We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveller rating
150
17
4
1
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
17
4
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews anna jack white swan dogs barking yorkshire hospitality friendly cat working farm on arrival great hosts local produce base to explore full english the north york moors fantastic breakfast gun dog two night stay pubs privacy
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 177 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

I stayed with my son while he was visiting a school and the farm was very special. Our room was a duplex with a room on top. To reach it you had to climb a ladder. Very charming. Breakfast was also home made and very nice. It was warm in spite of the weather and owner very friendly. Only issue is that the room did not have internet. Just the main building. Nice place to stay if at Ampleforth

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 815irias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

Just arrived home after a short stay at Carr House Farm.

Anna and Jack are excellent hosts and welcome you into their home, making you feel at home straight away.

The room was lovely, spotlessly clean; soft fresh towels and immaculate linen. You have everything you need in the room: hairdryer; sewing kit; tea and coffee making facilities; tv and a delicious homemade treat on arrival and departure.

The bird and wildlife are an added bonus together with the amazing gundogs and friendly cat.

The food, service and ambiance at the White Swan in Ampleforth was so good we ate there twice in our two day stay! The 14oz fish with chips is a must. Local and delicious.

On the subject of food, Anna cooks a mean breakfast with every taste and dietary requirement catered for. Scrambled eggs are to die for, although hubby says the very full english especially the sausages were fantastic.

A lovely couple who we hope to be spending our next break with very soon.

Thank you both.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Female40-50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

A last minute weekend away turned into a very memorable experience for us. Our room was so homely and full of character, the bed and pillows were heaven ! Anna was friendly and helpful , you felt like you had known her for years , Breakfast was tasty and filling !! and the farmhouse was amazing ! We had a long enjoyable walk after breakfast with 2 of Jacks dogs , it was just perfect , just the break we needed. We ate at local top quality pubs ( The White Swan in the village and The Star Inn at Harome ) both were 5 star . We recommend everyone to give Carr House Farm a try , you won't be disappointed!! Thank you to Anna & Jack from Steve & Linda

Room tip: You won't be disappointed with any, they're all authentic.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bensoncassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed two nights when going to a nearby wedding. Anna & Jack are great hosts. Our room was very comfortable with lovely toiletries. Towels were changed daily and our vegetarian breakfast ( our choice) was incredibly generous. The pups in the kennels were a special bonus! Highly recommended.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sono2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017

Carr was the first B&B in the UK for us, on our first family trip to Yorkshire and beyond. We stayed 4 nights with Anna and Jack, and were made to feel really welcomed. Our family (2 adults and 3 children aged 14, 12 and 9) took 2 rooms in the annex of the farm. Positioning wise it was perfect as it gave us the privacy we needed, as the room doors were opposite and faced each other.

To be honest, Anna's hospitality and breakfasts alone already deserve the 5 stars. She was incredibly forthcoming and helpful with our itinerary - from ringing the North York Moors Railway and checking if the train we booked were indeed steam trains, to finding an affordable laundrette in York, introducing Ampleforth and Helmsley's attractions, etc etc. We really can't thank her enough. Classic Yorkshire hospitality indeed!

A few points to note if you are bringing the family -
Kiddo alert: Do not expect to be able to play with the puppies bred by Jack. This is a serious gun dog business, and we understand very young puppies are fragile and has to be treated as such. They were housed in their own isolated enclosures, grouped by date of birth. If you come here expecting to play with the puppies in the open, you will be disappointed. Our children understood the business of gun dog breeding after Anna explained to them on the first day. So, we were quite contented to just peer at the puppies through the gate. On few of the mornings, we also woke up really early (5 am) to watch Jack train the grown up dogs (a pack of 30-40 Labrador retrievers running in the fields are a joy to behold). One of the dogs even jumped through the 5-feet fence to greet us, so enthusiastic it was. Magnificent and really unforgettable.

So the kids were happy playing with Duchess the cat instead. Really friendly cat who would follow the children around. And bring them "presents" too! (She would hunt and bring her "presents" to the children if they were nice to her... ! But don't worry, Duchess was well trained. Not allowed into the rooms even if she was really clean.)

We were ok with the dogs barking, sometimes at odd hours. After all, this was a B&B with a working gun dog farm, and the main reason why we picked this B&B was because we love dogs. And they quietened down really fast too.

Breakfasts were delectable affairs, hot fresh and tasty. Vegetarian or not, Anna will pamper your taste buds. We also appreciate the snacks and cakes she would leave in our room upon our return in the evenings. Her recommendation for nearby dinner venues were spot on. Bravo Anna!

Rooms wise, we appreciate the daily house keeping very much. Anna was very thoughtful and more than once I wondered at how she is able to do all that needed to be done.

Just a small point though - the water pressure in the one of the rooms was really bad. So we took all our showers in the other room. Also, if you must sleep in absolute darkness, do not choose the other room as it has a ceiling window which is exposed and uncovered. So in summer time, it is quite bright until almost 10 pm. These were minor inconveniences to us and did not detract from our experience at Carr.

Parking was ample and the GPS was spot on. No problems finding the property from the main road. Carr is also ideally located if you want a base to explore the North York Moors. Our only wish list for future visits is to have laundry done on-site, as bringing laundry to York is quite troublesome if we did not already have plans to visit York. We would have been happy to pay for this extra service.

But on the whole, an authentic B&B experience indeed. Well done.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyAKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews