We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Really enjoyable stay”

Review of Postbox Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage is set in the heart of the village Courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
The cottage is set in the heart of the village
Courtyard
Sitting room
Dining area
Window at the front of the cottage
Double bedroom with ensuite
Double bedroom
Ensuite bathroom
Twin bedroom
Alcove in twin room
The separate bathroom
The Wheatsheaf-good food just five minuites walk away
The church of St Mary the Virgin, Edith Weston
Ready for fishing
The Italian restraunt-less than ten minutes walk away
Rutland Water Golf Club
© Rutland Sailing Club
© Rutland Osprey Trust -  The nature reserve regularly holds in excess of 20,000 waterfowl
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Edith Weston, Rutland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lorraine...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 2 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at postbox cottage with our two dogs from Monday to Friday. The cottage was very clean, comfortable and provided everything we needed. The courtyard was fully secure and so very safe for our dogs to go outside. It was easy to book and Elizabeth, the owner , very helpful and accommodating. Situated near to Rutland Water you could walk from the door and there were many other walks nearby. The village is lovely and peaceful adding to a relaxing stay. We would certainly recommend this cottage , being amongst the best we have stayed in. We would also visit again. Thank you Elizabeth.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate D
Powys, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect cottage in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 27 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

In the beautiful village of Edith Weston, just a short walk from the shores of Rutland water, Postbox Cottage is the perfect place to enjoy a fabulous break. We could not have been more delighted with this lovely property, it is equipped with everything you could possibly want for a home away from home break. The furniture and fittings are of lovely quality and it is decorated with some exquisite unique art and handmade craft pieces.

The bed was so comfy, again good quality linen and the whole place was sparkling spic and span throughout. We have holidayed in many cottages and I can honestly say this one is quite the nicest, giving you everything you could wish for practically but delivered with an edge of quality that is rare in any rental home.

I really hope we can come back to this area of the country as I feel we barely scratched the surface of the joys on offer, when we do we will be making a beeline to the door of Postbox Cottage once more.

Thank you Elizabeth for providing the most lovely cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn C
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and peaceful”
Reviewed 9 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
2
people found this review helpful

A beautifully peaceful place to stay within easy walking distance of the south shore of Rutland Water. Postbox Cottage was well thought out and fully equipped with loads of storage and everything we needed for our 3 day stay (including milk and chocolates on our arrival) The village pub was equally welcoming. Our little dog had a thoroughly fab first holiday!! Thoroughly recommended.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angiet66
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Relaxing New Years stay”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We stayed at Postbox cottage for 4 nights over New year. The cottage is very well equipped and beautifully decorated literally a home from home. The gas log burner is lovely and makes for a cost time.The cottage had a few Christmas decorations which were a nice touch.Handy for walks to other villages or around the water itself.In quiet position so no traffic noise.Very handy for the great village pub The Wheatsheaf serving great food & drink.Look forward to returning in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldcodger...
Trunch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely, cosy cottage in pretty village.”
Reviewed 18 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A very cosy, warm cottage. Very well equipped particularly the kitchen although with The Wheatsheaf only 100 yards away and serving good food it could be a difficult choice whether to eat in or out. A helpful folder with suggested walking routes and an OS map was a bonus. Great walking from the door. Would definitely consider a return visit and recommend to friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing