We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Look no further this is a gorgeous place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
South Cadbury, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
usedtotra...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Look no further this is a gorgeous place to stay”
Reviewed 22 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed for a weekend with two small children and the owner, Etta, could not have made us more comfortable. Gorgeous furnishings, including a particularly comfortable large double bed with delicious sheets, which helped these two tired parents of small children sleep EXCEPTIONALLY well. And that was just the start. Lovely soft furnishings in the sitting room, details and very thoughtfully prepared kitchen for a weekend stay with the amazing home-made lemon drizzle muffins. There were 12 muffins when we arrived....the number of mouths should not have been able to consume that many in such a short space of time.....but we did. Highly recommended, this is proper lovely good ole English country hospitality in a stunning party of the country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2016
Thank you for your lovely review! Please come and see us again soon, it was a pleasure to host you and your gorgeous family :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen T
1 review
“Beautiful house, lovely welcoming host”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This place is wonderful, the cottage is so beautiful and it felt like home, Henrietta made us feel welcome and the scenery surrounding the cottage is lovely! The King size bed is like sleeping on a cloud, the cottage is beautifully decorated and has everything you need in it. At night the sky is so clear you can stargaze and there is hardly anyone around so it is so peaceful and quiet. Will defiantly be staying there again. Highly recommend!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2016
Thank you Helen, for your lovely review, I'm so glad you enjoyed it X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tordatrav...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Truly wonderful - what a find”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

This fantastic cottage was so comfortable equipped with everything you could possibly need and more. A log fire for Winter nights and lovely garden in which you can sit in the summer with a glass of wine and admire the quintessentially English village in which it is situated.
Henrietta was a fabulous host and provided all sorts of treats and goodies which really make a stay here something special. We brought our dogs and made the most of the stunning countryside, really enjoying being able to walk straight from the house up onto the historic site of Cadbury Castle looking down into the valley. Although there is everything you need in the cottage to self cater, the local pub also offers food and a chance not to do the washing up! I would thoroughly recommend Castle Farmhouse cottage for both itsluxurious accommodation and the unique welcome of the host. Thank you Henrietta and Steve.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful period cottage and the welcome from the host.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Aug 2016
It's easy to host perfect guests! Thank you so much for your lovely review and hope you'll visit again soon. X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana B
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our wonderful stay”
Reviewed 16 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Praise can not be given enough to our amazing host at the cottage, Henrietta :) she was just the perfect host and welcomed us so beautifully to the cottage and area and we felt very at home straight away. The cottage was very well equipped with all we needed and Henrietta was more than happy to assist if we had any queries or requests and was swift in responding. The cottage was delightful and in such a pretty area with lovely walks around the village and beyond :) It is situated very close by to Sherborne and Yeovil and less than an hour to the beautiful Jurassic coastline which is well worth a visit. Returning to the cottage every day was so pleasurable and we would most certainly return if ever visiting the area again. Our children loved the cottage and Henrietta's gorgeous and friendly dogs :) thank you so much once again :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for your review Diana, it was lovely to meet you all and I very much hope our paths cross again. I have Lily's beautiful picture on my wall, please thank her for leaving it for me, I love it! X :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1phildav
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb Holiday ”
Reviewed 18 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My husband and I visited the area for my nieces wedding and stayed at this cottage. Accommodation was fabulous and our host, Henrietta, could not have been more pleasant, helpful and friendly.
The whole experience was a pleasure and we would unreservedly recommend a visit to this charming cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to meet you and hope you'll come back and visit us again. Thank you too for leaving the cottage so tidy - thoughtful and perfect guests! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing