We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The best hostel we have ever stayed at” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Houghton North Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Heddon-on-the-Wall
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Houghton North Farm
Certificate of Excellence
CHESTERFIELD DERBYSHIRE
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“The best hostel we have ever stayed at”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

This was our first stop whilst walking the full length of Hadrians wall
Upon arrival after a long arduous first days walking, we were given a very warm and friendly greeting by the proprietor Paula who showed us around and explained the layout of the premises and its facilities. She even put the kettle on to boil whilst showing us round.
Our room was comfy and warm and equipped with all we would need .the adjacent lounge was spotlessly clean with a TV books to read and a free to use internet connected PC - this allowed us to update friends and family of our progress.
We dined that evening at a pub in the village just a 10 minute walk away from North Farm
After a perfect nights sleep breakfast was served in the dining room where a good range of cereals toast and preserves were available
Paula also provided a very nice fresh coffee and boiled fresh eggs for those that wanted them
Before we left Paula spent 20 minutes or more advising us of hints and tips when walking the wall .Her knowledge of the walk route and things to see proved incredibly valuable to us.
We left this hostel feeling more like family friends than paying guests

I WILL FULLY RECOMMEND THESE PREMISES TO MY FRIENDS

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LLADDIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    20
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
19
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

Myself and 7 friends walked Hadrian's Wall and stayed here on our first night - Paula was an absolutely superb host, the accommodation was clean and comfortable, and the packed lunch was probably the best we had all week. Overall great value and I can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank everwanderering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

This was my first night's stop walking Hadrian's Wall. Accomodation is spotlessly clean great facilities and comfy settees. Paula is a charming and knowledgeable host who drove me to one of the local pubs the Swan and collected me later that evening! A very good breakfast and packed lunch also.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nosetrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

Booked in at very short notice (rang at 6 pm for that night) and arrived late but were given a nice friendly welcome, despite being 4 youngish lads. The whole hostel was spotless with a nice, well equipped kitchen/dining room and a comfortable lounge with TV, books/mags and Internet access. My rooms was simply furnished - two bunk beds, sink, chairs etc. but was perfectly adequate & comfortable, no en-suite in my room but that didn't matter as the mens toilet/shower room was fine and only a short 'hobble' down the corridor. The hostel doesn't serve evening meals but if you don't want to cook for yourself there are takeaway menu's available and Heddon is very close for a pub meal. Paula served up a good continental style breakfast with plenty of choice and couldn't do enough for people, taking time to talk and joke with people and giving all the residents useful advice about the surrounding area before they left . Overall it was a perfect end to a fantastic few days. I would recommend it in a second to anyone and I would definitely look to use it again next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrWookie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

Paula's a rockstar!
The hostel and facilities are spotless -- there's even a computer available, which was a great help as we planned the end of our trip.
As we left on bikes towards Newcastle, Paula helped us out with tips and a shortcut to go down to the Path, and it was a huge help!

There's apparently a brewery across the street - Wylam Brewery - I sampled the Bohemia pilsner while at Houghton North Farm (thanks, Aussies!) and thoroughly enjoyed it.

The showers and toilets are close to the rest of the rooms, and there was a sink in our room and kitchen available for evening meals, though we ordered delivery carryout -- totally beyond sufficient for a one night stop while along Hadrian's Wall Path.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaSilvestri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heddon-on-the-Wall
22.1 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
11.6 km away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
7.0 km away
Premier Inn Newcastle Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Gilsland Spa Hotel
Gilsland Spa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gilsland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
2.9 km away
Ryton Country  House
Ryton Country House
#50 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.2 km away
Hadrians Barn
Hadrians Barn
#3 of 6 in Heddon-on-the-Wall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Houghton North Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Houghton North Farm

Property: Houghton North Farm
Address: Hexham Road (B6528), Heddon-on-the-Wall NE15 0EZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Heddon-on-the-Wall
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Heddon-on-the-Wall
Hotel Class:4 star — Houghton North Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Houghton North Farm Heddon-On-The-Wall, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing