We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend, like visiting old friends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau de la Resle
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend, like visiting old friends”
Reviewed 4 November 2011

What a wonderful weekend staying in Johan and Pieter's home. I felt like I was visiting my very stylish and artistic friends who happen to own a beautiful, perfectly decorated chateau. We were on a 'birthday weekend' and they gave us cake and tea to celebrate, which we took sitting outside in the beautiful grounds with the cats and dogs while chatting to Pieter. We were really made to feel welcome in every way, meeting their friends, exchanging ideas, sharing stories. All of their recommendations regarding what to see and where to eat were wonderful, and I should also mention that Johan stayed so polite and responsive to my hundreds of emails that I sent before we even arrived.asking about Bourgogne and where to visit. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FifiParis45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    2
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
16
71
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We just finished a week-long stay at the Chateau de La Resle and it is an absolutely wonderful holiday destination. The chateau is a charming 17th century edifice nestled in the wine region of Burgundy that has been completely refurbished by the hosts, Johan and Pieter with a modern motif that is both soothing and attractive. The rooms are spacious and very clean. We stayed in the Green Room which exceeded our expectations. Of note was the bed which was exceptionally comfortable. We experienced some of the most restful nights in a long time. Johan and Pieter were always attentive hosts and were available whenever we needed them. The chateau is about a half mile from the nearest village and sits on a hilltop overlooking a verdant valley. The atmosphere was serene and there was no traffic noise.

Johan was a wealth of information regarding local sights and activities and gladly marked their locations on a map for our convenience. Also, we relied on him for several dinner recommendations around the local area. The restaurants he suggested proved to be a superb dining experience.

Often when we came in from a long day of touring and wine tasting Johan or Pieter would meet us and light a fire in the fireplace whereupon we would relax and chat over a glass of wine (John and Peter are fluent in English, French and Dutch).

The Chateau de La Resle is a hidden gem away from the madding crowd and for us it was a perfect home for a few days. We highly recommend it and are planning a return trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Chateau de la Resle is located in a small village in picturesque and tranquil surroundings. The property and grounds are excellent. However the decor and artwork is very modern. If you are looking for the old world feel of a chateau this is not the place.

The rooms at this property lack light and the type of views that we experienced at the other chateaux we stayed in. We stayed in the chateau apartment which is a suite in the attic. The best view is from the awesome bathroom (the beat feature of this suite). The rooms lacked light and views. This suite is two flights up and there is no elevator so better work out before you pick this one. Also the rooms are not air conditioned - one of the nights we spent there was very hot and humid which was difficult.

The location is ideal for exploring this region which has a great mixture of history and culture combined with great wine and great food.

Dinner recommendations provided by Johan were excellent - we had some of our best meals in Burgundy in this region.

The host Johan had a very business like approach - running a B&B seemed to be a side job as opposed to his passion. He was helpful but to the point and very business like.

Room Tip: Do not pick the room under the attic - not a lot of light and no great views other than from bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thandadoodh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johan B, Propriétaire at Chateau de la Resle, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
This is a funny coincidence; I am writting the response to your review while being in New York, your home town and my destination for a business trip, Indeed, running the B&B at Chateau de la Resle is a "side" job. I strongly believe a B&B is best run by people having another source of income; first of all our room price could never justify the high level of investments made, but more importantly another carreer is the best guarantee for creating a B&B that stays close to who you are.

I am glad to hear you liked the Chateau, the surroundings and the dinners you enjoyed during your stay in Burgundy. Too bad to hear you were missing an elavator and air conditioning, however we would never destroy the architecture of the chateau for this kind of modern equipment of little use. By the way your suite does have a mobile air conditioning. We would have been happy to turn it on for you upon request.

As far as my business like approach is concerned I think you set the tone by requesting a discount on the room for a two nights stay. To me that is very business like too. For the rest I can only say that we do our utmost to welcome and guide our guests in the best possible way, but of course one cannot have a personnel "click" with everybody.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We were meant only to stay 3 nights and continue our journey only the following 2 nights just couldnt compare so we went back to la Resle for the last 2 nights of our time in France!

So why did we return?

Firstly, our hosts. Johan and Pieter were so helpful in suggesting restaurants and sights, gave us maps and really went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Their passion for the area and la Resle shines through. They are courteous and unobtrusive hosts.

Second, our accommodation. We stayed in the Chateau Apartment suite and while the Blue & Green room are lovely (got to see both) it is so nice to have the extra space and the views from each window are amazing! Its worth the extra $$. We did actually use the kitchen too! It is basic, but has everything you need. We also had a look at the Farmers cottage which is out of this world, so we will be staying in that one next time! The Chateau itself and the grounds are absolutely stunning.

Third, the destination. There is a great forest nearby I went walking in, lots of wineries, a local swimming hole, wonderful historical sites, great restaurants. Johan and Pieter were very helpful and knowledgable with suggestions and there was no shortage of activities for the day.

This is such a great base to explore northern Burgundy, you could easily spend a week at la Resle.

Room Tip: The green room has a lovely view over the gardn. The apartment is worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharondouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights on our way through France. The location is stunning and the chateau is beautiful with lovely grounds. All throughout the building there is unique and stunning artwork. The room was lovely and fitted to a very high standard. Everything seems to have been done to the exacting and perfectionist standards of Johan and Pieter. Breakfast was great with different and unusual touches every day. There is an honesty bar near the main reception room as well as a small mini-bar in the room; both stocked with local wines.

The best thing about this place though is the friendliness and passion of the hosts (especially Johan) who go out of their way to engage with you and offer advice on restaurants and things to do. Their restaurant recommendations are great and if you don't mind spending a little (they're not cheap!) then go with them.

Overall, a great place to relax and enjoy the stylish Chateau.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kampas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montigny-la-Resle
11.0 km away
L'Hostellerie des Clos
L'Hostellerie des Clos
#1 of 4 in Chablis
538 reviews
25.4 km away
La Cote Saint Jacques
11.2 km away
Le Parc des Marechaux
Le Parc des Marechaux
#4 of 22 in Auxerre
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
Mercure Auxerre
Mercure Auxerre
#1 of 4 in Appoigny
390 reviews
6.8 km away
Moulin de la Coudre
Moulin de la Coudre
#1 of 3 in Venoy
111 reviews
9.3 km away
B&B Hotel Auxerre 2
B&B Hotel Auxerre 2
#1 of 6 in Moneteau
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de la Resle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Resle

Property: Chateau de la Resle
Address: Rue des Buttes | Lieu dit La Resle, 89230 Montigny-la-Resle, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Yonne > Montigny-la-Resle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Montigny-la-Resle
Price range (per night): $291 - $708
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowning a hill in the renowned winemaking region of Burgundy, Château de la Resle has the charm and personality of a well-loved private home. The six elegant rooms and suites are taken care of by Dutchmen Johan Bouman and Pieter Franssens, who invite guests to share the French, ivy-wrapped manor house they painstakingly restored. Adding to the feeling of romance and exclusivity is Johan and Pieter’s personal collection of contemporary art and design, which attracts fellow connoisseurs from around the world.From the château, which sits on the edge of an 800-hectare hunting forest, there are bucolic views down the valley of Montigny la Resle. The wine village of Chablis – that gives its name to one of the most famous white wines in France – is also just a short drive away. Exploring the area is a delight, but guests are equally happy to unwind at the château’s spa, soak in the azure pool, or relax by a sizzling open fire with a glass of the château’s own Chablis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Chateau de la Resle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing