We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other travellers have booked this property
Patio & garden area of The Old Shippon
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Patio & garden area of The Old Shippon
spacious dining kitchen Kitchen diner in The Old Shippon
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
82 reviews
Patio & garden area of The Old Shippon
spacious dining kitchen
Kitchen diner in The Old Shippon
Fully fitted kitchen
Fantastic view from the cottage
living room with great views over the fields and doors leading onto patio & garden.
one of the lovely bathrooms
spacious twin bedroom
Twin room with fab views over the fields
Double room with great countyside views
Sofa bed in upstairs mezzannine
Upstairs living room mezzanine
Patio area
View of sunrise from the cottage
Front view of The Old Shippon & Churn cottage
large garden/patio area
View from the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Newport, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 82 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Norman J
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 10 May 2012 for a stay in August 2011

We stayed there in August 2011 for 7 nights with a party of 8, which included (my husband, 2 teenage daughters, six year old son, my sister, and my parents). My mother has mobility problems so the cottage was ideal as it was all on one level and only a couple of steps down into the lounge area.

There is always a risk that when you view photos on the Internet that when you arrive it is quite different. Not so . . . the property is BETTER than the photos. It has the latest mod cons but also the country feel. The design and furnishings are top class. The views are beautiful, we had our own garden, with patio area.

We have stayed at a number of cottages over the years but this is one we would definitely return to. Thank you Sarah and Andrew you were brilliant.

Wished we had stayed longer!!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norma W
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exceptional standard, wonderful views and warm welcome”
Reviewed 10 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011

Our party stayed in The Old Shippon and Churn Cottage, the accommodation has been developed to a exceptionally high standard, extremely clean, warm and well stocked. The views are absolutely beautiful and the whole experience relaxing, our host Sarah goes out of her way to make you feel welcome. I left my earings and rings by the bed and within 2 days they were returned to me recorded delivery. Thank you Sarah for saving the day!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley W
Edenbridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Sambrook Manor”
Reviewed 10 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011

With us living in Kent and our friends living in Cumbria, Sambrook Manor ticked the 'halfway between the two' box. So four adults and four kids descended on The Old Shippon for a half-term break. Take it from me, the pictures make the place look great but they do not do it justice. The accommodation is spacious, spotlessly clean and we were made to feel welcome but left to do our own thing without feeling 'watched'. The layout with a double and twin at either end of the barn make it perfect for two families to share but not impose on each other. Wifi kept the techno geeks happy and tv with dvd's kept the kids amused. Ben the faithful dog kept an eye out for us all week and happily posed for about a thousand photos for two 5 year-olds without batting an eye. Local attractions abound - I would particularly recommend the FREE RAF museum at Cosford. Mention also for the local pub, The Three Horseshoes, child friendly, lovey patrons and fantastic food. Cannot recommend highly enough.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Tootell
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic cottage and location”
Reviewed 8 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011

We have spent two holidays in Churn cotttage this year & are hoping to return again in 2012. It is difficult to add to what has already been said about the cottage, everything is perfect.Over the years we have stayed in a variety of cottages throughout the UK but have never met the exceptional high standard of Churn cottage. I keep telling our friends and family about it. Well done Sarah & Andrew, thank you for most relaxing stay.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_bucks99
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I agree with the others!”
Reviewed 10 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

We stayed in Churn Cottage in April and came back in September. As the other reviews say the experience here is lovely. No expense has been spared and your hosts clearly enjoy making their guests feel at home. Its relaxing, peaceful and the countryside is beatiful. Rarely can you find such quality cottage accomodation. The bedrooms and bathroom are better than most Marriot or Hilton hotels I stay at for work.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing