We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain luxury”
Review of Hotel Mas Mariassa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Mas Mariassa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pratdip
Certificate of Excellence
Le Bugue, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mountain luxury”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Francesc and Raquel have created something quite extraordinarily special at Mas Mariassa. We chose it as an overnight stop for its location - minutes from the motorway, but so peaceful you could have been a million miles from anywhere...and we booked to stay on our way back to France because we couldn't resist spending another night there! Somehow, it doesn't feel like a hotel - it is so relaxed, so welcoming, very attentive but brilliantly low-key........we stayed during an unusually cold February, and it was cosy and warm, with a blazing fire and toasty bedroom, superbly comfortable, stylishly decorated. The food was exceptional with an unusual selection of local wines - and the olive oil, which is produced on their own estate, is the most extraordinary I have ever tasted - you can buy some to take home! Thank you Francesc, Raquel, Griselda and all the team for your hospitality and welcome - this was an unforgettable experience - you have something truly magical!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    30
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
139
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 30 January 2012

If you need a break, eat well and get som air this place is great, the rooms could not be better, execelent kitchen and the staff is friendly, detailed and always awaiting any need you may have. The environment is ideal for hiking and exploring new places.
The owners make you forget you're in a hotel and you have the feeling to be sharing with some friends a few days of relaxation.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerePF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex, UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We booked Mas Mariassa based on the reviews and now fully understand why they have received such high praise. If we hadn't been on such a tight touring schedule, we, like so many others, would have stayed for longer! The owners are very welcoming and so friendly, making sure your stay with them is both comfortable and very relaxing. Our room was just as we like them, very modern and with everything you need. The evening meal was included in our package and was absolutely outstanding, with the chef (owner) accommodating my allergy to fish without any fuss as well as recommending a perfect bottle of wine to accompany our meal, based on the type of wines we favour. We had also booked the Spa Under the Stars to finish our evening, which was all set up for us with a bottle of bubbly and fresh strawberries. Absolutely perfect. For breakfast we had a selection of breads, cold meats and cheese, home grown Catalonian tomatoes (absolutely beautiful!) pastries and fruits as well as a choice of cooked eggs if you wished. We had such a lovely time and were sorry to leave, however, as it is only a short drive from Reus Airport, we shall be returning for a weekend break sometime soon. In our opinion all of the fabulous reviews for this place really are to be believed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bennetbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Not from us! We thoroughly enjoyed a 10-day stay, which can really gauge performance.

First of all: if you really care for staying in a huge building with twenty storey high halls and a key to room 3384, Mas Mariassa is not for you. We had room 3 in the first (and last) floor, out of the seven rooms the hotel, a rebuilt farmhouse, has.

The main features:

- A blend of modern, austere decoration and the old rustic building, but with all usual amenities.
- Large, spotlessly clean, well isolated rooms
- Extremely quiet and cool surroundings, in the hills close to the sea, perfect for a relaxed stay.
- However, twenty minutes away from the beach and all its fun and music.
- Within striking distance of such diverse attractions as: outstanding wine zones (I am a wine lover myself), Roman ruins in Tarragona, Gaudi's birthplace, Port Aventura (one of Europe's best fun parks), bird watching in the Ebre delta...
- Sauna and open-air jacuzzi (try it at a starry night with a bottle of Cava)
- Excellent cuisine with 5 course dinner and a well chosen wine list.

But all this would come to nothing without the service provided by Raquel & Francesc (the owners) and their staff. Real personalized care, friendly but not overdone, brimming with information and suggestions.

A gem tucked away in the hills.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cugat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mas_Mariassa, Propietario at Hotel Mas Mariassa, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Thanks a lot!!!
I think you really enjoyed everything in Mas Mariassa! Our hotel, our surrounding, our service.. that's FANTASTIC!!
We're deeply pleased to work for people as you... We hope see you soon ;)
Hugs from all Mas Mariassa staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

I booked Mas Mariassa mainly based on reviews and we were not disappointed. We had 4 days to spend on Costa Dorada before heading to Barcelona and it was the highlight of the trip.
In the mountain but close enough to the beach, you get the best of both worlds: fresh air, quietness, amazing food and great service while you can spend the day on the beach.
We planned to eat two dinners but it was so good that we ate there 4 nights in a row with the "Market" dinner. Tasty, fresh, impeccable. Every night was a treat. You can't beat this in the coast.
Finally, the place is very well maintained. It's slick, clean and the view of the mountains breathtaking. Above all, rachel and François, the owners, are ver welcoming and will make sure you have a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mas_Mariassa, Propietario at Hotel Mas Mariassa, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
Thanks a lot for the compliment!
We 're very happy that you enjoyed the Costa Daurada's beaches and Mas Mariassa services..
A huge hug from Raquel and me ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pratdip
14.8 km away
Hotel Termes de Montbrio - Resort Spa & Park
Hotel Termes de Montbrio - Resor...
#1 of 2 in Montbrio del Camp
759 reviews
4.2 km away
Figuerola Resort and Spa
Figuerola Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Vandellos
181 reviews
10.9 km away
Hotel Rural Cal Torner
Hotel Rural Cal Torner
#1 of 1 in Els Guiamets
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.8 km away
Mas Passamaner
Mas Passamaner
#1 of 2 in La Selva del Camp
265 reviews
17.8 km away
Cal Llop
Cal Llop
#1 of 2 in Gratallops
141 reviews
34.3 km away
Villa Retiro
Villa Retiro
#1 of 1 in Xerta
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mas Mariassa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mas Mariassa

Property: Hotel Mas Mariassa
Address: Carretera T-311, km 30, 43320 Pratdip, Spain (Formerly Hotel Gastronomico Mas Mariassa)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Baix Camp > Pratdip
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pratdip
Price range (per night): $174 - $260
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mas Mariassa 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ruined houses are landscape sadness but when they return to life spread to the environment.Mas Mariassa was forgotten and the hotel that now living in it is a privilege involved in rain fed Garriga, amongst almond and fig trees, olive trees and rocky terraces, the southern Catalonia landscape. Mas Mariassa are good neighbours of Baix Camp and work hard at showing off their land. We see it through the windows and enjoy it through the dish and the cup, as we're in a hotel with gastronomic own vegetable garden. The farmhouse of the XVIII, has been restored with respect to its essence, its old fashioned charm and its materials, with quality furniture and noble textures, achieving sober and natural environments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mas Mariassa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing