We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!”
Review of Siolim House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Siolim House
Ranked #1 of 7 Siolim B&B and Inns
Roermond, The Netherlands
1 review
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

It looks like all has been said about this extraordinary property, and I could not agree more with the people raving about it. We had a wonderful stay there, we intended to stay for 4 nigths but ended up staying for 7!
This was partly due to the fact that my husband fell ill during his stay (nothing to do with the house, something he caught in Mumbai), but also because we enjoyed it so much.
The whole staff was so caring and genuininly interested, we really felt like we were at home (wish our home was as beautiful as this one!), and also the owner, Varud, was such a nice man, he really has a philosophy behind the whole property. If you do go there, please take the time to read it in the "house book"; it makes such a difference!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ineke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SIolimGoa, Owner at Siolim House, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
thanks for your kind review and about me particularly VaruN (N not D)..: -)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    50
    19
    6
    11
See reviews for
51
98
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

What a place this is! Beautifully renovated in traditional style, furniture and interior details chosen with a personal and artistic touch. Wonderful staff and the whole place is runned with much love and care. With an ecological idea behind everything the dinners are prepared with fresh ingredients bought at the close-by markets. The atmosphere is relaxing, almost spiritual, like a retreat. We enjoyed every minute at Siolim House!

Room Tip: We stayed at Macau, a superior room and just loved it but all rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onthemove2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Siolim House was our first stop after a long journey, it was so nice to arrive to this beautiful house with lots of ambience and lovely décor.
The staff especially Alex is very helpful, the food is delicious and the rooms are spacious and clean with high ceilings.
In our bathroom the toilet was placed as a real throne five steps up…. Very funny.
I find the prices for transportation and food a bit over the value. And for the prices they charge for a room I would have expected daily clean towels and beddings.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siolimhouse, Owner at Siolim House, responded to this review, 7 January 2012
Dear Sir

Thanks for your kind review. Regards linen it is our policy as mentioned to change linen every 2 days unless you require it to be changed sooner - this is for environmental reasons. Im sorry if you thought it was an obligatory policy - its optional. We will try to make this clear for the next time.

Best regards and I wish you to return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asia
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Accommodation, food, service were all excellent - however there is one issue I have with this property.

When reviewing previous comments on Siolim House on this site, I saw some complaints regarding the prohibitive cost of the taxis arranged by the hotel. The hotel has responded explaining that they add a small surcharge because they make sure people don't get ripped off by unknown taxi drivers.

Might I suggest the absolute opposite - in fact I would suggest the hotel is the one committing a sinful rip-off.

A half day taxi should cost maximum 600 Rupees. Siolim rates are more than DOUBLE that rate. They are making a killing by directing you to their favoured taxis.

I strongly suggest the hotel STOP in this practice because it somewhat spoils what is otherwise a very good experience.

You should NOT be taking a piece of the taxi fees. When someone requires transportation what you should be doing is advising them a fair rate and if a taxi driver tries to rip someone off, blacklist them.

And please don't respond to this with the same old "taxis cost a little more because we are making sure you get a reliable, honest driver"

I know that is BS. You know that is BS. Change your Policy!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inukshukasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siolimhouse, Owner at Siolim House, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Guest,

I did understand that while you very much appreciated our place you felt that we may have overcharged you on transport. I do understand where you are coming from and I have tried as often as possible to bring tariffs down but have not been able to due to the following:

We do contract the drivers from outside, and therefore
1. rates are generally fixed on the basis of number of kilometers driven and approximate waiting times as well as the kind of car. AC cars such as Innovas could cost more than double the standard Maruti van for instance
2. to calculate the tariffs above we consider the time/kms and we could add a margin of security for instance if you need some flexibility or need to stop etc. Else drivers ask for more and that is very unpleasant for guests
3. we use local drivers, who do not increase rates during high season, as others do, are flexible and reliable and operate generally newer cars. For instance in case of a pick up they do not charge a night charge or waiting if your flights are delayed.
4. We do not squeeze our drivers for price as they are also our neighbours from the village, but offer them an above market price and demand above market service.
5. We also add a small surcharge to the rates they provide us as a service fee. Given that we take responsibility for the service, I hope you agree that this is appropriate. This is not more than 10-15%. This also covers cases where we have to compensate guests or get alternative cars in case of an issue, breakdowns etc. As far as our guests are concerned, its our responsibility is'nt it?

It is because of the above that at times It may be possible that you can get cheaper rates from drivers outside if you negotiate (but truly only if you negotiate hard), as in many cases our guests pay more in fact. These drivers are generally found by the Siolim Bazaar, just 5 minutes from here.

Nevertheless I noted that you did use the cars from here for a few trips. I would be happy to reimburse you an amount relating to an overcharge if you feel it to be the case. If we can resolve this, I would appreciate it if perhaps you can consider us to have remedied the issue and then edit your comment to include our interaction? Else it stays permanently!

My best regards

Varun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We, a family of 4 adults and one 4-year-old, stayed at Little Siolim (a separate bungalow a 2-minute drive from the actual Siolim House hotel) for 5 nights during the second week of November, and absolutely loved it.
A 3 bedroom, single floor, Portuguese style house, we shared the bungalow for 2 nights with another couple, and then for the remaining 3 enjoyed the full space to ourselves.
Inspiring from the moment we walked up the front steps on the street, Little Siolim has definitely had a personal hand in it's decor and management.
Featuring an open air personal swimming pool, and extremely comfortable common area (including wifi, a sound system, and very strong fans), we were able to return from our days at the beach to a home-like setting, complete with kitchen and 24-hour service staff, as well as a chef on duty from breakfast to dinner.
We would return from a night of wonderful Goan cuisine and drinks to enjoy each others' company on the front or rear patios, and the staff ensured that repellent was in full effect from dawn onwards to ward off mosquitos.
The 3 rooms entail 2 standard rooms and one master bedroom, all of which portray individual characteristics that flow with the overall design theme of Little Siolim.
One of the standard rooms includes an open air bathroom where the property well is situated, that offers a very serene and beautiful atmosphere.
The master bedroom is definitely the master of the three, including a 4 post bed, wonderful antique wooden accents, and large master bath with tub.
All rooms included both fans and A/C units.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, including a wonderful dog that was very calm and properly trained to remain outside the bungalow, even with several open doors and the aroma of cooking food tempting him.
Little Siolim was kept very clean, despite us traipsing in with sand from the beach, and mud on our shoes, and all the amenities of the kitchen, including a separate refrigerator for guests to keep items in, were available for our use until the early hours of the morning.
We ate breakfast there every morning, and were able to ask for a variety of egg dishes, all delicious, and enjoyed one of the better black coffees I've had in India, a country known for its Tea.
All in all, one of the best locations I've vacationed in, and I wish I owned a similar property for myself.

Room Tip: Both the standard rooms are very similar, but should you be bothered by the possibility of mosquitos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripsterK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siolim
8.2 km away
Shanti Morada
Shanti Morada
#1 of 2 in Saligao
361 reviews
37.6 km away
Alila Diwa Goa
Alila Diwa Goa
#2 of 38 in Salcette
1,868 reviews
11.0 km away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 65 in Candolim
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
3.7 km away
W Goa
W Goa
#3 of 14 in Vagator
180 reviews
5.9 km away
Acron Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siolim House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siolim House

Property: Siolim House
Address: Near St Siolim House, Siolim, Bardez 403517, India
Region: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Siolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Siolim
Price range (per night): $107 - $215
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Siolim House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Siolim House is a 350 year old palacio from the times Goa was a portuguese territory. It has all the hallmarks of a period manor and has been restored with all the care it deserves. Now only 7 suites in a lovely village very well located fo rthe beaches and sites, homecooked local cuising, it is very much a home where you will get to experience authentic Goan living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Siolim House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Palacio Siolim House Hotel Siolim
Casa Palacio Siolim Hotel
Casa Palacio Siolim Bardez
Siolim House Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing