We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing holiday with the kids and friends”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Thiviers, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

emilyused...
Rothwell, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing holiday with the kids and friends”
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed at Gite Le Maine d'Autanna for a week in August this year with our two boys 7 & 5. Our friends stayed in the other Gite - Le Ferme.

The Gite has everything you need, beds are comfy, and the linen is gorgeous! It has two toilets (great when you have kids). There is a bath with a shower over in one bathroom and a shower in the other. There is a dishwasher and a washing machine, great!! It was spotless when we arrived, fresh and clean.

The gite is set in a beautiful area, secluded, peaceful and relaxing and we were surrounded by corn fields when we were there, beautiful. The boys had a brilliant time exploring around the gites grounds and there was loads of room to set up football goals, badminton nets and swing ball.

The swimming pool was a great hit with the kids and was the perfect way to cool down on a hot afternoon.

There is loads to do in the surrounding area, with gorgeous French villages nearby to visit for markets and shopping. We went canoeing in Brantome, which Paul organised for us, which was brilliant and also on the Velo rail in Corgnac, again brilliant fun. The chateau at Haute Forte was beautiful, with plenty of grounds for the boys to run around in and picnic in the cool trees.

Paul and Maria (the owners who live there) and their family were really welcoming, the boys loved their son (14), the dogs and the cat, Gerrard. We were lucky enough to be treated to their beautiful daughter singing opera, what a way to finish the holiday.

We would highly recommend a trip to this area and definitely to this Gite, all very lovely.

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2017
Thank you so much for your kind words and enthusiasm. It was an absolute pleasure to host you, your family and friends.
We wish you a very merry christmas and a happy new year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick B
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superbly renovated and beautifully furnished farmhouse, warm and friendly hosts”
Reviewed 22 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We've just returned from a fortnight in the beautiful and spacious La Ferme gite. It is furnished and equipped to a very high standard and was spotlessly clean. Maria and family are generous and entertaining hosts who genuinely welcomed us into their home and really went out of the their way to make our stay special despite the disappointing weather. Attractive and extensive gardens with private patio area and nice clean pool. Quiet location near to plenty of lovely towns and villages (Brantome, Perigueux, Excideuil) but you will need a car to get around. Nearest baker / shop about 1.5 miles but a fine walk on a sunny morning. Nearest decent supermarket (Excideuil) about 10 miles away. Would wholeheartedly recommend.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2017
It was an absolute pleasure having you here! It is a shame the weather was a bit moody during your stay specially since it's been so wonderful the last two weeks. I hope that life puts us on the same path again so we can share lovely familiar moments. All the best to your family and thank you for appreciating "La Ferme" and leaving it spotless on your departure. Truly, MJ
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rinoceros...
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful and quiet place”
Reviewed 30 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed here with our baby for one week in July and very much enjoyed our stay. We recommend this place without hesitation!

The gite is very beautiful furnished and the garden and poolside area are gorgeous. All very well maintained. We enjoyed having bbq's and relaxing in the garden. The view from the gite over the area is stunning.
Also enjoyed running in the area and the gite is well located, close to beautiful cities as saint-jean-de-cole and Perigueux. The owners will be very happy to give you tips on what to see and visit in the area.

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2017
Thank you for your review! It was a pleasure hosting you and your young family. I hope to see you again in the future !!!!!! All the best in your goals, MJ
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulkesse...
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
“A great place to have relaxing vacation”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a wonderful time at the B&B at Gite le Maine d'Autana. Great new room, relaxing shower and bed. Especially the quietness at night was very welcome. Furthermore the garden is lovely and the breakfast was superb.

Date of stay: August 2016
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
Thank you Paul! It was a pleasure meeting you two. All the best and hope to see you again this way. MJ
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna H
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The most beautiful setting”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Thank you for an amazing holiday at le Maine d'autana! The gite is absolutely stunning and had everything we could possibly need. This was our first holiday travelling with our new baby and host Maria had thought of everything. The setting is beautiful with a gorgeous swimming pool and views across the dordogne. The gardens are meticulously maintained and were a perfect place to relax. Thank you especially to Maria and Paul for making us feel so welcome and going out of their way to help us with everything we needed. We can't wait to return! Definitely recommended for a romantic peaceful getaway or holiday with young family!

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for your review! It encourages us to want to become better every day! It was a pleasure hosting you and your lovely family. Thank you again for your generous and kind words!!! Maria J.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
USDUSD
Australia
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.