We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of The Talbot Inn

The Talbot Inn
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Eynsham
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: they also do B+B
Reviewed 10 July 2015 via mobile

Took my parents for Father's Day. Friendly greeting on arrival and our dog was greeted also.
Ordered starters, which on arrival portions were generous we began to think how will we get through the main course. Pies and gammon arrived with very generous portion of chips and salad. Very tasty and well worth the money. Best part of the meal is always the cheesecake and on this occasion it was strawberry, served with a good amount of cream.
There is a pub area where you can sit with dogs, a restaurant area, seating g out the front and a nice decking area by the river. Well worth a visit if your local or worth traveling to if your not.

Thank sweetnecter0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodiebic, Owner at The Talbot Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2015

Its always cracking to read a five star review. But this one is even sweeter for me as, your last review of The Talbot was less than favourable.
Notably, the last time you visited was 8 weeks before I took over. We knew we had our work cut out returning the Talbot to where it should be. I'm delighted that you recognise we've done that.
We're grateful you had the courage to try us again and hope to see you more regularly now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 90 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2015

We go here with my colleaguse as a work treat. The portions are massive and the staff friendly. Class pub food and good pies.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodiebic, Owner at The Talbot Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2015

Hi.
Many thanks for your review.
I'm a little concerned at just 3 stars as the text puts a way better view than just three stars.
If there was anything that could have given us 4 or 5 stars from you, please could you email me at tony@chequersoxford.co.uk.
Hope to see you at The Talbot again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2015

Great evening, all what you would expect from an English pub. Food was good, staff very friendly, prices were reasonable. All in all a good experience.

1  Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodiebic, Owner at The Talbot Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2015

Thanks for your review.
It's always nice to see appreciation of our offer here.
We will always keep The Talbot as a traditional, cosy, unfussy pub serving great value, hearty food.
See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2015

Only ten minuits from the Thames footpath, an ideal stop off. Very good rooms set away from the pub, with great showers and fee wifi. Plenty of pub food choices and good ale. Eynsham is just up the road with other choices, but the Talbot looked like the better deal.

1  Thank jo g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodiebic, Owner at The Talbot Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2015

Many thanks for your lovely review. We've an envious position close to the Thames which were very proud of.
See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2015

Room was TINY with two grotty beds, nothing like advertised! Stained damp walls. Awful décor, just awful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank review4hols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
foodiebic, Owner at The Talbot Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2015

Good Morning.
Thank you for leaving this review, all be it not the best.
We have a dilemma at The Talbot in that we have a really modern building, 5 years old with purpose built bedrooms (8) with all the creature comforts and mod cons.
We also have 3 rooms in the original building which offer no frills, functional accommodation which is ideal for contractors, students or anybody looking for a thrifty nights sleep.
We make no effort to 'oversell' these rooms and believe that they are described accurately on the internet. This is copied and pasted from our own web site.

'ECONOMY Pub Rooms
We also have 3 simple ECONOMY rooms in the original part of the Inn. We have 1 twin en suite plus a single and a twin which share a bathroom. These rooms are functional and no frills. They all have TV, tea & coffee making facilities. These rooms offer excellent value for money with single rates from £45 to £55 and twin rates from £55 to £75 per night. Please call us for a price for your stay.'

It's true that these rooms won't give you a Ritz style experience but we believe that, for the price they offer exceptional value for money given our location. In fact, they are the cheapest like fro like around.
If you decide to stay again, please email me and I will do a discounted rate for one of our Wharf Lodge rooms - they are much nicer and probably better suited to your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Talbot Inn also viewed

Eynsham, Oxfordshire
Eynsham, Oxfordshire
 
Eynsham, Oxfordshire
 
Cassington, Oxfordshire
Eynsham, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Talbot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing