We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Oakleaf

Oakleaf is a delightful, characterful but modern barn conversion in a peaceful, sylvan setting.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Oakleaf is a delightful, characterful but modern barn conversion in a peaceful, sylvan setting.
The kitchen/diner is superbly equipped, outstandingly spacious and inviting. The stunning sitting room/lounge has oak beams and bags of character. Great to put your feet up!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Oakleaf is a delightful, characterful but modern barn conversion in a peaceful, sylvan setting.
The kitchen/diner is superbly equipped, outstandingly spacious and inviting.
The stunning sitting room/lounge has oak beams and bags of character. Great to put your feet up!
Another view of the huge lounge area which features oak flooring and lovely soft sofas.
There are great views over the 20 acres from all the upstairs windows.
Bedroom one is a very large luxury room that promises a good night's sleep.
The ensuite for bedroom one with roll-top bath, bidet and shower. A real luxury experience!
The large shower has everything you need and bags of room.
Bedroom two is spacious and also has a double bed and ensuite alongside.
The luxury ensuite for bedroom two also has a roomy well-equipped shower.
The spacious downstairs hallway leads to the kitchen/dining, cloakroom, utillity + bedroom 2.
The useful downstairs cloakroom is straight off the hallway.
The very practical utility room is also straight off the hallway.
The feature oak staircase is the height of luxury.
Another view of the long hallway that connects all the rooms on the ground floor.
Oakleaf faces south with restful views over padocks and the surrounding countryside.
With 20 acres to explore you'll find many enticing corners, including this babbling trout strea
There are many rural activities in the area including walking, cycling, fishing and horse riding.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Beaworthy, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ashley B
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The cottage is huge and there is plenty of room. We (as a couple) had this to ourselves for a week and found it enjoyable. The large upstairs lounge with its very comfortable sofas and log burner is a very pleasant space in the evening with a large glass of wine. The kitchen was clean, well equipped and very big too. The large american style fridge freezer is very useful to stock up for the week. Both bedrooms are large bright and spacious. Both have en-suites with great showers and one has a roll top bath. Nick and Sandra and lovely people, very friendly and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. The walls do need a lick of paint as a previous statement has mentioned, but it was not dirty at all. Wi-Fi is an issue unless you are in the lounge. We didn't go here to be connected to the rest of the world though, we wanted a get away from it all holiday. It is remote and Okehampton is really the nearest place to shop with a great Waitrose. We were happy to drive about and saw a lot of Devon from here including Bude, Clovelly and Ilfracombe. Don't go anywhere near Barnstaple at peak times of the day as it is renowned for its bad traffic! We hit it at 530pm and took us 40 mins to get through the town on to Ilfracombe. Exeter Cathedral is well worth a visit and the restaurant opposite it called Cote Brasserie is very highly recommended. To summarise with the walls painted right through this place would have had a 5 from us. The only other point is the bedrooms could desperately do with curtains that block the light as they don't have any lining on them at all and let the light in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: large cottage
Liked least: just needs a freshen up
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2014
We are so glad you had a Great holiday on you first stay with us, it was lovely to meet you both.
We always appreciate feed back and like to act on it where we can.
We wanted to say that the annual redecoration is taking place this week. With old cob building such as Oak leaf it is best to do this when the weather warms up a bit.
Also we have replaced the wireless router that was providing intermittent coverage throughout.
We take on board you comments about thicker curtains and await future guest comments.
Enjoy the rest of 2014 and hope to see you again soon.

Nick and Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 May 2014
It was lovely to see you both again and as a married couple this time. We are so glad you enjoyed your third stay, and we hope to see you again soon.
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, it is much appreciated.

Nick and Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manunut1
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice area and house but unclean and damp. No wifi either!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The views from the garden were gorgeous and the area was great, right next to dartmoor national park. Nick, Sandra and their son were nice and so were their animals. But the house was in desperate need of a clean and a lick of paint. Coffee stains and sticky tables and floors, grubby furniture, rugs and walls. The walls were also covered with mould :( we have a baby and I had to wipe down surfaces and keep him off the floors. Don't really want to clean someone else's house on holiday!!!

Plus the wifi only sometimes worked if you stand in the corner of the living room in front of the TV !!!!! And when u add that to the fact u have no phone signal, u are completely cut off from the world, which some people may like..... I didn't!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2014
We don't understand why you wrote this review after writing in the visitor's book, and I quote
"Amazingly gorgeous house and surroundings. This is Ashton's first holiday! he loves the chickens. Thanks for an amazing week and we will be coming back again soon. Most importantly Ashton had a great time on his first holiday."
In response to your comments we would like to say that we clean the house personally and pride ourselves on the presentation of Oakleaf.
The floors are waxed oak floor boards which are cleaned with a steam mop every week, this can make the bee's wax a little tacky for a while, maybe that is what you felt.
The walls did have signs of mould after you left, this was caused by the heating being turned up to 25 degrees and all the trickle vents being shut. Old cob building need to breath, and heating them up to such temperatures with out letting them breath causes them to sweat. Your actions have caused a knock on effect that we are still dealing with.
Oakleaf has an annual redecoration program, this happens in early June as the warmer weather helps the building cope with the moisture of repainting.
On the bright side, we are glad Ashton enjoyed his first holiday
Nick and Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redhill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazing amount of space inside
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Apr 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your first stay with us and we hope to see you again in the future.
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, it is much appreciated.

Nick and Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Darren256
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Our 4th time staying at Oakleaf”
Reviewed 22 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Another fantastic and relaxing stay at Oakleaf, Katie really happy to see Benson again and hopes he enjoys his throw toy.

Thank you to nick and sandra for the wine and biscuits and both have batteries recharged 100%. Hope to see you again in October 2014 or February 2015. Best Wishes Darren Jane & Katie xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2014
Thanks for choosing to stay at Oakleaf for your 4th time, it was lovely to see you all again.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Benson says thanks for his new toy.

Nick and Sandra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing