We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful and quiet place”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Thiviers, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Rinoceros...
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful and quiet place”
Reviewed 30 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed here with our baby for one week in July and very much enjoyed our stay. We recommend this place without hesitation!

The gite is very beautiful furnished and the garden and poolside area are gorgeous. All very well maintained. We enjoyed having bbq's and relaxing in the garden. The view from the gite over the area is stunning.
Also enjoyed running in the area and the gite is well located, close to beautiful cities as saint-jean-de-cole and Perigueux. The owners will be very happy to give you tips on what to see and visit in the area.

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2017
Thank you for your review! It was a pleasure hosting you and your young family. I hope to see you again in the future !!!!!! All the best in your goals, MJ
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulkesse...
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
“A great place to have relaxing vacation”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a wonderful time at the B&B at Gite le Maine d'Autana. Great new room, relaxing shower and bed. Especially the quietness at night was very welcome. Furthermore the garden is lovely and the breakfast was superb.

Date of stay: August 2016
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
Thank you Paul! It was a pleasure meeting you two. All the best and hope to see you again this way. MJ
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna H
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The most beautiful setting”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Thank you for an amazing holiday at le Maine d'autana! The gite is absolutely stunning and had everything we could possibly need. This was our first holiday travelling with our new baby and host Maria had thought of everything. The setting is beautiful with a gorgeous swimming pool and views across the dordogne. The gardens are meticulously maintained and were a perfect place to relax. Thank you especially to Maria and Paul for making us feel so welcome and going out of their way to help us with everything we needed. We can't wait to return! Definitely recommended for a romantic peaceful getaway or holiday with young family!

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for your review! It encourages us to want to become better every day! It was a pleasure hosting you and your lovely family. Thank you again for your generous and kind words!!! Maria J.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilters12...
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect place and a perfect base”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We have just returned from a wonderful week spent at this property. The owners, Maria and Paul (who are S. American and English, so therefore no language barriers) could not have made our stay more welcoming. Our son, aged 5 and daughter, aged 11, absolutely loved the pool and our son particularly loved helping Maria to shower the ducks and pick tomatoes from the beautiful gardens.
The accommodation itself is perfect for a small family with a modern kitchen/living area (including British satellite TV - a bonus for the children!), high-spec bathrooms and comfortable bedrooms, with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in (I wanted to bring it home!)
Outside there is a lovely terrace which doors from each bedroom and the lounge area lead onto, with patio furniture and a BBQ at your disposal. There is also a swing/slide in the garden and lots of space to run around!
The location is good too - nice and quiet - though you do need a car as it is a rural spot. The town of Thiviers is just a few km away as is the pretty town of Excideuil.
Attractions - whilst there we visited the gorgeous bathing lake, just a few minutes drive away, the velorail at Corgnac sur L'Isle, Chateau Hautefort and Brantome.
Further afield we visited the very moving war memorial of Oradour sur Glane and the city of Angouleme.
All in all it was a fantastic week and I would definitely recommend this as a great place to stay.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2015
I am overwhelmed with happiness after reading your review!!!!!!!!!! It proves that the passion and love that is put into our Gite Le Maine d'Autana is reached by people like you that choose to stay here! I found particularly moving the fact that you loved the bed as it was made by my great uncle in Caracas, Venezuela and he gave it as wedding gift to my great grand parents in 1875.
It was a total pleasure to meet you and your wonderful children. Thank you for helping me in the potager!
Do come back, there's lots more to see! You still haven't been canoeing on the Dordogne river near Castelneau with the magnificent views of the many neighbouring Chateau. ! I will give you a discount for sure as one of our prized and dear customers. Thank you so much, MJ.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samaori
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation in a beatiful setting”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have just returned home after staying at the Gite for one week.
Everything was perfect. Lovely setting and beautiful weather.
Maria had provided everything we needed in the Gite and all the family made us feel so welcome.
We would love to return for another visit. There are many places still to visit, but one of our favourites was Brantome.
Thank you for all your kindness Maria ,Paul, Sofia and Daniel

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and friendliness
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for your kind review!! It was also a pleasure having you and your family here and we do hope to see you again soon! Kith kindest regards, MJ
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
USDUSD
Australia
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.