We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb five star accommodation in perfect...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large outside deck area. Push back the patio doors and bring the outside inside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Large outside deck area. Push back the patio doors and bring the outside inside
We now have chairs!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Camber, Rye, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
trav_uk
London, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb five star accommodation in perfect location with lovely garden for our dog”
Reviewed 4 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This beautifully appointed house has everything you could need and more to enjoy a lovely holiday. The bi-folding doors allow you to open up the living area to alfresco dining and to relax on the sunbeds both great if you have kids or pets with you. With a 200m walk along the pathway to the beach its is in a great location as well. A very well setup holiday let with a lovely welcome pack and great communications from the owner.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pollieb14
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“SWEET COSY LITTLE WOODEN HOUSE”
Reviewed 8 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Owlers Retreat.
We spent a week here in late June and had a good holiday. It is a very comfortable, beautifully decorated, well equipped house. Unfortunately we did not have good weather so never opened the doors onto the decking area or use the garden furniture out there, the garden is well fenced so safe for little dogs. The beach is wonderful and the surrounding area very interesting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable bed!
Liked least: Weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2016
Many thanks Pamela. Very nice meeting you and Max, all the best.
Dominic
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha...
2 reviews
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 6 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

In June i booked a last minute 4 night getaway for my fiances birthday for myself, him and our miniature dachshund. From the start Dom was very helpful in sorting out our last minute booking and gave me plenty of advice of dog friendly pubs etc in the immediate vicinity. On arrival the house was exactly as we expected, maybe even better. It was very comfortable and beautiful decorated having been recently renovated and was so close to the beach! Dom had kindly left us some bread, milk and marge in the fridge along with a bottle of prosecco to toast my partners birthday which was a lovely touch. The food was most appreciated as the nearest supermarket is MILES away, so do make sure you bring some food with you if you plan on self catering as we found out the hard way and had to drive almost as far as Hastings to go to a Sainsbury's (there are a couple of small convenience stores within walking distance should you just need incidentals).

Within hours of being in the house both my partner and I felt strangely at home and felt like we had moved in, it makes for a very well thought out holiday home to get this feeling so quickly.
The master bed is very comfortable, the water pressure makes for an enjoyable shower and the house is warm without being stuffy. The heating is NEST controlled (which we have at home) and is very easy to use should you want to put the heating on for a quick blast.
Sadly the weather wasn't brilliant when we visited but we did have a walk on the beach everyday and played lots of the provided boardgames and watched Netflix. The wifi is relatively fast so i was able to keep on top of any work i needed to do. Its also very quiet, we hardly heard anyone and was able to get a a good nights sleep and relax, which was the aim of our trip.
The garden is lovely as well although we didn't get to enjoy it as much as we would have liked, it is enclosed so is suitable for dogs, however our miniature dachshund could fit under the fence and the gate, so do bear that in mind if you have a small dog! It just meant Monty couldn't be left in the garden unattended.

We would absolutely stay again and are already looking forward to our next trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location and proximity to the beach and the overall comfort of the house
Liked least: lack of cleaning supplies, surface spray etc for cleaning up after cooking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2016
Hi Sam

Many thanks for your review, very kind, glad you had a nice time.

Since your visit, we have fitted a guard to the bottom of the gate to stop small dogs. We had the same problem as you - our dog kept on visiting the neighbours. So fingers crossed it is now fully escape proof.

All the best, thanks again

Dominic
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrPMG
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, tidy, bright and well appointed.”
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We loved our stay at Owlers retreat. Very well appointed and designed to maximise light and outside space. Perfect for a getaway stay, a pebbles throw from the beach. Loved sitting on the deck in the evening listening to the sea.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2016
Thanks so much for your kind words and for being such excellent guests. Hope to see you again sometime.
Thanks
Dominic & Anabel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing