seem there is no way of getting our money back. I think this is shocking and would advise people to be careful if renting this porpery.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather R
2 reviews
“Memories made”
Reviewed 7 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Lovely cozy but spacious house perfect for myself and two children. Felt like home. Boys had a great time playing in the sand dunes and on the beach and was fantastic to be able to walk to them. Looking forward to returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2016
I am so pleased to hear that you had the stay you very much deserved. You are always welcome back with your boys for more memories.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Patri...
1 review
“Sand castles, sunshine and smiles”
Reviewed 28 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Welcome bottle of wine, long life milk, tea and coffee was a surprise. Accommodation spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished.
We had a lovely time and hope to go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Rubbish disposal
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom F
1 review
“Fantastic stay, highly recommended”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

A wonderful couple of nights earlier this month. House great, location excellent and very good service going the extra mile to help as we had a small child in our party. We hope to return!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing