We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveller rating
139
104
23
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
104
23
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parking restrictions central position top floor small town bars and restaurants nice hotel harbour facing room one night meats thursday receptionist market accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 274 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2018

Well sited about half way down the street next to the harbour and hence within very easy walking distance of the cafés, bars and restaurants and natural attractions in this small town, this non-smoking hotel, modernised in 2011, was attractive and well run with welcoming staff. The receptionist who was mainly on duty later afternoon and evening during our stay had considerable English and we usually had a pleasant chat with her.

The lift services all floors and there is level access to the hotel, and one disabled parking space by the door.

There is free street parking in the street. We found this usually very easy but as we were there partly at a French Public Holiday, parking was more difficult (but not impossible) that weekend. We were lucky to be there for the weekly Thursday food market - largely in the pedestrian street behind the harbour road - a large number of stalls selling fresh and glowing large fruit, vegetable, cheeses and meats. Though there are some parking restrictions linked to this, we had no trouble parking.

We had an attractive good sized harbour facing room on the first floor. The view was partially obstructed by the ground floor restaurant annexe; the view was presumably better on the second floor, and we guess that it was the third floor rooms under the eaves which drew comments of being small. There was a large comfortable bed; ample hanging and shelf space in an open cupboard, a small triangular desk space with telephone, and long dressing table shelf. Good lighting, including directional LED bedside lights. A flatscreen TV - all French language channels, a hospitality tray, and fairly good free wifi - though it was a bit of a nuisance having to re-log in each time.

By closing the curtains each day - after the maid had pulled them open! - and leaving the window open at night, we were able to keep the room fairly cool, but we think the room could be hot in high summer. Air conditioning would be a welcome extra.

The small bathroom was modern and attractive though the basin was minute and virtually impossible to use without splashing water over the edges.

There was a free small safe in the wardrobe - at the bottom, so we had to lie down to access it!

We did not have breakfast or dinner at the hotel, though the latter menu in particular looked interesting. NB The hotel does now have an adjoining restaurant.

Binic is a lovely little seaside town with enormous beaches - plenty of space even with the tide in. The main road up the peninsular passes through it and though it led to traffic jams at the Public Holiday, the town itself still had a happy holiday buzz.

Room tip: Front rooms overlook the marina though some obstruction to the view from the restaurant. The sun shines into these windows much of the day.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FandRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Enjoyed one night here at this lovely hotel , wish we could have stayed longer . Booked a harbour facing room and had a great view even from the bed . Warm welcome and excellent breakfast .only downside was the parking we managed to
Park in the street outside but could be a problem if arriving too early . Not sure what happens on a Thursday as no parking on market day .

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kathleenr443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnefoy P, Responsable réception at Hotel Le Benhuyc, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Dear Mrs R,
A warm thank you for your kind comment!
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed the view from your room, breakfast as well as the welcome you received from our staff.
It is usually easy to find a parking space near the hotel, but it can take a little longer on a warm and sunny day, especially during July and August, as we are so close to the beach!
Parking is free everywhere in Binic.
The summer market only takes place on July and August. There is no parking available near the hotel on a Thursday morning, but our customers can drop off their luggage and park their cars a 10 minutes walk away. We are always available at reception if you need help or advice! We are looking forward to welcoming you again in Binic,
Best regards
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016

The hotel has a wonderful location with beautiful sea , harbour, views. The bed itself was extremely comfortable excellent quality comfort etc. The room we stayed in was tiny it is an old building so rooms would have been small. They have modernised the rooms well and to a very good standard, the bathrooms had a great shower, only thing was , there was quite a strong sewerage smell in the bathroom when we arrived.They swallows sang out side our room in the palm tree lovely!

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aislinn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnefoy P, Responsable réception at Hotel Le Benhuyc, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2016

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with our future customers.
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us, the location, the bed, shower and even the birds in the palm tree!
Our harbour view rooms are quite small but as you say, our building was built in 1794 and the architect who renovated the hotel in 2011 had to keep the old walls. But we also have bigger rooms in the hotel, so have a look at the "Superior city view" or "Prestige suite" before your next visit if you would like a little more space.
We are sorry about the "sewerage" smell, this can happen very occasionally when the tide is high. Unfortunately, there is nothing we can do to fix it as the smell does not come from the hotel. We hope you will come back anyway and look forward to seeing you again in Binic!
Best regards,
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Rather disappointing 1st impression as arrived at 2.00 pm. but asked to go away and return an hour later. Also unloading luggage could be difficult owing to parking restrictions. Hever, once settled in we found the room comfortable, staff helpful and the hotel well sited in this attractive little town.

Room tip: Seaview rooms obviously preferable.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnefoy P, Responsable réception at Hotel Le Benhuyc, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2016

Dear Sir,
We thank you for taking the time to write a comment about our hotel.
We are sorry if you felt you were not welcome when you first arrived. Our rooms are usually ready early in the afternoon but on some days (when the hotel was fully booked on the previous day, when we welcome big parties, weddings...etc) the cleaning can take a little longer. That is why we prefer to write 3pm for check-in on all websites to avoid disappointment. When you arrived the cleaning ladies were still working in your room and we were unable to give you your key. I am sure our staff offered to store your luggage and said we would do our best to get your room ready as soon as possible.
We are happy you enjoyed the rest of your stay and hope you will return soon!
Best regards,
Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016

The hotel is well sited and is close to the beach, bars and restaurants in the town.

Reception is fine and the staff helpful.

The hotel lacks on site parking so one has to temporarily park in the space reserved for the disabled to off load the luggage and then move the car to an on street parking space. This is not too onerous except at the weekends when the town is usually very busy and the spaces are at a premium. However, the street parking is free.

The hotel is comfortable and serves breakfast but it does not have a restaurant.

The bedroom was overlooking the harbour but quiet, the bed comfortable and the shower room adequate if a little cramped.

What are the drawbacks? Well we did not find anything to complain about except perhaps for the hand basin in the shower room which is too small for anything other than a hand rinse.

We would certainly return.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K12XFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews