We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“6th stay at Shellen”

Review of Shellen

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
East End, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
clfaudel
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“6th stay at Shellen”
Reviewed 22 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

You cannot beat the location of Shellen. It's set back from the road (cars go about 50 mph so it's good to have some distance) and the privacy and views are fantastic. There is a huge house just to the east of Shellen but I have never seen anyone other than a gardener there and we've stayed in March, July, November & December. Even if someone was there, the vegetation is thick and it wouldn't be like they were in your space, or vice versa. The house is dated, esp. the kitchen (no dishwasher) and bathrooms but everything is very functional and the owners are generous with pool towels and basic things like toilet paper, dishwasher and laundry soap. The pool deck really needs to be replaced (careful of splinters and loose screws) but it's a very peaceful place to relax. We just returned from 11 nights and aside from a few fishing and diving boats (and sometimes the outline of a cruise ship on the horizon) there's just no one else there. The snorkeling is great off the back of the house and there are good restaurants (Tukka, Italian Kitchen, Over the Edge) and a grocery and wine store nearby. I'd also really recommend Eddie at Cayman Shoppers who will stock your house with food and drinks for a $75 fee. Rum Point and Kaibo are a 20-25 minute drive away. Try the new water taxi between Kaibo and Camana Bay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2017
Dear Christina,
Thank you so much for your wonderful, detailed review of Shellen. We are delighted that you and your guests enjoyed your vacation with us and it was a pleaseure having you here with us again. We have spoken to the owner about doing various upgrades and renovations to the property, so we are hoping that the issues you mentione dwill be dealt with before the begining of the Winter Season in December.
We look forward to having you back with us again soon!
Kind regards,
Juliet Cumber-Forget
Business Manager
Cayman Villas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nadiapowe...
Grand Cayman
1 review
“Amazing Pace”
Reviewed 10 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed at Shellen for a weekend with close friends. It was an amazing property. It exceeded every one of our expectations. Ideal location if you want a quiet tranquil vacation with very minimal noise and disturbance. Arriving at a secluded property at night concerned us, but when we got the property all the lights was on and AC was at a very comfortable temp. It felt very welcoming. The property Manager Judy did an fantastic job at making us feel welcomed. Thank and we will definitely be staying again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location
Liked least: Nothing everything was great.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2016
Dear Kim,
Many thanks for your wonderful review! We are delighted that you and your group enjoyed your stay at Shellen in East End. We looking forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.
All the very best,
Juliet Cumber-Forget
Business Manager
Cayman Villas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A NiceRetreat”
Reviewed 27 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

There are many things we liked about Shellen, spacious, quiet, good layout of the rooms, good Kitchen facilities plenty of Hot water, Nice comfortable beds. Not quite a beach below but a great place to snorkel & you can stand up even when far out from the shore line. It is also close to a sandy beach resort with Shops & restaurants not far away. The downside for us was even though we were here for 16 days no pool Cleaner (The pool was quite dirty) the jacuzzi was a nice touch but also not very clean. There was also no maid service throughout our stay so no clean towels unless we did them ourselves (Which we did soap powder etc is provided) The wi fi reception is poor with less than 2 mb so impossible to do much on this & the cable Tv has very limited channels for evening entertainment so best read a book. During our stay we never meet of saw any representative for the rental agents although they did ring us to check everything okay & when we left we then handed the keys back to the Avis car rental for where we picked them up. No Welcome greeting from the agent so overall poor service there. we were a party of 5 I you would be pushed to have 8 stay. Overall a nice retreat but limited on basic things. PS app only works if you have an american phone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quietness & location
Liked least: poor tv & wi fi reception along with cleanliness of outside areas
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica C
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Vacation Rental”
Reviewed 23 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
5
people found this review helpful

We just returned from The Shellen and had the best family vacation ever! The house is perfect, very spacious (the pictures do not do it justice) and everything worked great! The pool and hot tub were incredible along with a view to die for! We had all adults over 26 and there was something for all of us! We snorkeled everyday right outside of the Shellen and it was beautiful! We couldn't get enough pics on our Go Pro, endless variety of fish, lobsters, crabs, tarpon, groupers, lion fish, puffer fish, tuna, etc..! We had the beach to ourselves everyday and it is located on a barrier reef that is breathe taking, you can even stand up 90% of the time which made it easy to snorkel everyday!!! The swimming, wading and snorkeling right off the beach in the back of the house is beyond belief! There is so much to see just in the mangroves around the house too... crabs, lizards, birds, etc. It is located on the East End of the island and is away from the traffic and cruise visitors. The Shellen is close to Rum Point, a small grocery store, fabulous restaurants and bars without the crowds! The manager, Judy, helped with any questions we had and took great care of us! We even had a free rental car through Caymanvillas.com! This is a perfect house on the best side of the island! I could go on about this beautiful home but if you have any questions please ask! The excursions we did were great also and all were close to the house too; boat charter, bioluminescent tour and turtle farm. Don't think twice about this house, it is beautiful!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and a beautiful house!
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Aug 2015
Happy to hear that you love Shellen as much as we do! It's a great beach villa in an amazing location in East End! Looking forward to your return! Tropical greetings-Cayman Villas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing