We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hard to Beat Retreat”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Brockieside

Brockieside. (Perhaps from the Gaelic Broc which means Badger)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Brockieside. (Perhaps from the Gaelic Broc which means Badger)
Brockieside from across the valley at Dullatur showing Tomtain above. Solid Beech Worktop, Sink and Utensils
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Brockieside. (Perhaps from the Gaelic Broc which means Badger)
Brockieside from across the valley at Dullatur showing Tomtain above.
Solid Beech Worktop, Sink and Utensils
Livingroom/Bedroom.
Living Room/Bedroom Showing fold down settee.
Antique Cast Iron Stove
Wee Waterfall in Colzium Estate.
Tak Ma Doon Road from Brockieside in Winter.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Kilsyth, North Lanarkshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Paul D
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Hard to Beat Retreat”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We spent a wonderful few days here after our wedding. A mini honeymoon.
Peter was courteous and communicative right from the start and the whole booking process made me feel good about my choice to book Brockieside. (not to mention the brilliant reviews!)
On arrival, we were met with chocolates, a bottle of elderflower water (Peter had gleaned from our communications that we were non - drinkers) and lit candles everywhere. There were also Love Heart sweets all over the house and fresh flower petals on the stairs and on our bed. It was lovely, thoughtful and much appreciated by us both.
The 4 days we spent there were idyllic. It's just an amazing experience, all of it - the cottage, the neighbours (Peter, Kim and Heeruh), the surroundings, the ambience - we loved it. So will you. If you're looking for a cottage break away from it all, you really need look no further. Unbeatable value for money too!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellibank
Benalla, Australia
1 review
“An absolute Magic Property with a "Spot On Host"”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

On talking to someone on the phone it is only natural to build an impression of the person to whom your are speaking. Our host Peter certainly lived up to those high expectations and made our stay at Brockieside an absolute privilege. Peter is an excellent communicator with what today could be seen as the old fashion attribute of pride and care for his asset, Brockieside. An unforgettable locationt for a holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The uniqueness of this accommodation
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay D
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Idyllic, peaceful and beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 6 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A most amazing stay for my family- 2 adults and 2 children ( 5 and 3 )
We were pleasantly suprised that the cottage was even nicer in real life than on the internet.
It is simply beautiful with lots of little extra`s that you wouldn`t expect from a self catering property.
The owner Peter is also very friendly and goes out of his way to make your stay a special one.
Location is great for families wanting a central location to many attractions.
Can`t wait for our next stay:-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
22jess220...
England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing stay, shame to leave”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Stayed here with my boyfriend for 3 nights and it was everything we expected and more. Peter and Kim were lovely and incredibly helpful with everything. They had so much knowledge about the surrounding areas and gave us advice on the things we should do whilst we stayed at Brockieside. Little Heerah is a beauty and came to visit us everyday, she really is the star of Brockieside. Everything was spotless and it was just like being at home, we couldn't fault anything. It was an amazing stay and we only wish we could've stayed longer. Thankyou Peter and Kim you made this one of our most memorable weekends so far.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was beautful
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Femi O
Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Real get away”
Reviewed 1 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this cottage. It is a real get away. It was quite and the environment can only be described as natural. Peter (Owner) was on hand to receive us despite arriving late. My children enjoyed seeing chicken and cows at close proximity. My six year old boy helped to pick eggs and got rewarded with two eggs (He is already asking me when are we going back). I personally enjoyed the natural state of the drinking water, it brought back my childhood memories - good stuff. Our stay was brief, but we hope to return for a longer stay in the nearest future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It is quiet
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 98
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing