We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (805)
Filter reviews
806 results
Traveller rating
541
133
55
48
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
541
133
55
48
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steak afternoon tea attention to detail garden room scallops four poster bed mini bar groupon voucher country house cooked to perfection food was fantastic roll top bath the main house following morning one night stay evening meal special occasion
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 806 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2018

Food excellent and the owners are fantastic hosts and even put 80th birthday baloons up very discretely. Ben is an excellent chef and a special request for rib of beef was cooked to perfection. Satis House is a super venue and recommend it, the rooms are lovely and a lot of thought and pride has gone into updating them.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 15ces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cara D, Owner at Satis House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Glad to hear that you had a fabulous time. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

Delightful, charming hotel perfect for a romantic get away.
The food was fantastic; every course was delicious and breakfast the next day was a hardy affair.
Our bedroom was lovely and we were looked after by the staff who couldn’t do enough for you.
Definitely be back

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DuncanC1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cara D, Owner at Satis House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Paid £233.00 for Fri / Sat, Standard Room with breakfast. Checked in at 3.20pm with Ben and shown to our room "Peasenhall" and my partner who was not feeling to well decided to have a nap. After about an hour there were sounds of drilling and power tools coming from adjoining room, went to find someone to ask how long we had to endure this noise, could not find anyone and the noise continued on and off till around 6.00pm
Then around 7.30 pm a noise that appeared to come from under the "en Suite" in the what can only be described as a broom cupboard, like someone banging a tin box on and off for about an hour, when angry voices joined in . Again went to try and complain and found a young girl in the bar, who said "she would let them know"
Finally got a call from Ben, "You have to expect noise from the Kitchen....OK, we'll be finished soon (22.00 the arguing finished BTW we heard every word) Came down to Breakfast at 9.00am at 9.15 a young lad appears and took our order as the 1st guests in, we then watched in amazement as the 2nd and 3rd guests had orders taken, got served and had to get his attention as he was about to serve the 4th guest, I eventually got 2 eggs, 1 sausage, 3 mushrooms, 2 bacon and 1 tomato minus advertised Black pudding and gave up on the toast.
On returning from a day out, spotted Ben going into a door mark Private. I knocked the door and spoke to Ben about the possibility of getting another room, he suggested he would speak to the owners but it would incure extra costs. I said forget it and walked off, I then received a call in the room saying they had agreed to move us. I went down to get the key and was told by a very abrupt lady "You booked a standard room, you have to except that there will be noise from the kitchen........I really don't need to do anything". So we got our new room and everything was so much quieter...... till 15 minutes passed Midnight, some woman started shouting hysterically.
Breakfast the next morning was slightly better, served by a very competent lady........got everything but the Black pudding. If you think this review is critical, it could have been a lot worse.

11  Thank LAC1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

A very friendly small hotel. All the staff were very approachable and helpful, anything needed was dealt with straight away.The breakfast and evening meals are excellent. Their food is definetly recommended. Totally loved the garden room for a relaxing and undisturbed stay.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cara D, Owner at Satis House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Thank you for your positive feedback. We love to hear feedback from happy customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

Very friendly management and staff. The waitress was very prompt and attentive in an unobtrusive way. The food was absolutely fantastic - what more could you want! As we only came for a meal I can't comment on the rooms.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank D5396SVkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cara D, Owner at Satis House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

Thank you very much. My staff will be delighted to hear this feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews