We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveller rating
154
65
10
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
154
65
10
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roast dinner surrounding countryside ham egg and chips steak and ale pie lovely lunch the ground floor four poster bed very comfortable stay the pub risotto friendly hotel one night stay full english breakfast peacocks chilterns crackling starters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 238 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2018

Two of us booked a late lunch for New Year's day. Henton is a small village between Princes Risborough and Chinnor (Oxon) and the restaurant/hotel is easily accessible off the main road with plenty of parking space. The restaurant was half full when we arrived and was clean, warm and comfortable. We were glad to be able to have fish instead of the ubiquitous turkey and other poultry which seems endless over the Christmas period. The fish pie was delicious and the waitress was very pleasant and helpful. Dessert was good too. I look forward to going to this restaurant again.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank hawkins012017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Stayed here for two nights with our dog as visiting family in the area. The room turned out to be self catering so had a small kitchen/sitting room, bedroom and bathroom. It was on the ground floor with beautiful views over the fields. There was only a mirror in the bathroom and no plug near it for a hair dryer, etc., so I asked a lady on reception who quickly arranged for a full length mirror to be brought over. The bathroom could have done with a shelf on which to put toiletries and a toilet roll holder but, all in all we were really happy with our room and would definitely stay here again. The full English breakfast was of good quality. The owner and staff were all very friendly and we were made to feel really welcome, even the dog got a sausage for breakfast!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank HaworthHappywanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

We often eat at The Peacock and always get a nice welcome. They do a wonderful roast dinner which saves me cooking on a Sunday eve. We’ve never been disappointed.
Good wholesome hot food serve by friendly people!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank carolinamoon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Lovely country pub and restaurant. Varied menu with the best chips ever. Our table of 4 all opted for thr pie of the day as we had had it before. Our friend could not stop thinking about it the next day! We will go again and again and our friends have also said they will return and take others. Not the cheapest but we'll worth the price.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank deboraha767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Called in this morning whilst looking around the area for suitable accommodation for a group walking break (30+ folk).
Asked if any details were available but just given a business card and told all details on the web site. Asked how many rooms they have - abrupt answer. So Peacock at Henton - no thanks. First impressions mean so much and not impressed.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Kate_Maxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews