We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely villa, peaceful location,spectacular views”
other traveller has booked this property
Villa Vouno, or Mountain Villa, as the name suggests is set high on the side of Cape Drapanos
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Vouno, or Mountain Villa, as the name suggests is set high on the side of Cape Drapanos
Side terrace and covered veranda BBQ terrace and pool area with 360 degree views over Souda bay and the Aegean.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Villa Vouno, or Mountain Villa, as the name suggests is set high on the side of Cape Drapanos
Side terrace and covered veranda
BBQ terrace and pool area with 360 degree views over Souda bay and the Aegean.
BBQ terrace seen from the large pool....only the goats will see you skiny dip!
Cape Drapanos sits high above the pool and BBQ area.
Huge BBQ terrace, lit up at night, set further up mountainside.
Midnight swims under the shooting stars, lights from Souda in the background.
Looking down into Souda bay, from here you can watch the NATO vessels and ferries pass.
Side terrace and covered veranda, the sunsets from the front of the villa are unbelievable.
Luxury kitchen, well equipped with s.steel appliances
Master bedroom with en suite wet room, opens out onto huge veranda
French doors lead out to the breakfast terrace from the comfortable living area.
Open plan living/dinning and kitchen area with one bedroom and a shower room also on this floor.
COvered veranda with swing seat and bistro set lovely for enjoying a quiet coffee in the warm breeze
Covered Veranda.....or my coffee stop!
Top veranda with comfortable furniture has two bedrooms leading out from this. Fabulous views.
Arrow shows where Villa Vouno is on Cape Drapanos
Beautiful little cove in Kokkino Chorio
Chania old harbour with the white mountains or Lefka Orea in the background
Chania seafront, with shops, restaurants, museums etc  (25 - 30 mins away)
Sunset from the harbour in Chania.
local church and ancient Monastry, 2 min walk away
Loutro harbour, only accessible by boat taxi, No Roads
Agia Triada monastery on the Akrotiri peninsula...well worth a visit.
Agia Triada Monastery
Naval base on Akrotiri. Loutraki beach also worth a visit.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Heather S
Henfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely villa, peaceful location,spectacular views”
Reviewed 7 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a great week at Villa Vouno. It is in a beautiful location high up on the Drapanos Peninsula. The views are second to none. We’ve never stayed anywhere before where you can enjoy both sunrise and sunset over the sea and the villa has two lovely terraces to sit and appreciate them, as well as a pretty entrance terrace. Loved the front door with individual panels that open so you can see who’s there! The villa has a cool stone interior and is very restful, comfortable and well furnished. We always had the windows and French doors open when we were home which let in a cool breeze. The pool and barbecue areas are lovely - completely private as there is only the steep mountainside behind - and well planted with flowers, herbs and shrubs so there are lots of butterflies, bees and other insects. The pool itself is a really good size so great for swimming and it’s so peaceful and quiet – the only sounds being the cicadas and the bleating of the goats.

Crete is a beautiful island and I feel we've just touched the surface - I had a really long list of what I wanted to see and do but we did only some of it. A week is not enough even for just this particular area in the north west. But it’s another reason to come back! We really enjoyed hiking down the Imbros Gorge (came across hardly any other walkers so felt we had the place to ourselves); driving south across the mountains to Hora Sfakion and taking a boat to Loutro (a lovely place); Lake Kournas where we sunbathed on the shore on a mat of wild thyme – the fragrance was amazing; Chania old town and a boat and snorkeling trip from Chania harbour. There was also great snorkeling in the little cove in Kokkino Chorio. It was exciting to watch from our terrace a submarine coming into the bay and we also explored the World War 2 bunker and tunnels up the hill behind the villa which was rather scary but interesting! However, I have to say that the highlight of every day was watching the sunset from the villa. It was so spectacular that it got to the point that we wouldn’t go out until the sun finally disappeared from view!

Almyrida and Plaka are close by for eating out, but if you don’t want to drive St George’s Retreat (5 minutes walk) has a lovely terrace and the same great view as the villa. We ate there twice and it was nice to have that option. We found that the food generally in Crete was really good

Catherine, the owner, was immensely helpful throughout and sent us loads of information and photographs. She clearly loves Villa Vouno and it’s easy to see why. She really wants her guests to enjoy it as much as she and her family and does her best to ensure that they do.

A wonderful holiday in a magical place. Loved it! Hope to come back one day!

Thanks Catherine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful sunsets
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2016
Hi Heather,
Thank you so much for that lovely review; I knew you'd enjoy the place!
Please do come back again; it would be our pleasure to have you and until then, I hope your time in Crete keeps you going for many months to come.
Best regards, Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia...
Bude, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tired”
Reviewed 1 July 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The owner was great - really friendly and helpful. The situation of the villa is stunning and the pool itself was good . But the beds, bedding and kitchen was tired. Most of the air conditioning didn't work. I did get in touch with the owner about this but got no reply.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Beds and bedding
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2016
Hi Ginnie,
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review; I must be honest and say I am very surprised by your review and have copied and pasted the mail you sent me on your return home, just to remind you what you did say to me.
Your second mail over two weeks later surprised and shocked me, as had there been something wrong and had you phoned me, I would have immediately done my best to correct it. On that note, you were correct about the A/C unit in the living room; when it was checked it had blown a motor, and has now been repaired. No one ever uses that one as the doors are usually open. The bedroom A/C's were on the wrong setting. As for the kitchen and bedlinen, I have never had complaints about the kitchen and have asked my property managers to check the linen and dispose of anything that is tired. Again as I've never had this complaint, I can only assume that you were unfortunate. I take feedback from guests very seriously and do act on any issues were they exist, and I never ignore guests. As I said, I have pasted your email below that was sent to me the day following your return.
Best regards, Catherine

Hi Catherine

We are safely home after having a great holiday - totally relaxing!

The journey home was very long with delays at Heraklion and at Gatwick for our on-going journey home to Cornwall so in all, 16 hours!

We made sure that everything at the villa was shut that could be shut and closed that could be closed and no goats!

Thanks again Catherine. It was so useful to have you there at the end of a text, so to speak! We had a great time.

Best regards

Ginnie X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chloe P
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Relaxing retreat with spectacular views”
Reviewed 24 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Villa Vouno is a fabulous villa. The villa itself is well appointed with three good sized bedrooms, a great open plan kitchen dining area and comfortable cosy living room. The winning aspect for us however were the balconies. There is a large balcony off the living room overlooking the sea with table and chairs for 6 perfect for a family meal. Above this connecting two of the bedrooms is another large balcony with outdoor sofa, chairs coffee table and sun loungers, I spent many hours with my book reading on this balcony. There is also a front covered porch with bistro table and two chairs and hanging chair which catches the early morning sun. We had a bit of rain on our last day and it was wonderful sitting in the hanging chair listening to the rain looking out at the view with beer in hand! The pool on the upper terrace is a great size, big enough for laps and lovely to relax beside. Also on this upper area is a fabulous BBQ and outdoor dining area. The views from the villa are wonderful, on the side of a mountain with vista over the sea. There are other villas dotted around so there is no feeling of isolation and the peace and calm and privacy is maintained because this villa is the highest up. The sound of goat bells and their beating, crickets and bird song are the main sounds up at the villa and this is a wonderful soundtrack. Crete itself is a fabulous island with so many different aspects, Villa Vouno is about 35-40 minutes for the beautiful town of Chania which is very much worth a visit and there are plenty of other towns and villages within close driving distances including Plaka with lovely taverna’s and the beach resort of Almyrida and a little further afield but still very manageable on day trips are world renowned stunning beaches, gorges and historical sights. Far too much to enjoy in just one week so we’re already craving to return! Catherine is a very generous owner, she gave us plenty of local information and made sure we had everything we needed for a fabulous trip. We felt thoroughly cared for and appreciated and highly recommend this villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area of the property so beautiful
Liked least: The steep drive
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2016
Hi Chloe,
Many thanks for your lovely review; I was pretty sure you would both enjoy yourselves, but it's always nice to have that confirmed. It makes a real difference to future guests to hear what past guests have thought of the place.
I hope your time in Crete keeps you going until the next time you come to Villa Vouno!
Many thanks, Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Oct 2015
Thanks so much Lydia for taking the time to leave a review, it was our pleasure to have you stay and I hope your holiday keeps you going for many months to come.
The pool is definitely warmer in the Spring and Summer.......although my boys are in it now as I type.....on the 21st Oct!!!! It's warmer at night than during the day at this time of year!!!!
Thanks again and best regards, Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Holmfirth
Reviewed 2 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just being there
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Oct 2015
Hi Guys,
As usual you have been the perfect guests and we are always glad to welcome you back year after year. It's lovely having guests who enjoy the place as much as we do and have become part of the Villa Vouno family! Anne says I have to request guests like yourselves every time from now on!!
Thanks again for leaving a fab review....til next time.
Best Regards, Catherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing