We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding holiday accommodation, in a lovely...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Garden House

The Garden House is situated in 18 acres of stunning gardens and woodland. Fancy a row on the lake?
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Garden House is situated in 18 acres of stunning gardens and woodland. Fancy a row on the lake?
The Garden House is a modern barn conversion finished to the highest luxury and eco standards. The kitchen area is exceptionally light and airy, well equipped and a dream to use.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
The Garden House is situated in 18 acres of stunning gardens and woodland. Fancy a row on the lake?
The Garden House is a modern barn conversion finished to the highest luxury and eco standards.
The kitchen area is exceptionally light and airy, well equipped and a dream to use.
With underfloor heating, the lounge area is a great place for up to four people to chill out.
The woodburning stove provides the focal point for cosy winter evenings.
Your private, sun-drenched patio is straight outside the French doors; with parking spaces beyond.
Bedroom 1 has a comfortable super king size double bed which can convert into twin beds if required.
Bedroom 2 also has a very comfortable modern kingsize bed.
Each bedroom has a luxury en-suite shower room with underfloor heating.
Here's the glorious view west over the vegetable garden, as seen from an upstairs window.
The Garden House has private parking for two cars alongside the private patio.
The summer house by the lake. Described by a guest as 'a magical place'.
You're welcome to use the summer house for a meal by the lake, or to relax and read a book.
The planting, landscaping and views are inspirational. Don't forget your camera!
This is the view from the hide, where—if you're lucky—you might observe a busy kingfisher.
A peacock butterfly alights on a flower to sip the nectar.
Under a hot sun, carp bask in the warm water of the lake in the height of summer.
A woodland path wends its way around the lake, here seen in the winter sun.
In autumn, a majestic white stag stands in a field which forms part of the 18 acres.
With 18 acres to explore, every turn holds new vistas and delights.
The woodland path winds along the stream. Keep quiet and you might see deer in the shady glades.
Kerry and John, 2 of our guests, were married locally and used our garden for their wedding photos.
The entrance to Lower Winsford Farm where The Garden House is to be found. Parking is on the left.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Beaworthy, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wendy P
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding holiday accommodation, in a lovely part of Devon”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Thank you Anne & John. We had a wonderful holiday in lovely surroundings, it was so peaceful and relaxing, we can't wait to come back. The accommodation was superb. It made quite a change to arrive with accommodation that fits its description . It was so well equipped with everything , most definitely home from home . I would also like to add that the king size bed was extremely comfortable in the past we have stayed in places that look lovely but falls short when they put in a bed with a very uncomfortable mattress. Thank you Anne for the. Delicious well coming home made cake, much appreciated .
The only negative of our holiday was viisiting the Bickford Arms in Brandis corner (10mins drive). All though the staff were friendly the meal was very bad, so we would recommend trying somewhere else. Hope to see you again. Bryce & Wendy

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very clean accommodation
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2015
Thanks for the excellent review, Bryce; we'll be very pleased to see you again at The Garden House or one of our other cottages.

And thanks for the info about The Bickford Arms. Guests' experiences are always useful for when other guests ask for recommendations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah r
Alton, United Kingdom
1 review
“All we hoped for, and more. The Grounds are as stunning as the house!”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

It is not unusual to arrive at a place, having seen the photos online, and be totally befuddled as to how they managed to make it look so good!! None of that here, it is exactly what it says on the tin. The property has everything, and is so easy to use. The air circulating system ensures that it feels fresh at all times, and the showers are a treat. The delightful homemade blueberry loaf waiting for us on our arrival was a touch!
The grounds are stunning, the garden well loved and it shows. We loved the lake, especially the children. Have already recommended to my sister. John and Anne were very helpful, John especially, when our campervan broke down! All in all a thoroughly enjoyable week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The grounds.
Liked least: Couldn't stay longer..
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2015
We hope to see you all again soon. Thanks for a wonderful review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen G
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ticks every box and more.”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The Garden House was as described and more. We were warmly greeted to the cottage from Anne and John, including fresh flowers and the most divine home made Easter cake.
The house retained it's old traditional charm with lots of modern technology being utilised, Eco friendly living at it's best.
The gardens were beautifully maintained and trips in wellys around the lake were thoroughly enjoyed.
It was an excellent mid location to visit both Devon and Cornwall....the north and south coast of Devon being just over an hours travel each way...our National Trust cards being used at least once a day.
We would highly recommend trips to Lydford Gorge,Finch Foundary,Killerton House and Plymouth where we ate one of our most favourite holiday meals ever at the GlassBlowers Restaurant.
We have already recommended our parents staying at this property.
Must admit the drive way is as described by many others...very bumpy....see it as a proficiency test in the avoidance of potholes....it certainly entertained us every day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: En suite shower rooms were the best we've ever used,teenage daughter was distraught to be leaving hers
Liked least: There is nothing we can't say we disliked
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2015
Thanks for a very nice review, Karen. We're glad you enjoyed it so much and look forward to seeing you all again.

The drive always gets a little bumpy during the winter weather. We'll be filling in the holes again soon in time for the Summer season.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnNotle...
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect property for relaxing with friends and family.”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

A lovely modern barn conversion. Lots of space inside and out. In a beautiful location.
There are lovely walks from the property and a lake to laze away the day, or row the boat if you're feeling energetic.
There is a good local pub only 1 mile away, but the Bickford Arms at Brandis Corner is only a ten minute drive, they have a good varied menu and decent beer.
We enjoyed our week very much, and shall return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The weather
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2014
Thanks very much. We look forward to your return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gnome247
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Top class accommodation”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

we stayed here from the 26th to 29th of April. We thourhly enjoyed our stay, the cottage was beautiful and clean . Also kept to a very high standard , it rained all weekend but we still had a lovely time and felt extra relaxed when we returned, I will definitely be returning as it's the best accommodation I have stayed in yet . John and Anne are lovely people and they just let you get on with whatever you want to do. You really do feel as if you are very welcome Here. The location is great , 20 mins from the beach and 15 mins from supermarkets .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2014
We're blushing, Agata. Thanks!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing