We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hostel we have ever stayed at”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Heddon-on-the-Wall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Houghton North Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2011

This was our first stop whilst walking the full length of Hadrians wall
Upon arrival after a long arduous first days walking, we were given a very warm and friendly greeting by the proprietor Paula who showed us around and explained the layout of the premises and its facilities. She even put the kettle on to boil whilst showing us round.
Our room was comfy and warm and equipped with all we would need .the adjacent lounge was spotlessly clean with a TV books to read and a free to use internet connected PC - this allowed us to update friends and family of our progress.
We dined that evening at a pub in the village just a 10 minute walk away from North Farm
After a perfect nights sleep breakfast was served in the dining room where a good range of cereals toast and preserves were available
Paula also provided a very nice fresh coffee and boiled fresh eggs for those that wanted them
Before we left Paula spent 20 minutes or more advising us of hints and tips when walking the wall .Her knowledge of the walk route and things to see proved incredibly valuable to us.
We left this hostel feeling more like family friends than paying guests

I WILL FULLY RECOMMEND THESE PREMISES TO MY FRIENDS

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLADDIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 120 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2011

Myself and 7 friends walked Hadrian's Wall and stayed here on our first night - Paula was an absolutely superb host, the accommodation was clean and comfortable, and the packed lunch was probably the best we had all week. Overall great value and I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank everwanderering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

This was my first night's stop walking Hadrian's Wall. Accomodation is spotlessly clean great facilities and comfy settees. Paula is a charming and knowledgeable host who drove me to one of the local pubs the Swan and collected me later that evening! A very good breakfast and packed lunch also.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nosetrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Booked in at very short notice (rang at 6 pm for that night) and arrived late but were given a nice friendly welcome, despite being 4 youngish lads. The whole hostel was spotless with a nice, well equipped kitchen/dining room and a comfortable lounge with TV, books/mags and Internet access. My rooms was simply furnished - two bunk beds, sink, chairs etc. but was perfectly adequate & comfortable, no en-suite in my room but that didn't matter as the mens toilet/shower room was fine and only a short 'hobble' down the corridor. The hostel doesn't serve evening meals but if you don't want to cook for yourself there are takeaway menu's available and Heddon is very close for a pub meal. Paula served up a good continental style breakfast with plenty of choice and couldn't do enough for people, taking time to talk and joke with people and giving all the residents useful advice about the surrounding area before they left . Overall it was a perfect end to a fantastic few days. I would recommend it in a second to anyone and I would definitely look to use it again next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrWookie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Paula's a rockstar!
The hostel and facilities are spotless -- there's even a computer available, which was a great help as we planned the end of our trip.
As we left on bikes towards Newcastle, Paula helped us out with tips and a shortcut to go down to the Path, and it was a huge help!

There's apparently a brewery across the street - Wylam Brewery - I sampled the Bohemia pilsner while at Houghton North Farm (thanks, Aussies!) and thoroughly enjoyed it.

The showers and toilets are close to the rest of the rooms, and there was a sink in our room and kitchen available for evening meals, though we ordered delivery carryout -- totally beyond sufficient for a one night stop while along Hadrian's Wall Path.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaSilvestri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Houghton North Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houghton North Farm

Address: Hexham Road, Heddon-on-the-Wall NE15 0EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Heddon-on-the-Wall
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Heddon-on-the-Wall
Hotel Class:4 star — Houghton North Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Houghton North Farm Heddon-On-The-Wall, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing