We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveller rating
98
56
26
35
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
98
56
26
35
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful village pudding lovely old pub pretty village skittle alley sirloin liver specials board menu choices country inn lovely lunch beer garden received a warm welcome an evening meal bottled water bed and breakfast night's sleep
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 248 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

4 of us stayed here for a night while visiting the picturesque village of East Coker.
It was a Sunday night and that is burger night. Not just standard burgers but a variety to suit all tastes.
The pub is very old and the Ensuite rooms were very comfortable .
The staff were all very friendly and we had a lovely time which was finished off with a great traditional British breakfast.
A great stay was had by all.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ian H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

Had tried to book a room in this hotel but none were available. Lucky escape! Dropping in at Saturday lunchtime for a drink, we were met with one of the rudest landlords I have ever come across. A request to the bar staff about craft cider ( which seemed perfectly reasonable given that we were in Somerset cider making country) elicited a hostile and insulting response from a lone individual leaning on the bar who turned out to be 'mein host'. We were made to feel like something brought in on the bottom of a dog walker's shoe.Perhaps he was just having a bad day in which case he needs some kind of ' bad day management' training. Perhaps he is going for some kind of Basil Fawlty award but he wasn't at all funny. Or perhaps he doesn't want anyone in his otherwise lovely pub in this equally lovely village - on this Saturday lunchtime we were the only customers apart from a small family having lunch -so he is doing well on that front. If you've got a thick skin and don't mind sipping your (mass-produced) cider through gritted teeth, then give this pub a go. Otherwise avoid.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
6  Thank From_the_Midlands65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

We called in to this attractive pub for a swift drink before moving on t another engagement. Seeking local craft cider, the pub being in a noted craft cider producing region, we were told what was available on tap. This included Thatchers which is sort of local but definitely not a craft cider. Standing along the counter engaged in some paper work was a chap who turned out to be the public an. He interrupted the conversation to say that " if we were looking for rough cider" we were in the wrong pub. I tried to explain in more detail a little later but the chap lost it and became abusive. Therefore a suggestion is that, if you're in the area, this is an attractive pub and well worth a visit but best to wait until the extremely rude incumbent has moved on or after he has acquired something in the way of people skills.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

I have never been greeted with the statement ‘Your Late’ when arriving for an 8pm reservation. It was 8.30pm when we arrived - nobody else eating! It was explained at the time of booking it may be 8.15’ish when we arrived. We were then asked to wait so he (the landlord) could check that the kitchen hadn’t ‘powered down’ - at 8.30???
The food was ok - not gourmet but quite acceptable but we could not have a pudding as the kitchen had closed.
The cheerful waitress saved the evening. The Landlord disappeared quite soon after our arrival. The Waitress would make a better front of house.
The four of us will not be returning which is a pity as it is a pleasant country pub and it is one of our Locals.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
3  Thank janeySwEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018

The food was very tasty but the fish portion of fish and chips a little small for the price paid. Staff efficient but a little cool. A little quiet on the day i visited. May visit again but not my first choice.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank bernie-1040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews