We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location”
The Grade II listed Lakeside House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Grade II listed Lakeside House
The stunning, stylish living room, with log burner Plenty of comfortable seating for guests
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
The Grade II listed Lakeside House
The stunning, stylish living room, with log burner
Plenty of comfortable seating for guests
The house is beautifully furnished throughout
A great space for relaxing with friends or family
The fabulous master bedroom, on the ground floor
Contains a king size bed and lovely furnishings
Looking into the ensuite bathroom...
The ensuite bathroom contains a walk-in shower, toilet and double wash basin...
...and a large bath tub!
The spacious, well presented kitchen
Ideal for home cooking!
The sociable kitchen space adjoins the large dining area
The wooden dining table comfortably seats ten adults
Ground floor cloakroom
Bedroom 2, on the ground floor, is a lovely twin room
French doors lead out from the bedroom into the garden
A comfortable and stylish room, which also contains a wash basin
Bedroom 3, on the first floor, with a king size bed and a wash basin
A stylish, dual aspect room
The family bathroom, which contains a bath with overhead shower, toilet and a wash basin
The bathroom has beautiful views of the lake
Bedroom 4, a lovely eaves room, with four single beds
A cosy and stylish bedroom
Lakeside House is a stunning property, located in the heart of the Cotswolds
The lovely garden in front of the house has seating for ten people...
...and stunning views across the lake
Lakeside House is next to a lovely old coaching Inn, with beautiful grounds
A wonderful home from home in the heart of the Cotswolds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Fossebridge, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
camartin2...
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice enough but totally over priced.”
Reviewed 5 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I totally agree with the previous reviewer. I am not one to usually write reviews however we recently stayed at Lakeside Inn and I was disappointed as soon as I walked through the doors. This property is advertised as a Luxury Cottage and whilst in a nice building, roomy and generally clean, it is far from luxury.
The furniture in the living room, specifically the arm chairs were dirty and needed a good wash (I refused to sit in them), the sofa was faux leather and the TV looked like it was from the 80's. The pans in the kitchen were old and dirty, we didn't cook the whole time we were there and the shower in the en-suite was a mere trickle.
I have to say the letting agent did a great job with the photo's! We stay in holiday cottages a lot and as part of our vacation the 4 days before we stayed in the most amazing home in Lyme Regis for the same price, there was absolutely no comparison between the 2. Had this been a fraction of the price I would say it was OK because it was roomy, the Inn was lovely and the grounds of the Inn were great for the kids to play in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jul 2016
""Character Cottages, as a marketing agency, does not look after or maintain any cottages. The following is written by the property manager of Lakeside House. "Firstly, we take all guest feedback seriously and place great importance on any comments made, whether positive or negative.

Lakeside House has recently been decorated throughout and the faux leather sofas to which the guest refers are only a few months old. We accept that whilst the armchairs appear to be dirty they have been recently cleaned with fabric cleaner. Plans are already in place to replace them.
The saucepans are in the process of being replaced.""
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
"Character Cottages, as a marketing agency, does not look after or maintain any cottages. The following is written by the property manager of Lakeside House: "Thank you for your comments. We take all guest feedback seriously and place great importance on any comments made, whether positive or negative.

We have a continuous programme of maintenance and refurbishment and since your stay Lakeside House has been decorated throughout. The furniture in the sitting room has recently been replaced with 2 new large faux leather sofas and 4 tub armchairs.

The bathrooms are programmed to be refurbished in the New Year.""
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
loodles74
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 26 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A group of friends went away for a birthday celebration. We had a fabulous time in the house (and pub)!
Staff in pub were brilliant and house is in perfect location for exploring the local walks.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
balimoon
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 6 November 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We rented Lakeside House as we were hosting a corporate event at Cheltenham. Slightly out of town but easily accessible by taxi. The house is gorgeous, really homely and clean. It accommodated 6 of us easily.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canarycru...
leeds england
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous few days in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Large, roomy accommodation, perhaps in need of a TLC here and there but I am sure that the new management will be addressing this soon.
Very safe setting for youngsters.
Good value meals in the adjoining Inn at Fossebridge.
Very attentive staff.
Good base for visiting some of the Cotswolds' prettiest villages.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquil surroundings
Liked least: Patchy SKY reception( we had some football fanatics in our party)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing