We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect!”

Review of Postbox Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage is set in the heart of the village Courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
The cottage is set in the heart of the village
Courtyard
Sitting room
Dining area
Window at the front of the cottage
Double bedroom with ensuite
Double bedroom
Ensuite bathroom
Twin bedroom
Alcove in twin room
The separate bathroom
The Wheatsheaf-good food just five minuites walk away
The church of St Mary the Virgin, Edith Weston
Ready for fishing
The Italian restraunt-less than ten minutes walk away
Rutland Water Golf Club
© Rutland Sailing Club
© Rutland Osprey Trust -  The nature reserve regularly holds in excess of 20,000 waterfowl
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Edith Weston, Rutland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alison R
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 25 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a short break at Postbox Cottage. Wow what a wonderful cottage in a beautifully quiet village. Cottage was superb one of the best I have stayed in. It has everything that you would need, well stocked kitchen and a lovely courtyard to sit in. Pub just up the road, very convenient and served great food. Hope to visit again in future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escape971...
Hampshire, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautifully presented cottage in quiet picturesque village”
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Postbox Cottage is is ideally situated being within a short walking distance of Rutland Water and only a short drive from Stamford, Uppingham and Oakham. Whilst there we visited the nature reserves at Egleton and Lyndon where we saw Ospreys, took a boat ride on the Rutland Belle and went to Tolthorpe Hall to see a Stamford Shakespeare play. Being very near to The Wheatsheaf pub which served good bar food was a definite bonus! The cottage was a real home-from-home, the owner has thought of everything, right down to the board games in the cupboard which unfortunately we didn't have time to play. One of our party took their bike and was able to leave it in the secure rear garden. As there were four of us staying we felt there was plenty of space for all of us and especially liked having 2 bathrooms. The beds were really comfortable and the village so quiet that we all slept really well, returning home fully refreshed after our week long break.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nigel H
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Peaceful, convenient for all outdoor enthusiasts, excellent conversion and helpful owners”
Reviewed 27 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
4
people found this review helpful

Sitting in a quiet road, amongst some historic as well as attractive newer homes that make up this delightful enclave of Edith Weston. Frankly, we didn't use our car much during our week - it is a short stroll to Rutland Water that opens up short, long and very long walks over easy ground and well made-up paths. You can hire bicycles and tandems if you fancy the 27 mile round trip with detours into the two bird sanctuaries that are absolutely worth visiting throughout the year. Ospreys raise their young here and can be watched through CCTV screens. Alternatively, why not jump onto the small 'ferry' that gives you access to a wider range of walks or one-way walks. Anglers have a jetty full of boats for all-day hire; supported by a tackle-shop underneath the Italian (all day) Restaurant. If the good food is too much for you there are ice-creams and snacks available at this site and the north-shore. Either by road or country path, you can detour to look at the sailing boats at the nearby sailing club. We have visited three times.
Very good food shopping at the nearby Oakham - we especially like the two butchers licensed to make genuine Melton Mowbray pork pies - bliss.
The cottage is well appointed and very comfortable. The settees are comfortable as are the beds. Both the bathrooms are airy and clean. There is no real "outdoor space" - a small area at the back. This did not bother us as we saw the cottage as a "base" from which we walked daily into a much larger space! Although only two of hired this cottage, it would EASILY work for four people.
A mere 100 yards away is a really good pub (well-kept beer; good range of good quality food (beef and ale pie, fish and chips, onion bahji burghers, cod and pancetta fishcake, ploughmans, and we didn't seriously dent the range of choices.
There are other pubs, but we didn't see any reason to go further.
We have it in our minds to return to this cottage next year, perhaps for a longer stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whukey
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay in lovely cottage in fabulous location by Rutland Water”
Reviewed 3 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a great short break to Postbox Cottage in Edith Weston. The cottage is delightful lots of character with everything you could need. Location of the cottage is superb in beautiful Edith Weston village with a short walk to Rutland Water. Would love to return to the cottage as we had such a great time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesley c
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“wonderful”
Reviewed 30 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We just wanted a quite few
days away from it all, we would highly recommend this cottage it was spotlessly clean so very comfortable and within 2 minutes walk of a local pub that served good food , the cottage was warm and welcoming and provided everything we needed, the courtyard outside is quite and private and perfect to sit in after a days walking,overall it was so peaceful and we had a wonderful time .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing