We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely and peaceful and well-equiped”
other travellers have booked this property
The light and airy lounge.  Tastefully decorated to give you that holiday feel.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The light and airy lounge.  Tastefully decorated to give you that holiday feel.
The kitchen is fully equipped. We hope we've thought of everything!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
The light and airy lounge.  Tastefully decorated to give you that holiday feel.
The kitchen is fully equipped. We hope we've thought of everything!
Double bedroom, with wardrobe and chest of drawers.
Twin bedroom, with wardrobe and chest of drawers.
Summerleaze Beach at sunset.
Summerleaze Beach - Lets go surfing...
Fun in the sun!  Our girls and their little cousin.
Penstowe Manor Sports and Leisure Complex.
Crooklets Beach - Home made art!
The view down to Sandymouth from the coastal path.
Beautiful Sandymouth.
Wild flowers growing on the cliffs.
Port Isaac (Home of Doc Martin)
Boscastle
Tintagel
Kevin and his brother prepare a BBQ for our families on Summerleaze Beach, Bude.
Stunning, rugged scenery at Hartland, just over the boarder into Devon.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kilkhampton, Bude, Bude-Stratton, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Timmy-Dom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely and peaceful and well-equiped”
Reviewed 27 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A lovely, clean chalet with well-equipped kitchen. An extremely peaceful area. It did, however, state that a DVD was included and there was not - the purpose of my trip was for research, having taken along DVDs but luckily had laptop. Although I'm sure most people would be there for a holiday it may not be important. Other than that, was wonderful service from the owners and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2015
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time in our holiday bungalow but are sorry that you were unable to locate the DVD player which is incorporated within the TV itself, to the side of the screen. Kindest regards, Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally-ann...
Egham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Bungalow, everything we needed at a fair price”
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

lovely bungalow, was like home from home, everything we needed, bed very comfy, had a good nights sleep. Location exellent for getting around. not suitable for anyone with bad legs, its a bit of a climb, to gain access to Bungalow. Car park is just down from bungalow, liked it as was able to see our car. Quite near to club house, not far to walk. nice quiet area. also laundrett is just a short walk away, very handy for wet towels after a day at the beach. plus deposit was returned within 5 days after holiday very impressed

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice comfy spacious bungalow lots of space for all our stuff etc.
Liked least: that it was a bit of a climb to get up to bungalow, stone steps and a grass slope
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scarymary...
Bury
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Retreat!”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

After reading the mixed reviews on Trip Advisor we decided we would visit Penstowe with an open mind. We booked our chalet, no; 7 The Drive, through the 'Owners Direct' website. We were extremely pleased with our chalet, very clean on arrival, easy to follow directions and clear key instructions. The chalet was decorated to a high standard and we loved the 'beach hut' touches!
A few people have commented that the Manor was old, dated and needed updating...... I don't agree. We thought the Manor was beautiful, a real chunk of good old fashioned history. The fact that you had to ring the bell on arrival at reception to get attention (as the receptionist, also doubled up as barmaid!) made me smile and I felt like I was in a Faulty Towers sketch, to be honest this added to the charm.
We only sampled the evening entertainment once, yes a little cheesy, but the younger children seemed to love 'George the Dragon' and lets face it if you want full on 'cheesy shows' and amusement arcades where parents permanently have their hands in their pockets, you'd book into the Haven Caravan park next door!
On site, but privately owned is 'The Stables' great hospitality, great food and entertainment twice per week. You can also use their outdoor pool free 10-6. They also have a couple of pool tables, jukebox (limited tunes, but who cares?!) and table football.
We were lucky enough to Meet our chalet owners, who went above and beyond to make our stay special, even loaning their own body boards for our girls to use. We also met the new Manager of Penstowe and his wife, who will be officially taking over on the 1st August. We think Penstowe is a real gem and will definitely return!
We were very fortunate to have the sun shining for most of the week, so got to visit some beautiful places. Port Isaac, home of Doc Martin, approx 45 mins drive. Top tip, park in top car park and walk into centre (approx 10 min walk) and don't pay for full day, 2-3 hours plenty @ £3. Tintagel, alleged home to King Arthur, approx 30 mins drive. Family ticket £16, Launceston Castle, approx 40 mins drive. Fantastic beaches at Bude (10 mins drive) and our favourite Sandymouth (5 mins drive) where our eldest daughter had a surf lesson £29 for hour and half inc. wetsuit and board. Kilkhampton approx 10-15 mins walk - had a fantastic meal at the 'New Inn'
Extra special thanks to Jane, Kevin, Amelia and Beth. Good luck Simon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location/setting
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsB321
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Value for money & great base to explore North Cornwall”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 for a stay in September 2013

The chalet was great value for money, compact but clean and had all the essentials needed for a comfortable week away. The site was clean and facilities in the main house appeared to be good however we didn't utilise them as we only used the chalet as a base for exploring north cornwall. It could at times be misty in the morning and at night but didn't affect us in anyway.
We would recommend visiting Clovelly, Padstow, Port Issac (The Mote Seafood Restaurant & Bar highly recommended).
Locally, Widemouth beach was our favourite and for a lovely walk the Tamar Lakes were nice. We also had a lovely meal at London Inn, kilkhampton. Would definately recommend for a lost cost holiday break. x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy accommodation
Liked least: Unable to park car directly outside the chalet although car park only a very short walk away.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferncox
Wells, Somerset
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely chalet, home from home”
Reviewed 26 November 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed for 5 days in lovely sunny August! The chalet is set up a hill away from the road so very peaceful. There are several steps up to the chalet and several more to gain access into the chalet so could be difficult if you have mobility problems. There is a small patio area with table and chair which catches the early evening sun. Gaining access to the property on the first day was easy as the key was left in a padlocked box outside the chalet. Once inside everything was clean and tidy with everything you could ask for, a real homely feel with lovely comfortable sofas. The chalet has a double and twin bedded room so perfect for a family of four. There is a lovely large shower in the bathroom.
The facilities on site were good; there was a small shop with limited open hours which we did not use so not sure what they stocked; the indoor swimming pool was lovely, as was the outdoor one although we did not use that one. You had to pay to use the pools, you could purchase week passes which worked out cheaper than paying every time. We only went to the evening entertainment once. It was so bad it was quite entertaining! They did explain that someone was ill so I think they cobbled together something. The evening meals in the minor were lovely although if you stayed and ate every night you would soon exhaust the limited menu. The staff at reception were helpful and noted our issue (there was a wasps nest in the lawn outside e chalet) , however nothing was done and my son was stung on our last morning! The chalet is perfectly situated for exploring the North Devon/Cornwall Coast line being close to so many lovely beaches. The children have told everyone we went swimming on 5 different beaches plus the other two we went to when the wether was not quite warm enough to go in the sea! Would thoroughly recommend this chalet for anyone looking for a homely place to stay.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing